Opening

62% Hercules Jul 25
57% Lucy Jul 25
15% And So It Goes Jul 25
90% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25
56% The Fluffy Movie Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
18% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
49% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

100% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
50% Child Of God Aug 01

Premieres Tonight

87% Manhattan: Season 1
—— Agatha Christie's Poirot : Season 12

New Episodes Tonight

100% Falling Skies: Season 4
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
64% The Last Ship: Season 1
100% Last Tango in Halifax: Season 2
69% The Leftovers: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
50% The Musketeers: Season 1
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
50% True Blood: Season 7
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
80% Vicious: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

90% Almost Royal: Season 1
58% Bad Teacher: Season 1
44% Power: Season 1

Stories We Tell Reviews

Page 2 of 7
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope

The circle of family and friends in this movie, and their secrets, is the story. It is about them, not us. Not quite universal in its appeal.

Full Review Source: Laramie Movie Scope | Original Score: C+

December 8, 2013
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy

It took a lot of bravery and candor to put this story out there in any form, and for that, [Sarah] Polley deserves all our thanks and respect.

Full Review Source: Antagony & Ecstasy | Original Score: 7/10

December 5, 2013
Travis Hopson
Examiner.com

To her credit, Polley never attempts to deflect the painful truths that she unearths, leaving them raw and open for us to experience right along with her.

Full Review Source: Examiner.com | Original Score: 4/5

October 5, 2013

This is a hard-to-classify and very personal doco, a study of the stories families tell each other and the stories we tell ourselves, regardless of whether either are in any way 'true'.

Full Review Source: Rip It Up | Original Score: 3.5/5

October 3, 2013

Canadian actress/director Sarah Polley (Away from Her; Take This Waltz) presents an absorbing family history that is so ingeniously mounted it doubles as a wry commentary on the documentary form, examining our willingness to believe what we see.

Full Review Source: 3AW | Original Score: 3.5/5

September 29, 2013
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane

Just when you think you know where it's heading and what it's emphasising... the film unexpectedly changes direction. It's so beautifully done.

Full Review Source: ABC Radio Brisbane | Original Score: A-

September 26, 2013
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy

An extraordinary work that is both an intellectual examination into the nature of how cinema represents reality as well as a deeply moving personal project.

Full Review Source: Cinema Autopsy | Original Score: 4/5

September 25, 2013
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile

There are many moments when I was moved to tears - when raw truths involving emotions, are delivered by family members in spontaneous, unrehearsed fashion. Polley has crafted a rare jewel of a film that reveals much about her own family

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

September 24, 2013
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film

What is not in doubt is the raw emotion in this work - from Polley quivering with nervous energy as she watches her father read some of the more revelatory pieces of script - to the impact airing the family's dirty linen in public has on her siblings.

Full Review Source: Eye for Film | Original Score: 4/5

September 9, 2013
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews

Fascinating personal documentary.

Full Review Source: Ozus' World Movie Reviews | Original Score: B+

July 23, 2013
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail

Slowly but surely Polley pieces together her own family's history to create a kind of cinematic narrative - complete with a twist straight from a soap opera.

Full Review Source: Birmingham Mail | Original Score: 3/5

July 22, 2013
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune

An unconventional but wonderfully assembled exploration of how -- and why -- we tell stories, all wrapped in a closely guarded family secret.

Full Review Source: Times-Picayune | Original Score: 4/5

July 19, 2013
Eric D. Snider
About.com

Polley is savvy, using her talent as a director -- as a storyteller -- to give it universal appeal even though it's a very specific account.

Full Review Source: About.com | Original Score: 4.5/5

July 12, 2013
Charlie Lyne
Ultra Culture

Perhaps the most organic, transformative meeting of form and function I've seen this year.

Full Review Source: Ultra Culture

July 8, 2013
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show

Stories We Tell is cinema cutting to the profound truth of why we use narrative to make sense of the world.

Full Review Source: 2UE That Movie Show | Original Score: 5/5

July 7, 2013
Stephen Carty
Flix Capacitor

For the most part, Polley's thoughts and feelings are pretty much absent, but the film makes some nice observations about memory and how it affects - yup - the stories we tell.

Full Review Source: Flix Capacitor | Original Score: 3/5

July 3, 2013
Will Leitch
Deadspin

The movie isn't really about the Polley family: It's about memory, and loss, and forgiveness, and, through it all, hope. It'll knock you over.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: A

July 3, 2013

What emerges is a fascinating and illuminating story, one that runs the gamut from intense joy to deep sadness and features a couple of surprising twists that take proceedings off in strange and unusual directions.

Full Review Source: Scotsman | Original Score: 4/5

July 1, 2013
John Hanlon
John Hanlon Reviews

An honest and authentic documentary that powerfully explores the filmmaker's own family.

Full Review Source: John Hanlon Reviews | Original Score: 4.0/5

June 30, 2013
Mark Kermode
Observer [UK]

Polley's portrait of modern family life is a playfully profound discussion of narrative forms - the way in which we each construct our own reality through stories, part truth, part invention.

Full Review Source: Observer [UK]

June 30, 2013
Page 2 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile