Surf's Up Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Pablo Villaca
Cinema em Cena
September 17, 2008
O estilo mockumentary confere charme a esta animação, que também se beneficia da dublagem perfeita de Bridges e de uma técnica impressionante (a animação de fluidos é fabulosa).
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic

TIME Magazine
September 9, 2008
Not a comedy tsunami, just consistent ripples of laughs and good vibes.
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
The [filmmakers were] hard-pressed to come up with enough story for even an old-time six-minute cartoon short.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Steve Biodrowski
ESplatter
July 13, 2008
This is not just another penguin movie.
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
May 31, 2008
I'm still waiting for animation to go beyond talking animals and simplistic premises with almost take away value. I guess I'll have to sit on the fence with this one...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 3, 2008
I was prepared to bash another penguin movie for hopping on the bandwagon, but this one adds enough for me to put those worries to rest.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Brandon Fibbs
Colorado Springs Gazette
February 28, 2008
Surf's Up belongs to that refreshing group of animated films that suffuse enough adult humor to bypass the children's radar but hit mom and dad right in the funny bone.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
October 31, 2007
Kids will dive into penguin adventure, dude.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
October 25, 2007
ena periorismenon dynatotiton kinoymeno, poy kanei ayto akribos poy yposhetai, horis polla-polla
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Paul Byrnes
Sydney Morning Herald
September 21, 2007
It's fun for a while, but the script doesn't have the structure to sustain 85 minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Philip French
Observer [UK]
August 18, 2007
The American CGI-animated Surf's Up is a treat.
Mark Adams
Sunday Mirror [UK]
August 10, 2007
Wipeout! Surf's Up is terrific entertainment for all the family.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Derek Malcolm
This is London
August 10, 2007
I commend Ash Brannon and Chris Buck's animated film, especially to those who have not yet reached the age of 10.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Neil Smith
thelondonpaper
August 10, 2007
ntertainingly presented as a mockumentary a la Best in Show, this CG caper is ideal if you have time to krill.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Sukhdev Sandhu
Daily Telegraph
August 10, 2007
The real reason Surf's Up is so aggravating is that it's more concerned with sucking up to adults than it is to enchanting their children.
Nigel Andrews
Financial Times
August 10, 2007
A happy 85 minutes, although it might have been a teensy bit happier, banishing all hint of repetition, at 75.
Xan Brooks
Guardian
August 10, 2007
Cranked out to an hour and a half, it had me flapping my arms in irritation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5

Sun Online
August 10, 2007
The animated super-fluffiness and soppy storyline make Surf's Up a film all the family can enjoy.
James Christopher
Times [UK]
August 10, 2007
Yet another preposterous penguin animation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5

Daily Mirror [UK]
August 10, 2007
After Potter, Spidey, Pirates and The Simpsons, a small contender surfs in from out of nowhere to steal the title of THE family film of 2007.
Page 1 of 8