Opening

—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05
—— The Remaining Sep 05

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $16.3M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $11.8M
39% If I Stay $9.3M
33% As Above/So Below $8.3M
21% Let's Be Cops $8.2M
36% The November Man $7.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $5.6M
32% The Giver $5.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $4.6M
34% The Expendables 3 $3.5M

Coming Soon

—— No Good Deed Sep 12
—— Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
—— Atlas Shrugged: Who Is John Galt? Sep 12
100% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
100% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Premieres Tonight

25% Houdini: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
25% Partners: Season 1
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Breathless: Season One
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

S.W.A.T. Reviews

Page 1 of 258
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2007
Watchable. Suspend reality of course.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

May 8, 2013
S.W.A.T is a film that had the potential of being a terrific, mindless and well executed action picture that relies on every cliché to create something that is supposed to be thrilling. Well, this was a disappointing and awful film that simply didn't do anything to entertain me. The cast were not well developed and the script had poorly written dialogue that was cringe worthy. I really wanted to enjoy this one, but it was a poor attempt at creating something truly awesome. This film started off with plenty of potential, but quickly ran out of steam. The film suffers from a poorly written, underdeveloped script that simply fails to try and deliver some thrills. However this is just a typical action film that doesn't break new ground despite its concept. If you're looking for a great and fun popcorn film, you won't find it here. This is simply an awful film with bad acting and poorly written and thought out direction. This film really could have been awesome, but it just ended up being a bland, uninteresting actioner that didn't deliver. There was some pretty impressive talent involved, but it was all wasted on a clichéd script that simply didn't know how to create something worthwhile to watch. This film is really not worth seeking out even if you have nothing else better to watch. This one is just a standard action film that is predictable and ultimately laughable. This was a wasted opportunity in trying to make something special; a\and despite good actors such as Jeremy Renner and Samuel L. Jackson, this one just didn't have the ingredients necessary in making something really awesome and highly entertaining. S.W.A.T might have looked good on paper, but on-screen it is a train wreck that just fails on almost every level.
Phil H

Super Reviewer

April 9, 2013
Kinda based on the American TV show but ultimately kinda not. Characters left out, new ones in, different ethnicity for the one member and turning one regular into the baddie. Kinda makes you wonder why they bother adapting these old shows if they're gonna change most of it. Luckily (amazingly) this film hasn't suffered too badly and is pretty much a stand alone action film, old TV show left by the wayside.

When this was first brought up I instantly thought it would be crapola, just a weak timid action flick that would probably border on comedy. Much to my surprise the film is an out n out serious fast paced cop flick, more serious in terms of realism than say...'Lethal Weapon', but with less of the comedy.

I think we can all guess its a film about a tough highly skilled elite team of cops, and this being a modern flick the testosterone is through the roof!. The clearly unfit Samuel L. Jackson leads a team consisting of Farrell, Rodriguez (again in another crack team of tough nuts), LL Cool J and two other faceless guys. In all honesty I think the team could have been better cast with better character actors from the 80's action genre, why we have to put up with these ex-rap/hip-hop stars with stupid names I don't know.

The plot is sort of obvious but not completely, you'd expect the usual last stand type ordeal with a team but the film shows some imagination. The main bad guy spends most of his time cuffed with cops which is a brave move, the good guys tend to be always trying to gain the upper hand and never really in control and of course there is betrayal, which spices things up. Its not exactly hard to predict but it plays out a little differently than most cookie cutter action films.

What is different is the fact half the film shows this team training, and what is shown looks pretty realistic I gotta say. Lots of skilled combat/hostage training with your cliched yet highly polished 'Top Gun-esq' over the top camaraderie and macho showboating with liberal splashes of gun porn. It all looks slick sexy and makes you wanna run down to the local cop recruitment centre and get shooting. Oh those boys in blue do look handsome in their nice perfectly fitting uniforms and actionman body armour.

The film isn't really very violent, it hints at some strong stuff, you just don't see it. I do tend to think that the film might have been much cooler had it been an all out adult film, bit more gritty and a bit less glossy perhaps. But in general its a solid action flick that you can easily enjoy without ever knowing the old TV show ever existed.
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

June 8, 2009
S.W.A.T. has two people I love watching on screen. Samuel L. Jackson for his tough attitude and his smart-ass mouth and Colin Farrell. Well, he's just nice to look at, Lol. Also he's a badass and I like watching him is action flicks. LL Cool J isn't bad to look at either.
It has nice action and not a bad plot to boost. I enjoyed all the performances, even the not so stellar ones. It's a movie I can watch any time. I've seen it more than once and will probably see it again. Give it a chance. It's not amazing, but its fun and action packed. Sometimes these kind of films are just what you need on a rainy day."
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

September 4, 2007
I dont know why but i love this movie!
Its action packed throughout and is just a typical action suspensful movie thats fun throughout to watch!
Great cast, funny, entertaining and action packed!
Conner R

Super Reviewer

May 16, 2011
S.W.A.T. is a much better movie than it gets credit for. In terms of bring a t.v. show to life, it does a beautiful job. It trows these characters and basic plot into a realistic setting. Even just as a pure action movie it's great. I've always had a soft spot for this, due to it's unbelievably entertaining cast of characters. Colin Ferrell's intense, yet good-natured Street is perfect in terms of an action hero and only better when paired up against the evil Jeremy Renner. This is a movie that has no trouble managing action, comedy and drama to make for a realistic and fun experience. You can say that this isn't for you, but it's hard to point out any real flaws.
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

October 19, 2006
Pretty good action film based on the TV series of the 1970s cult classic police. S.W.A.T. group delivers all the pulse-pounding thrills and high-octance action you're looking for.
I see Colin Ferrel plays one of 'a bit good hearted' S.W.A.T. officers in this movie as well as you know he's a real-life bad ass attitude. My main quibble is that hottie girl-jock Michelle Rodriguez didn't get enough screen time.
The chase and action scenes, although impressive, are done in a routine manner with fast talking, joke-style dialogue there to extinguish any threat of profanity.
Albert K

Super Reviewer

October 13, 2010
fun action. that's bout it. I'm a sucker for weaponry... but this movie sucked.
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 29, 2010
C
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 22, 2009
S.H.I.T.
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2009
whilst it started off with some promise, this films quickly dwindles into boredom
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

February 10, 2009
"Even cops dial 911"

An imprisoned drug kingpin offers a huge cash reward to anyone that can break him out of police custody and only the LAPD's Special Weapons and Tactics team can prevent it.

REVIEW
I gotta say this started off very promising. Tight, action-filled and generally quite interesting.

But I don't understand why the makers spent a lot of time trying to build up the character of Jim Street when he all through the movie is a very one-dimensional person. Also, a lot of the characters are rather tired clichés, and the storyline is quite predictable. The ending? The ending is standard stuff, nothing extraordinary, and the lame attempt at black humor in the end is painful.

If you ignore these shortcomings, the movie is chock-full with action and some braindead albeit suitable dialogue. I've seen worse, but I've seen better.
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

July 7, 2007
Action packed movie with a great cast. Colin is a rookie working for the SWAT team who have to transfer a drug lord. Olivier has offered a cash reward to anyone who gets him out of police custody.
Luke B

Super Reviewer

May 28, 2006
You're either SWAT or you're not. How true, how true. Well I am deffinately down with the SWAT. Of course at times it is perfectly ridiculous, but it's good ridiculous and the action is well fun. Sure it lacks in some departments, but there are worse things that could happen.
Jens S

Super Reviewer

June 13, 2006
I've been wanting to see this for a while and had somewhat high expectations. Surprisingly, this actioner takes its time introducing the characters and the grouping of the SWAT team, not without decent action scenes, of course. While doing that is cool to watch, it relies on quite a few stereotypes of similar films, throwing cool lines at the audience every minute or so. That does get old after a while and you are starting to wish things would get serious already. Once the main events starts rolling, the movie gains a few levels of excitement, while losing a few in realism. That's okay though and still makes for a pretty good 30-minutes showdown. Overall, the movie takes itself a tad too serious and wants to be cooler than it is, but delivers good action entertainment nonetheless.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

June 9, 2006
Quite a sub-mediocre, mindless, and dull Hollywood action movie that is absolutely riddled with cliches, suffers from being too overplayed, and features a decent cast that sadly should have passed this film over.
Sophie B

Super Reviewer

January 6, 2008
Lots of great action and tense moments! Acting was good too. The plane landing on the bridge was a great moment!
Aaron N

Super Reviewer

May 30, 2006
Hondo: Well you know what they say, "Sometimes doing the right thing, ain't doing the right thing."

A fun action movie, with for the most part, a surprising amount of realism. Fueled by plenty of tough guy one-liners as well as enough of a sense of humor that you can see it doesn't take itself too seriously.

Hondo: You look like you need a Band-Aid.
Street: Somebody else needs a body bag downstairs.

Jackson and Ferrell lead a good team through a fun action movie with the original TV theme playing throughout, which works for me.

The film revolves around a new S.W.A.T. team lead by Sam Jackson, and it includes a "loose cannon," Jim Street, played by Colin Farrell, and then a drug dealer and a renegade S.W.A.T. agent...blah blah blah.

Does the plot matter? this is a summer action movie, all the plots have been used, forget about it and try to have fun.

McCabe: What? No roll, Hondo?
Hondo: How do you know I didn't?
McCabe: You didn't, did you?
Hondo: They only roll in John Woo movies, not in real life.
Dean L

Super Reviewer

July 17, 2007
Are you looking for that action movie that will whisk you away, provide that great distraction, and keeps hitting you with all it's got? This AIN'T it. Even Samuel L Jackson could not save this dud. We have your typical "good cop/bad cop" scenario. We have your typical "Captain hates loose cannon cop" scenario. We have the typical, "busted, demoted, promoted" scenario. We have an unbelievably formulaic plot line one which you will actually get to see each twist and turn coming right at...wait a minute...no you won't...it's straight as an arrow! The only thing new that this movie had going for it was that the terrorist/mobster is French and not stereotypically Middle Eastern (terrorist) or Italian (mobster) [who by the way we never even get to find out what he did or does...or maybe we did and I fell asleep] Even the cinemaphotograpy was terrible. They were going for gritty/noir and they came up with nauseating/annoying. I really had some hope that this movie was going to be fun to watch. Cool cast, fun premise...but it really fell short. It was just an excuse to put a bunch of blaring guns on screen and never made it past that. My suggestion: Pass on this one.
Rachel F

Super Reviewer

July 13, 2007
This is such a good film. Colin Farrell and Samuel L. Jackson are great in this film and Michelle Rodriguez kicks ass as usual.
Page 1 of 258
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile