• PG-13, 1 hr. 48 min.
  • Drama, Romance, Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Andy Tennant
    In Theaters:
    Sep 27, 2002 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 4, 2003
  • Buena Vista Distribution Compa

Opening

96% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
50% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

58% Lucy $44.0M
61% Hercules $29.0M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.4M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $9.9M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.3M
18% Sex Tape $6.0M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.6M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.4M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08
—— The Hundred-foot Journey Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Agatha Christie's Poirot : Season 12
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
64% The Last Ship: Season 1
100% Last Tango in Halifax: Season 2
69% The Leftovers: Season 1
60% The Lottery: Season 1
87% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
50% The Musketeers: Season 1
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
50% True Blood: Season 7
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
80% Vicious: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Sweet Home Alabama Reviews

Page 1 of 1000
axadntpron
axadntpron

Super Reviewer

March 14, 2011
Not kidding, I find this movie incredibly offensive.
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2007
This is one of my favourite romantic comedies and favourite Reese movie. Excellent rom com about a girl who gets engaged and then has to return to her roots to get divorced from her first husband. Reese is at her best. Good cast and plot.
Alexander D

Super Reviewer

June 29, 2011
For a romantic comedy, SWEET HOME ALABAMA was quite an enjoyable--but predictable--film. Starring Reese Witherspoon, Josh Lucas, and Patrick Dempsey, it tells the tale of a northerner who meets a man and immediately falls in love. The problem is she's married to a "redneck" down in Alabama already, so she goes down south to divorce him. There, another problem arises: her husband refuses to sign the papers. It seemed in this film that there was no consistent plot, and it was always just problem after problem after problem coming up. Also, this is quite unoriginal, and it was intended as a comedy, but I didn't see much that was funny in it (or even really aimed at humor). In fact, I saw it more as a romantic drama than a "romcom". Either way, it was a chick flick, and even though I don't usually enjoy that type of film, I found it to be a cute movie, and it was somewhat worth seeing.
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

August 15, 2011
Terrible romantic comedy, it was cliche, boring, and a all around terrible film that I hope I will never have to watch again.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
One of my favourite films of all time. Reese Witherspoon and Josh Lucas set the film alight with their chemistry. Patrick Demsey made you feel empathetic towards his character but this film is absolutely amazing. A must see! My favourite line... 'Why do you wanna marry me anyhow?' 'So I can kiss you any time I want.' and the proposal scene is gorgeous.
Jennifer X

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2007
One of the least genuine movies I've ever had the displeasure of seeing.
Nadira I

Super Reviewer

December 25, 2010
Can't even bother watching it till the end. I guess the good part is only when Dakota Fanning is in. Other than that, it's boring. I don't want to waste my time.
theunknownhobo
theunknownhobo

Super Reviewer

November 16, 2010
I like this movie it reminds me of my sister ...
Richard C

Super Reviewer

July 21, 2010
Wow this movie sucked. This is one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It's boring, unoriginal, and cliche. This movie has nothing good about it. It's just painfull to watch and I hope I never have to watch this again. F
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

July 29, 2010
It's spot on with its performances, but too drab for my taste.
3niR
3niR

Super Reviewer

February 15, 2010
Not that bad.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

September 9, 2007
I cute romcom although predictable and laughs are few throughout the movie its still a likeable and funny movie that entertains you!
Worth a watch!!
Coxxie M

Super Reviewer

June 5, 2009
Reese Witherspoon is super-hot. that helps the movie, right?
mwilliams078
mwilliams078

Super Reviewer

September 20, 2008
Sweet Home Alabama, is a very cute and funny film starring Reese Witherspoon.

Reese has to head home from her high fashion lifestyle in NYC. She needs to get a quick divorce from her hometown sweetheart (Josh Lucas) before she can marry and her new (Patrick Dempsey)finds out.
Julie B

Super Reviewer

June 25, 2008
Fluffy, cute, like a bunny. But less delicious with a sherry reduction sauce...
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

October 30, 2006
Reese Witherspoon's so charm in this great romantic-comedy film.
sanjurosamurai
sanjurosamurai

Super Reviewer

January 5, 2007
really great, josh lucas' best performance
Matthew C

Super Reviewer

November 19, 2007
I thought this was relatively decent...I think the end of the movie made it for me.
Keysha H

Super Reviewer

August 31, 2007
Ahh it was ok..she didn't pick the guy I liked. But whatev..
Bobby H

Super Reviewer

June 17, 2007
Good film. Pretty normal storyline, with a typical ending - but the actors, and everything still held it together as a movie seriously worth watching.
Page 1 of 1000
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile