Opening

66% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
87% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
44% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
87% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— Left Behind Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
65% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
53% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
53% Forever: Season 1
93% Gotham: Season 1
36% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Stories We Tell Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Robbie Collin
Daily Telegraph

Polley ... smilingly tells us that a story like hers can never truly be tied down, even as she screws every last piece into place.

Full Review Source: Daily Telegraph | Original Score: 2/5

June 27, 2013
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Polley is a good filmmaker but in the end, "Stories We Tell" feels less like a film than a family album - and one best appreciated, not by us, but by the Polleys still to come.

Full Review Source: Newark Star-Ledger | Original Score: 2.5/4

May 10, 2013
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

he opposite of a courageous piece of work, Stories We Tell goes out of its way to protect every single person it touches.

Full Review Source: San Francisco Chronicle | Original Score: 1/4

December 31, 2013
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Sarah might have wrapped up this documentary after her parentage is revealed about 70 minutes in, yet it continues for another 50 as she ruminates over the tale,... her engrossing personal story gradually devolving into an exercise in self-regard.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

May 24, 2013
Ryan Gilbey
New Statesman

Polley is working in the tradition of Orson Welles, but her trickery can be exasperating; it also neutralises many of the emotional revelations.

Full Review Source: New Statesman

June 28, 2013
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The film is oscillating from intriguing to dull, revealing to repetitious, frank to disingenuous, and moving to manipulative.

Full Review Source: Globe and Mail | Original Score: 2.5/4

October 12, 2012
Corey Atad
Movie Mezzanine

What Polley unearths is a well of emotion and one of the most powerful new films I've seen in recent memory.

Full Review Source: Movie Mezzanine | Original Score: A+

March 2, 2014
Travis Hopson
Examiner.com

To her credit, Polley never attempts to deflect the painful truths that she unearths, leaving them raw and open for us to experience right along with her.

Full Review Source: Examiner.com | Original Score: 4/5

October 5, 2013
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger

Polley mines her own life to strip naked the essence of storytelling, and what it is about folklore that makes it so essential in shaping our perceptions about who we are and where we come from.

Full Review Source: The Patriot Ledger | Original Score: A

May 17, 2013
Will Leitch
Deadspin

The movie isn't really about the Polley family: It's about memory, and loss, and forgiveness, and, through it all, hope. It'll knock you over.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: A

July 3, 2013
Sheila O'Malley
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Stories told again and again have a way of neatening things up. Stories have a way of ironing out the wrinkles. Polley lets the wrinkles remain.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 4/4

May 23, 2013
Ben Kenber
We Got This Covered

Stories We Tell starts out as a simple investigation into the life of a mother that director Sarah Polley barely knew and slowly turns into a documentary that is as good as any movie you will see this year.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 9/10

May 16, 2013
Nick McCarthy
Slant Magazine

Sarah Polley is much more interested in the malleability of memory and the consequential refractions felt throughout her kin rather than telling a linear narrative.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 3.5/4

March 18, 2013
Stephen Carty
Flix Capacitor

For the most part, Polley's thoughts and feelings are pretty much absent, but the film makes some nice observations about memory and how it affects - yup - the stories we tell.

Full Review Source: Flix Capacitor | Original Score: 3/5

July 3, 2013
John Hanlon
John Hanlon Reviews

An honest and authentic documentary that powerfully explores the filmmaker's own family.

Full Review Source: John Hanlon Reviews | Original Score: 4.0/5

June 30, 2013
Jamie Neish
HeyUGuys

The films greatest achievement is in how deeply mesmerising one woman's story can be, regardless of whether she's famous or not.

Full Review Source: HeyUGuys | Original Score: 4/5

June 24, 2013
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show

Stories We Tell is cinema cutting to the profound truth of why we use narrative to make sense of the world.

Full Review Source: 2UE That Movie Show | Original Score: 5/5

July 7, 2013
Donald Clarke
Irish Times

A decent piece of work, but too fussy for its own good.

Full Review Source: Irish Times | Original Score: 3/5

June 30, 2013
Hannah McGill
The List

This is a warm, brave and thought-provoking piece of autobiography.

Full Review Source: The List | Original Score: 4/5

June 6, 2013
Amanda Mae Meyncke
Film.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

[Stories We Tell] leaves you wondering about the nature of truth and wanting to know more about the hidden lives of those around us.

Full Review Source: Film.com | Original Score: B

January 20, 2013
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile