Steal a Pencil for Me Reviews

Top Critic
Elizabeth Weitzman
New York Daily News
November 9, 2007
Not even Hollywood could invent a romance more extraordinary than this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Kevin Crust
Los Angeles Times
November 9, 2007
Irrepressibly moving without being sentimental, Steal a Pencil for Me is a testimony to true love.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Top Critic
Matt Zoller Seitz
New York Times
November 9, 2007
What makes Ms. Ohayon's movie special is its recognition that epic horrors don't erase private dramas.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
November 8, 2007
Some may think the Holocaust has nothing new to offer up, but Michele Ohayon says otherwise.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic

AV Club
November 8, 2007
There's incredible feeling behind Steal A Pencil For Me -- enough to sustain two lives throughout unimaginable hardship -- but the film doesn't bring much of it to the surface.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
November 8, 2007
Michèle Ohayon's Steal a Pencil for Me offers a simple human story of dignity, levity and romance -- both unlikely qualities in the chaos and terror of Nazi-era Europe -- and exerts its own special charm.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
November 7, 2007
Filmmaker Michèle Ohayon shapes her portrait of two vibrant old people with a fine hand (especially when it comes to interspersing historical footage), creating a valuable addition to the Cinema of Never Forget.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Joe Leydon
Variety
October 31, 2007
Describing what Steal a Pencil for Me is about might actually do a disservice to this affectionately observed documentary.
Top Critic
Leba Hertz
San Francisco Chronicle
October 12, 2007
So many documentaries about the Holocaust have been shown before. One would think we've seen enough. Steal a Pencil for Me proves we can never learn too much.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4