• PG-13, 2 hr. 21 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    John Sayles
    In Theaters:
    Jun 21, 2002 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 19, 2002
  • Sony Pictures Classics

Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
43% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
53% Z Nation: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Sunshine State Reviews

Page 2 of 4
John B

Super Reviewer

October 30, 2012
John Sayles' component film is a disappointment only because we expect so much more from him. A good film on the pressures of community and the price that individuals are willing to pay to "sell out". Nonethless, we expect more.
December 24, 2011
Multiple inter-related story lines, about values and the cost of progress
August 31, 2011
It was a bit long, bit I thought it was mostly engaging. It had interesting messages about gentrification, race, and the thing everyday things that people go through in life. The dialogue is a little bit theatrical and quirky which I would expect from John sayles. Edie Falco is the stand out performer (when is she not?) and Angela Bassett and Jane Alexander have nice turns here as well. It feels timely in terms of it's themes of buying out small towns so people can develop properties, but now nearly ten years later many people can't pay their mortgages on those new and exciting properties.
McFly88
April 22, 2010
Great Story, Great Acting, Too Long. Classic
Brody M

Super Reviewer

September 3, 2010
The description was interesting but the actual movie was boring! After wanting to turn it off a couple times, I finally did
January 11, 2009
i was expecting more but... at the end is ok. not enough but ok.
RocketToTheMoon
November 26, 2008
Not as exciting as I thought it would be.
Red L

Super Reviewer

September 19, 2008
A long movie - about two families in a Florida neighbourhood. The story includes a little of everything - family, greed, bias, expectations, suicide, fidelity, unplanned pregnancy, etc. etc. I enjoyed it - almost have to watch it again to recall all the stories.
Anthony V

Super Reviewer

June 27, 2008
Not the best John Sayles outing, but does have its moments.
DistractinglyBombastic
March 21, 2007
The Sunshine State is an OK film, but a let down when the cast is considered. I wanted to see it because of Edie Falco especially, but it was a waste of her talent.

There was a point to it, but the whole film was belabored, it was drawn out, it's not something I'd run out and rent if I were you.
Virus
December 17, 2007
Well acted and written. It's Sayle's best work, but it's passable.
Tim S

Super Reviewer

August 1, 2007
Edie Falco leads an impressive cast and John Sayles always gives you something to think about after the movie is over.
July 31, 2007
Not one of John Sayles' best.
maxjohannsen
May 22, 2007
typical sayles -- very good, funny, deals with difficult themes in complex and provocative ways -- race, class, center vs periphery -- those sorts of things. very american, but not the worse for it. not quite as good as lonestar, which is nearly perfect, but a great film nonetheless, and deals with hypocrisy, deception and corporate greed, how they intersect and affect the lives of so many in such a way that audiences should see it for its educational value alone
skbreese
March 11, 2007
Multiple inter-related story lines, about values and the cost of progress
January 10, 2007
What a waste of a great cast and what should have been a good tale to tell. Has to be one of the most poorly written scripts ever. Just terrible - story line all over the place - was painful to the very end...I wouldn't recommend this film to anyone. PU
SaxophoneScone
December 23, 2006
alright but had trouble keeping awake, why does john sayles make sleepy time movies.
SarahJoyFrost
December 11, 2006
i would like to see this
November 10, 2006
This is a good movie
Page 2 of 4
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile