Suspect Zero - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Suspect Zero Reviews

Page 2 of 7
Jonathan R. Perry
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
September 1, 2004
A visually inventive, capably performed package that, when opened, reveals nothing on the inside.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeremy Knox
Film Threat
August 31, 2004
I was watching this movie with a friend and when the end credits rolled I noticed that he'd fallen asleep. I think that pretty much says it all, don't you?
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
August 31, 2004
Slips on the banana peel of exaggerated fear factor, falling facedown with the introduction of an über-creep serial killer (Ben Kingsley) grimly stalking some hapless prey.
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
August 30, 2004
It had to happen. Somebody took my idea for a movie ... and then trashed it.
Full Review| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
August 30, 2004
[A] visually jarring, psychologically daring trip that explores terror in a fresh, if crazy, manner.
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
August 30, 2004
Aims to be another "Seven" but misses that target totally
Full Review| Original Score: 4/10
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
August 30, 2004
Suspect Zero has two good ideas, and it squanders them both.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Angela Baldassarre
Sympatico.ca
August 30, 2004
Moody, earnest and not particularly involving, film oozes with pretension and mediocre performances.**
Vince Koehler
Entertainment Spectrum
August 29, 2004
Ben Kinsley gives me the creeps in these intense roles and this film is no exception.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
August 29, 2004
Instead of building suspense and tension, Suspect Zero devotes its efforts to creating a weird and creepy milieu that will leave fans of police procedurals wanting and avant-garde enthusiasts scratching their heads.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
August 29, 2004
The film tries to be a follow-up to Seven but instead throws down a big Zero.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Eric Lurio
Greenwich Village Gazette
August 28, 2004
It's said that great British actors will do anything for money. This is the case with Ben Kingsley, who gives a great performance in a rather sucky serial killer thriller.
| Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
August 28, 2004
Its junkiness shines through its posh patina. Exploitation is just no fun anymore, now that it's all so damn tasteful.
Lewis Beale
Film Journal International
August 28, 2004
Merhige, whose last film was the clever and creepy Shadow of the Vampire, seems to have succumbed to Big Picture Disease here.

E! Online
August 28, 2004
Any decent cinema sleuth will have this sucker solved and filed away long before the film decides to reveal itself.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
August 28, 2004
A potpourri of random events designed to confound rather than intrigue the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
August 28, 2004
Despite fine performances by Aaron Eckhart and Ben Kingsley, 'Suspect Zero' is a painfully muddled crime thriller.
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
August 27, 2004
A grisly, depraved and wholly uninvolving exercise in empty mannerism.
Ethan Alter
TV Guide's Movie Guide
August 27, 2004
It's not easy to make a thriller that's both incredibly convoluted and intensely boring, but director E. Elias Merhige scores on both counts with this lame excuse for a spooky crime story.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
August 27, 2004
Suspect Zero is that rare case of a dull idea redeemed by sharp talent.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 2 of 7