Stuart Saves His Family - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stuart Saves His Family Reviews

Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
September 7, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Joe Leydon
Variety
May 14, 2008
It isn't good enough, it isn't smart enough, and, doggone it, most people won't like Stuart Saves His Family.
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
May 14, 2008
Even if you find Franken hard to bear, as I do, the movie's take on how he functions in the world is both authoritative and compelling, and the movie steadily grows in stature.
Top Critic

Time Out
June 24, 2006
Those familiar with Alcoholics Anonymous' 12-step recovery programme may bond in sympathy. The sentimentality, however, doesn't play.
Top Critic
Janet Maslin
New York Times
May 20, 2003
The plotting is surprisingly banal, involving even talk of a property easement and turning Stuart into the executor of a relative's estate. And the relatives' problems are taken semi-seriously, which is more than this lightweight film can handle.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Los Angeles Times
February 13, 2001
It was much funnier when we didn't see Stuart's family. And, if we have to see them, it would have been much funnier if they were strait-laced '50s sitcom types.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
January 1, 2000
All in all, it's a misfire -- but a misfire that's more interesting than a lot of successes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
I not only enjoyed Stuart Smalley, doggone it, I liked him, and that attitude of gratitude ain't just a platitude.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Subtly riotous.
Top Critic

USA Today
January 1, 2000
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Hal Hinson
Washington Post
January 1, 2000
Stuart is a disarming figure -- likable in small doses, but fragile and not particularly adaptable.
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 1, 2000
Stretched out to an agonizing ninety-seven minutes, Stuart goes from being passably amusing to tedious to virtually unwatchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4