Opening

43% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
38% If I Stay Aug 22
33% When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
4% Are You Here Aug 22
98% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

21% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
14% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
35% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
20% Into The Storm $7.9M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
41% Step Up: All In $2.7M
62% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Man of Steel Reviews

Page 1 of 1297
ajaymuthecooldevils
ajaymuthecooldevils

Super Reviewer

February 11, 2008
Compared to what 'Superman Returns' offered in 2006, 'Man of Steel' come back with a stronger power to drawn the audiences attention by having a well-named director and incredible cast with a more interesting story too.. Henry Cavill gave a strong performance as Clark Kent with another lovely performance from Amy Adams as Lois Lane, but the star of this movie is no other than Michael Shannon who successfully as before portraying a ruthless villain in the name of General Zod.. Overall, since I haven't watched the original Superman in 1980's, this version is way better than 'Superman Returns' but just good not that great nor amazing..
The Gandiman
The Gandiman

Super Reviewer

December 28, 2013
It's hard to not pass judgment on a film without comparing it to its predecessors if the source material is well known. Unfairly or not, a critique of "Man of Steel" has to be helped or sullied by the muscle memory invoked by versions past. And with some past versions of "Superman" being quite good, it puts "Steel" in the precarious position of having some pretty big shoes to fill.

The film just struggles. You can feel the film struggling. Even with the things it does right, "Steel" labors to be interesting and in many ways creates a mess for itself.

Let's start with what it has rewritten. It has given Lois Lane (the miscast Amy Adams) and Jor-El (Russell Crowe) "more" to do and with that it effectively gives Superman/Clark (a stiff but physically perfect Henry Cavill) a lot less to do making him not as compelling in the story as he should be. And despite Lois' increased role, she's pretty inconsequential.

And those are just the few character shortcomings in the film. There are many others you can quibble with but the films biggest problem? It's boring. As nonsensical as it seems that a film with such extraordinary subject matter is so boring, it inexplicably is. Even the scenes with awesome effects like the great fight sequence between Superman and his two Kryptonian opponents is hampered by the corniest exposition dialogue. But the action sequences save the film from being a disaster.

Too bad Zach Snyder directed this film as his penchant for flashy visual effects without any substance hurts the film. He seems to not understand how to effectively use his camera to best showcase humanity. What he fails to understand with this and his other films is that it is not just an actors job to invoke substance, he needs to pace films to let humanity show appropriately. He needs to stage scenes to showcase these moments. He's too consumed by dazzling the eye and ear that he forgets about dazzling the brain.
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

December 25, 2013
This was mostly flashy action and fighting scenes showcase rather than a movie itself. Where the heck did the plot, the character development, and all the dialogue go? All I remember was the streets cracking and buildings falling apart every time someone fought... because that was what happened for about 80% of the movie: fighting scenes. If you didn't actually know the story behind Superman, I don't think this would be a great introduction to it.
Dan S

Super Reviewer

December 14, 2013
A derivative, disappointing restart to the "Superman" franchise about the life of Clark Kent (Henry Cavill), an adopted alien from another planet, and how he works numerous odd jobs before accepting his role as the savior of mankind when Earth is threatened by his own species when they desire to repopulate the planet with their own kind, led by the vicious General Zod (Michael Shannon). Director Zack Snyder is far from the most skilled in the business, given his obsession with slow-motion action sequences, as well as his pacing being all over the place and never consistent. The last hour of this movie is so violent, so full of jumpy action sequences with no room to breathe, capped off coldly by 9/11 imagery at one point, the viewer should be relieved when the movie finally reaches its end. Ultimately, the special effects are awesome, no question, and there are glimpses of promise, but they are often vanquished by lackluster production and a story full of characters we do not really get to know as well as we should. Ultimately disappointing. Maybe not terrible, but it sure comes close to reaching that status.
Christian C

Super Reviewer

December 12, 2013
Visually impressive -- but otherwise, a dud. There's very little to root for. I guess it's still better than Superman II or III ... but that's just a guess.
Lafe F

Super Reviewer

August 9, 2009
Why make us sit throught the whole well-known original story all over again? Why not have a brief origin montage during the opening credits or flashback instead and get right into the Superman in Metropolis excitement? Dark and cold-looking with a blue tint. There's no warmth in this movie. I timed the final battle and it lasted about 35 minutes, with a small break when they went from Smallville to Metropolis. The battle was a big blur of Superman and General Zod throwing each other through buildings. I sorely missed the John Williams Superman theme music; they should've at least put it at the end credits.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

November 13, 2013
A forgettable revival of the iconic Superman character. Offers so much however delivers so little.
Edward B

Super Reviewer

June 13, 2013
In the wake of four heavily dated movies and that travesty known as Superman Returns, this hero is in certain need of an upgrade. In response, Warner Bros has opted to give Superman the "Dark Knight" treatment, bringing in Christopher Nolan, David S Goyer, and Hans Zimmer as producer, writer, and composer respectively. Zack Snyder of 300 and Watchmen fame helms from the director's chair. With huge names behind and in front of the camera (the cast is packed with A-list actors), does Man of Steel live up to the hype? Not in my opinion, but others will certainly disagree. There are reasons to like this film, and reasons to hate it. The action and visual effects are amazing. The story, however, is virtually non-existent. Flashbacks into Clark Kent's childhood are executed in broad strokes where his Earth father provides textbook words of wisdom that never really resonate with the character later on. There's maybe about half an hour of plot development and two hours of random shit blowing up. Though I'm not gonna lie, these explosions looked freaking cool. Whether this is the Superman movie you've been waiting for or just another run of the mill popcorn flick is something you'll have to decide for yourself. The acting is top notch and the visuals are mighty impressive. If that's enough for you, then you'll have fun. If you're looking for a more character focused origin story, you may be disappointed.
Stuart B

Super Reviewer

October 17, 2013
Excellent!
Christopher H

Super Reviewer

July 24, 2011
It may be rough around the edges, but the latest to star the Man of Tomorrow provides a successful and refreshing reboot to a franchise that was in desperate need of it. The script by David S. Goyer and Christopehr Nolan manages to take an all-too familiar story (the script is a combination of the first two Donner Superman movies) and tell it with emotional depth, subtle humor, and with enough variables changed around that prevents it from feeling like a banal retread. Stylistically, aesthetically, tonally, and story wise; this is a completely different animal from all the other Superman flicks that came before.

Zack Snyder's contributions as director should not be under-stated. Love him or hate him, the '300' director has plenty of varying genre film experience (Watchmen, Dawn of the Dead, Legend of the Guardians) and really knows how to make action look gorgeous. 'Man of Steel' is by far Snyder's most beautiful-looking film to date; shining with a Terence Malick-type of art-house quality, especially in Clark Kent's flashbacks to his awkward younger years trying to suppress his powers. Superman's first flight sequence that literally takes him around the world resonates with the same magical wonder as the Peter Pan-esque flight from the 1978 original. Snyder also proves to be the perfect choice to direct the epic-scale visceral action that was severely lacking in the 2006 'Superman Returns'. The biggest highlight comes in the form of Superman fighting against two of General Zod's soldiers in the middle of Smallville. We've seen Superman fight super-humans before in 'Superman II' but never on this big of a scale, with the ensuing jaw-dropping destruction and bone crunching punches making it one of the best action sequences of the year. And don't worry; no slow motion is present for those who hated that particular aesthetic of Snyder's work. The final battle with Superman and General Zod echoes the colossal anime-style fights that almost makes one feel like they are watching a live-action 'Dragon Ball Z' battle brought to vivid life.

Henry Cavill steps into the cape as the Man of Steel himself and he is an absolute revelation in the part. Cavill does not have much dialogue but nonetheless does a great job in balancing raw charm and unflinching sincerity while also convincingly selling an younger more uncertain Clark Kent who is just beginning to realize his calling as a superhero and a symbol for the young human race to strive for. Amy Adams is delightful as Lois Lane and it is great to see her become a more active character in the plot (aside from being the damsel in distress). There is also a delightful twist in the Lois and Clark dynamic that 'Superman II' once teased at but never followed through on. Michael Shannon's hammtastic performance as a more sympathetic but still ruthless General Zod proves once again why Shannon is one of the best character actors working in Hollywood today.

While the film can have mediocre dialogue and the pacing of the second-half is admittedly hindered it's back-to-back obligatory spectacle dumps (although not nearly as bad as it was in 'Star Trek Into Darkness'), there is just too much good stuff to pass up. Hopefully this film will be the first brave step in a rejuvenated Superman franchise. It may not be groundbreaking in the superhero genre it represents, but 'Man of Steel' still delivers a fun rush of excitement and visual eye-candy.
Mario M.
Mario M.

Super Reviewer

July 25, 2013
Throughout the comic book superhero's 75- year history, Jerry Siegel and Joe Schuster's Superman has been an inspirational figure. Whether punching out an abusive husband or arresting Joseph Stalin, the Kansas- raised strongman has used his considerable strength to fight oppression, rescue the downtrodden and inspire others with his example. That's why the corny refrain of "It's a bird, it's a plane" was used to herald the character's approach. Superman was such a fantastic force for good that the natural response to his appearance was to look up in hushed awe. In Zack Snyder's bold reimagining of the character, "Man of Steel," people only look up to see skyscrapers topple on them.

In their zeal to modernize Superman for a 21st century audience and replicate the record- shattering success of Christopher Nolan's Batman trilogy, Snyder and co-writer David S. Goyer have abandoned the character's core strengths. Taking up the cape in the era of military drones and government surveillance, Snyder's Superman (Henry Cavil) is racked by fear. He hides his fantastic abilities until coaxed into action by the apocalyptic threat of General Zod (Michael Shannon), and though he is presented as a positive figure out to saves lives, the amount of destruction that follows in his wake makes him an ominous figure. In Snyder's vision, the red S is always an omen of impending destruction.

This unintentional inversion is partially an outgrowth of Snyder's lack of restraint. His successes and failures share a speed-ramped, go for broke intensity that seems almost tailor-made for the subtly free blockbusters of the modern era, but his maximalist aesthetic is wholly unsuitable for a Superman movie. His epileptic editing and hunger for large-scale violence lends an air of brutality to what should be an uplifting story. The inevitable clashes between super humans, which are normally a selling point for films like these, are rendered grotesque and horrible through Snyder's lens. The collateral damage is front and center and the sheer scope of the carnage would almost seem to suggest Snyder is attempting to critique the modern fascination with apocalyptic disaster imagery, but there is no point being made or lesson being imparted. As with his thinking man's masturbation fantasy "Sucker Punch" all the blood and thunder is just pretty wrapping paper for an empty box.

That said the wrapping paper is pretty great. Perhaps because Nolan and Warner Bros. didn't like Snyder's color timed-within-an-inch-of-its-life palette, the film is surprisingly naturalistic looking. This works better in some areas than others, with the Kansas set material featuring the finest cinematography in a Snyder film and his Heavy Metal take on the planet Krypton ranking as the most interesting element of a superhero movie this season. It works less well in the poorly defined city of Metropolis, where much of the film's third act takes place. The city looks blandly anonymous until people start pushing over buildings and then it looks uncomfortably like New York City, so much so that it takes the audience completely out of the movie. The fights between Zod and Superman move so quickly and are framed so jaggedly that they resemble high-definition cut scenes. And because Snyder was so impressed with how he was able to render a super powered hand- to- hand combat, the audience is treated to seemingly endless sequences of the same, and slowly but surely the fantastic becomes numbing. It makes for a strange viewing experience, like going on a roller coaster and then attending a college lecture. And none of the film's actors provide a respite from the tonal shifts.

While Henry Cavil is good at posing dramatically, he doesn't have much in the way of acting chops. Since there is no bumbling Clark Kent for him to play, Cavil largely has to play confident Superman and upset Superman, a task to which he mostly acquits himself, though he never pulls off inspiring Superman. It's a bit unfair to pillory Cavil since Snyder films aren't really known for their nuanced performances and "Man of Steel" is no exception. Russell Crowe's Jor-El seems stiff and lifeless even before he's turned into a computer program and Amy Adams' Lois Lane has some bite and agency but still spends most of her screen time getting rescued by dudes. Most disappointing is Michael Shannon, a dynamite character actor who is called upon to either bellow threats or calmly reiterate his character motivation. For all of his considerable talent, Shannon can't make Zod anything other than a genocidal manic. Without a strong storyteller at the helm, "Man of Steel's" performers get lost in its CGI maelstrom.

Superman, even with his antiquated code and slightly goofy uniform, is a highly adaptable figure. He inspired in the middle of the Great Depression, delighted children at the dawn of the television age, and soared to new heights right before John Wayne Gacy was captured. Social mores change, illusions of innocence are shattered and darkness is ever-present, but the idea of a child-friendly figure of pure altruism is indelible. With the character's optimism and indefatigability replaced by fear and insecurity he's just a branding opportunity in a cape. And products, no matter how well made, aren't inspiring.
Albert K

Super Reviewer

June 22, 2013
What's up Goku?

Complaints were thrown all over the place after the disappointing "Superman Returns" hit the silver screen.
"Where's the action?"
"This Superman movie is boring."
"All Superman does is lift things."
Blah, blah, blah.

I, too, was disappointed with "Superman Returns". But I'll give it this: that film was the truer form of the comic book superhero compared to "Man of Steel".

Running off the fumes of the successful Dark Knight trilogy, "Man of Steel" attempts to carry the same tone as that trilogy, but it only serves as tone. The dark tone doesn't cohesively mesh with the plot, especially because the Superman saga is essentially a sci-fi action flick. "That's alright," I thought. As long as "Man of Steel" portrays an entertaining rendition of the rise of Superman, I'm good. Nope. "Man of Steel" adds nothing fresh or new to the old tale. Doesn't matter still -- as long as the drama for an old tale works, I'm sold. "Man of Steel" still comes out stilted. It makes me wonder why a film about the genesis of Superman was needed in the first place, and this is coming from someone that has not seen one Superman movie that starred Christopher Reeves.

It clicked: This movie was made purely to address the complaints of "Superman Returns". Oh, and it tried to redeem Superman's reputation, alright. What is, for the first half of the film, a somber and brooding film, explodes out into a Dragon Ball Z-esque, face smashing, concrete-breaking, building-exploding frenzy of quick cuts. Hey, if you thought "Superman Returns" was boring for Superman's lack of aggression, you sure get the complete opposite side of him in "Man of Steel". For the most part, the action is somewhat entertaining, but it's all cathartic violence with over-the-top set-pieces. In a crux, it's all mindless and forgetful. Possibly for that split second, you'll find yourself entertained, but once you walk to your car from the movie theater, you'll instantly forget. Albeit, you've never seen Superman action like this before. Gone are the weak-sauce green screen Superman action scenes. "Man of Steel" is rife with bodies being thrown through multiple stories of buildings, complete with skyscrapers falling on larger-than-life characters. You've never seen action in a live action movie like it. Still doesn't make it a marvelous achievement though.

All in all, "Man of Steel" is jarringly disappointing. The beginning half is a drama that never seems to stand on its two feet and the last half is an over-the-top action flick that doesn't exactly coexist with its tone. It's Zack Snyder's best movie, but that's not exactly saying much.
Al S

Super Reviewer

August 25, 2012
It's the best Superman adaptation ever made. The trio of Director, Zack Snyder, Writer, David S. Goyer and Producer, Christopher Nolan craft a vastly engaging and breathtaking superhero film that grabs you with it's compelling and mysterious story, powerful characters, stunning visuals, searing suspense and mind-blowing action. An unforgettable and spectacular experience that's thrilling, deeply moving and incredibly entertaining all the way through. An impressive display of special effects and storytelling. A true instant classic. Director, Zack Snyder crafts an extraordinary masterpiece that soars. This film is beyond super, its superb. Man of Steel is a darker, tougher, more confident and more character driven piece than expected. The cast is amazing, their is not one bad performance in this film and every actor in this gives it everything. Henry Cavill is absolutely perfect, he gives an outstanding performance. Cavill brings his Superman to life with charm, charisma, emotion, inner-darkness, tremendous confidence and a whole lot of heart. Michael Shannon is incredible, his interpretation of Zod is just fearless. Kevin Costner and Diane Lane are terrific, they give such strength and heart to their characters and deliver wonderful performances. Russell Crowe is excellent, he has more screen time than you expect and leaves a strong impression. Amy Adams is fantastic. A heart-pounding and explosive action-packed adventure that you wont soon forget and will want to see again. An impressively effective and astounding piece of work
Julie B

Super Reviewer

July 11, 2013
I have to say, I found this pretty boring, too long, and Superman managed to have not a single personality trait. Which seems hard to pull off.
Eric A

Super Reviewer

July 3, 2013
Going into watching the movie in the theatre, I saw reviews and comments saying things like "bad script", "could've been better"......blah blah etc etc. Maybe I'm missing something, but I thought the script and everything along with it, was perfectly fine. Lots of action, amazing CGI, and great casting. Zod was my favorite character, amazing casting there once again. Overall, I actually really enjoyed the movie; I'm also disappointed with the tomatometer.....this is a rare instance where we don't see eye to eye.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

July 2, 2013
The original 1978 Superman film is my favourite film of all time. It's the film that made me into the film obsessive I am today. I'm not just a fan of the film though, I am a collector of Superman comics and TV series. To look at the 1978 films and the 3 sequels in a critical and technical way is pretty tough for me to do, that old lady called nostalgia will always tell me those films are brilliant no matter how good or bad they really are. Superman Returns was awful - see my review for why I think that. It was time for a change and I welcomed a new beginning and quite looked forward to one. They took various ideas from contemporary Superman graphic novels but without using one directly which I thought was a great idea. The casting was great, Henry Cavill did well and I thought Russell Crowe and Kevin Costner were brilliant as the two fathers. I expected more from Michael Shannon if I'm being honest and I'm afraid I don't really see anything special about Amy Adams. She, I'm afraid to say, was totally wrong for the part. I also didn't like this version of Lois Lane, they got it totally wrong in every way in my opinion and I found her (and the fact she'd just pop up out of nowhere, sometimes even though she was 50 miles away in the last scene) annoying. I was also surprised by the inclusion of all the spaceships. Fights and spaceships. That, I'm afraid wasn't really Superman for me. Maybe in some of the comics but I thought it was too much on screen. Apart from those few things I found no fault with it other than it didn't quite feel like Superman. The absence of Clark Kent was probably the biggest reason why but as we saw towards the end, this will be rectified in the sequel. The blink and you'll miss it Lex Luther reference also makes me think that now that they have got the origins out the way, the real return of Superman can begin, albeit in 3 years time.
Carlos M

Super Reviewer

July 1, 2013
For someone who has never been a fan of Superman as a character, this movie doesn't really impress, as it relegates to flashbacks every dramatic scene that would help build him as a relatable person, so that it can jump fast into action like any uninspired blockbuster.
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

June 30, 2013
Epic in scale but tight in focus, this is city-breaking action with a close eye on character and a great set-up for an exciting new franchise. Full review later.
Page 1 of 1297
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile