Stories We Tell - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stories We Tell Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Robbie Collin
Daily Telegraph
June 27, 2013
Polley ... smilingly tells us that a story like hers can never truly be tied down, even as she screws every last piece into place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
May 10, 2013
Polley is a good filmmaker but in the end, "Stories We Tell" feels less like a film than a family album - and one best appreciated, not by us, but by the Polleys still to come.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
December 31, 2013
he opposite of a courageous piece of work, Stories We Tell goes out of its way to protect every single person it touches.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
April 28, 2015
What began as a searching personal journey ends as narcissistic family therapy masturbation.
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
May 24, 2013
Sarah might have wrapped up this documentary after her parentage is revealed about 70 minutes in, yet it continues for another 50 as she ruminates over the tale,... her engrossing personal story gradually devolving into an exercise in self-regard.
Ryan Gilbey
New Statesman
June 28, 2013
Polley is working in the tradition of Orson Welles, but her trickery can be exasperating; it also neutralises many of the emotional revelations.
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
October 12, 2012
The film is oscillating from intriguing to dull, revealing to repetitious, frank to disingenuous, and moving to manipulative.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Corey Atad
Movie Mezzanine
March 2, 2014
What Polley unearths is a well of emotion and one of the most powerful new films I've seen in recent memory.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Travis Hopson
Examiner.com
October 5, 2013
To her credit, Polley never attempts to deflect the painful truths that she unearths, leaving them raw and open for us to experience right along with her.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
May 17, 2013
Polley mines her own life to strip naked the essence of storytelling, and what it is about folklore that makes it so essential in shaping our perceptions about who we are and where we come from.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Will Leitch
Deadspin
July 3, 2013
The movie isn't really about the Polley family: It's about memory, and loss, and forgiveness, and, through it all, hope. It'll knock you over.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Sheila O'Malley
Chicago Sun-Times
May 23, 2013
Stories told again and again have a way of neatening things up. Stories have a way of ironing out the wrinkles. Polley lets the wrinkles remain.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Ben Kenber
We Got This Covered
May 16, 2013
Stories We Tell starts out as a simple investigation into the life of a mother that director Sarah Polley barely knew and slowly turns into a documentary that is as good as any movie you will see this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Nick McCarthy
Slant Magazine
March 18, 2013
Sarah Polley is much more interested in the malleability of memory and the consequential refractions felt throughout her kin rather than telling a linear narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
John Hanlon
John Hanlon Reviews
June 30, 2013
An honest and authentic documentary that powerfully explores the filmmaker's own family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.0/5
Jamie Neish
HeyUGuys
June 24, 2013
The films greatest achievement is in how deeply mesmerising one woman's story can be, regardless of whether she's famous or not.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
July 7, 2013
Stories We Tell is cinema cutting to the profound truth of why we use narrative to make sense of the world.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Donald Clarke
Irish Times
June 30, 2013
A decent piece of work, but too fussy for its own good.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Hannah McGill
The List
June 6, 2013
This is a warm, brave and thought-provoking piece of autobiography.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
January 20, 2013
[Stories We Tell] leaves you wondering about the nature of truth and wanting to know more about the hidden lives of those around us.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 7