Storie di Ordinaria Follia (Tales of Ordinary Madness) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Storie di Ordinaria Follia (Tales of Ordinary Madness) Reviews

Page 2 of 2
September 2, 2015
A veritable cinema of 70's with all the elements: harshness, exploitation, invectives etc.
April 12, 2015
This has got to be one of the most under-rated character studies of all time. Ben Gazzara is terrific as an alcoholic poet drinkinghimself into one stupor after another, and falling in love along the way. Based on material written by Charles Bukowski, this is an all-but-forgotten gem.
July 16, 2012
I read the book, and this just seemed like artsy soft porn in comparison. Weird acting, and unmotivated plotlines created by cramming a 300 plus page book into an hour and a half. It had moments...but I was really looking for something else here....Gotta go watch Barfly again, I think!
½ May 13, 2012
Unusual movie. Ok, but not great.
½ July 18, 2008
Denise Gentile tries her best to save the picture but can't. The writing is too loose and the other acting is credible only in fits and spurts.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
April 30, 2011
Returning to Los Angeles by bus after his wallet was stolen after having passed out following a performance, poet Charles Serking(Ben Gazzara) finds his ex-wife and landlord Vicky(Tanya Lopert) wanting the last two months' rent. That does not stop him from chasing after Vera(Susan Tyrrell) which later causes him to spend a night in jail, although not for the reason you are thinking. And then there is Cass(Ornella Muti) who he meets in a bar where she does something very painful looking with an oversized safety pin.

Mind the generalizing, but it seems like whenever a European film director comes to the United States for the first time, he skips Disneyland and heads straight for skid row.(See, people take the bus in Los Angeles. And hey! Is that a Fotomat?) I'm not complaining, mind you, as I actually think it's cool since apparently we are too obsessed in this country with upward mobility to care much about those who have fallen through the cracks. This might also explain why only European directors have adapted the works of Charles Bukowski. This one is from "Erections, Ejaculations, Exhibitions, and Other Tales of Ordinary Madness." And Marco Ferreri has nailed it with the help of a searing performance from Ben Gazzara, informing the life of an addict with levels of profound masochism. Only such pain could create Serking's powerful art but long can it truly last?
½ January 3, 2011
Unusual movie. Ok, but not great.
366weirdmovies
Super Reviewer
May 20, 2010
Lecherous, alcoholic street poet "Charles Serking" (pseudonym for Charles Bukowski) falls in love with a suicidal prostitute. Partly successful, with some of the strangest sex scenes you'll ever see. Boozy as hell; plays out like a string of half-remembered and misremembered incidents from a yearlong drinking binge. For some reason this movie is listed on Flixter twice.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
January 12, 2009
Ah,bliss,carefree honey-pie...no country for drunken horses,or an effective title for the parody of affairs by a master of literature.Ferreri justifies Bukowski in the role of Gazzara,and although not his premier erotic film,Marco assures us we are not in desperation,so viva la vita,eh?
Page 2 of 2