Opening

45% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
50% The Quiet Ones Apr 25
91% Locke Apr 25
81% The Machine Apr 25

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $26.6M
47% Rio 2 $22.5M
51% Heaven Is for Real $21.5M
20% Transcendence $11.2M
7% A Haunted House 2 $9.1M
62% Draft Day $5.9M
41% Divergent $5.8M
71% Oculus $5.2M
77% Noah $5.0M
13% God's Not Dead $4.8M

Coming Soon

71% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
—— Walk Of Shame May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16
—— X-Men: Days of Future Past May 23

Premieres Tonight

—— The Boondocks: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— 2 Broke Girls: Season 3
100% Archer: Season 5
86% Bates Motel: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
83% Bones: Season 9
83% Castle: Season 6
47% The Following: Season 2
10% Friends With Better Lives: Season 1
—— Metal Hurlant Chronicles: Season 1
—— Mike & Molly: Season 4
59% Star-Crossed: Season 1
45% The Tomorrow People: Season 1
—— Warehouse 13: Season 5

Discuss Last Night's Shows

38% Believe: Season 1
71% The Bletchley Circle: Season 2
—— Californication: Season 7
83% Call the Midwife: Season 3
61% Crisis: Season 1
—— Devious Maids: Season 2
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% The Good Wife: Season 5
86% Mad Men: Season 7
—— The Mentalist: Season 6
—— Mr. Selfridge: Season 2
—— Nurse Jackie: Season 6
71% Once Upon a Time: Season 3
50% Salem: Season 1
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1
48% Turn: Season 1
100% Veep: Season 3

The Sum of All Fears Reviews

Page 1 of 100
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

June 26, 2011
27,000 Nuclear Weapons. One Is Missing.

Saw it again! Good Film! Sum of All Fears is an enjoyable thriller and the type of movie the Hollywood studios have always been good at making. It's slick, expensive-looking, well-acted and two hours of far-fetched fun. Ben Affleck plays CIA Agent and superman Jack Ryan PhD. Ryan is a former marine, linguist and all-round polymath who saves the world from impending disaster. Affleck is youthful and convincing as Ryan and makes him seem fallible and likable. Ryan becomes a confidant of the wise and sensible CIA Director Bill Cabot (Morgan Freeman) and acquires a beautiful and successful girlfriend (Bridget Moynahan) who believes he's a historian.

The plot is complicated and involves a new Russian leader (Ciaran Hands) who spouts anti-U.S. rhetoric. A Russian chemical attack on Chechnya increases the tension between the two countries. An Israeli atomic bomb is found in the Egyption desert,a relic of the 1973 Arab-Israeli conflict. Neo-Nazi terrorists (led by Alan Bates) want to provoke a nuclear conflict between America and Russia. They acquire the bomb from a South African arms dealer and explode it in Baltimore. The U.S. blames the Russians and the two countries are about to commence all-out nuclear war until Ryan works out what is happening and it all ends happily. The message is that the new Russian leaders are reasonable men signifying that the world has moved on from the Commie bashing flicks of the 1980s.

The idea of a terrorist nuclear attack is topical, but unfortunately the Neo-Nazi villains seem very 1970s. The film has good character actors in supporting roles (e.g., Liev Schrieber, James Cromwell). I much prefer Afflek's Ryan to that of the 52 year-old Harrison Ford who by 1994's Clear and Present Danger seemed too old and surly for the role. Go see it!

When the president of Russia suddenly dies, a man whose politics are virtually unknown succeeds him. The change in political leaders sparks paranoia among American CIA officials, so CIA director Bill Cabot recruits a young analyst to supply insight and advice on the situation. Then the unthinkable happens: a nuclear bomb explodes in a U.S. city, and America is quick to blame the Russians.
Apeneck F

Super Reviewer

March 2, 2012
A conspiracy to ignite total war between Russia and America is met by a new screen Jack Ryan played by Ben Affleck in an attempt to invest new life into the popular series. The effect is not bad, not bad at all. The idea underlying the whole film is the real draw though, shot before 9/11, about how do we, the world, respond to the aggressive acts of a radical minority. Worth a look.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

January 12, 2010
Just nothing special compared to the very entertaining Patriot Games and Clear and Present Danger. This felt more like a Michael Bay interpretation of a political thriller, there's lots of explosions and lots of yelling. It was a pitiful way to reboot the franchise.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 24, 2009
The Sum of All Fears is actually pretty good, it?s probably my favourite of the Jack Ryan films.
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

July 31, 2009
ben affleck has proved once and for all that he should stick to the two things he IS good at, directing and writing. whilst morgan freeman and that guy from alias manage to help the film along, it nowhere near measures up to the hunt for red october or patriot games. the scene in which the bomb blows up, leaving the film eerily silent, however, is nothing short of brilliance
skactopus
skactopus

Super Reviewer

May 11, 2009
Phil Alden Robinson, who only has a few movies on his directing resume at this time, creates a decent adaptation of the Tom Clancy novel, The Sum of All Fears.At just about 2 hours, the story takes a while to get good, unfortunately. The first hour is slow and uneventful as the film is setting up for the conclusion. This is part drama and part thriller and the first half is definitely more drama than thriller. One of the problems is that the motive for what is happening, lacks the proper explanation. However, the second half pretty much redeems the film as things get more interesting while the suspense factor moves up.There isn't a lot of action, with the exception of the nuclear explosion. It is quite spectacular and seemingly realistic. Still, this is not an action adventure, as the plot may make it sound.Ben Affleck is somewhat of a disappointment. He just doesn't seem like the guy to lead this picture. Morgan Freeman and James Cromwell, on the other hand, fit in nicely with good performances. Liev Schreiber has one of the more interesting characters and Bridget Moynahan, who is gorgeous, has a character that goes nowhere.Fans of Tom Clancy novels and military thrillers will find this movie intriguing, but this isn't a movie to rush home for.
Aaron N

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2006
[en route to Russia]
Cabot: Jack... Jack, what are you doing?
Jack: Oh... I had a date tonight, so I had to call and cancel...
Cabot: Well, don't be stupid! Tell her where you're going. In fact, tell her who you work for. She'll be impressed.
Jack: [to Cathy, over the phone] OK. I work for the CIA, and the Director asked me at the last minute to come with him to Russia with him to do a nuclear arms inspection. Hello?
Cathy: That is so lame.
Jack: No, I swear, it's because of the START treaty, we get to inspect to make sure they're really decommissioning their nuclear arsenal...
[Cathy hangs up]
Jack: Hello... hello?
[Cabot starts laughing]
Jack: Thanks. Thanks a lot.

A good enough Tom Clancy/Jack Ryan movie. It works well enough to unfold an elaborate Clancy-style plot while being entertaining enough. The third act gets pretty ridiculous, but some of the characters, namely Liev Schreiber as John Clark make this movie worthwhile.

Jack Ryan: I don't go on the, you know, missions, I just write reports for the CIA.
John Clark: Then write a report about it.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

March 1, 2007
This thriller film based on Tom Clancy's novel of the CIA analyst Jack Ryan played by Ben Affleck is good, fast-paced and efficient, with a good cast to lend credibility.
Dan S

Super Reviewer

September 16, 2007
The last good Ben Affleck movie there ever was.
Dean !

Super Reviewer

June 19, 2007
A pretty good action/thriller as the USA and Russian are led to believe they are at a nuclear standoff. A strong cast but a bit more action would have helped.
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

January 9, 2007
what was this movie about again?
Jason S

Super Reviewer

December 28, 2006
I liked this little go at a Jack Ryan flick. Ben Affleckis the man after all.
Al S

Super Reviewer

August 27, 2006
An explosive adventure thriller. Smart, brilliant, exciting and totally edge of your seat. Ben Affleck is sensational. Morgan Freeman is teriffic. A heat seeking missel of suspense.
Sarah G

Super Reviewer

September 20, 2006
This is probably one of the worst films i've ever seen.
Luke B

Super Reviewer

May 28, 2006
Just an average action film with little action. The cliches and dull moments don't help. Rather than being bad it's just nothing important.
Dann M

Super Reviewer

February 22, 2013
The Jack Ryan series gets rebooted in the action packed thriller The Sum of All Fears as Ben Affleck steps into the role. In this story a young CIA analyst named Jack Ryan must discover the origin of a rogue nuclear attack before the United States and Russia go to war. Unfortunately the story is weakened by post 9/11 politics, but the spirit of Tom Clancy's novel remains intact. The casting is impressive, and includes Ben Affleck, Morgan Freeman, Bridget Moynahan, Liev Schreiber and James Cromwell. The directing is also pretty good, and is able to enhance the intensity and suspense of the film. Additionally, Jerry Goldsmith's score is exceptional and does a good job at creating a tense atmosphere. The Sum of All Fears has some poor writing, but it delivers the thrills and adventure that has come to be expected from this series.
John B

Super Reviewer

December 5, 2013
Even Morgan Freeman kind of sucked at the end. One could imagine that Harrison Ford would do a much better job at getting people to listen to him - unfortunately Ben Affleck makes Ryan out to be a wimpier professor. The plot, while feasible, lacks feasibility in the sequence of events.
Alec B

Super Reviewer

January 27, 2013
Its interesting if only because its one of the last pre-9/11(in its narrative and villains) political/spy thrillers to be made. That said, Affleck is boring and so is much of the second half.
Chris B

Super Reviewer

September 14, 2011
A story involving the all to real threat of politics, war and ultimately nuclear extinction all due to man's ignorance and hunger for power. While this was a big action film for it's day and filled with big stars, it also tells a story we have all come to fear in more recent days. The film is well done and walks a fine line in terms of scope and message but ultimately works in most senses. Hopefully our future holds a mostly happy ending filled with hope like this film does.
Page 1 of 100
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile