Taste of Cherry (Ta'm e Guilass) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
January 1, 2000
The film is such a lifeless drone that we experience it only as a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Dan Jardine
Apollo Guide
January 1, 2000
The lack of information about the central character, which results in a distinct absence of emotional connection, leaves us cold to his fate.
Full Review | Original Score: 63/100
John A. Nesbit
ToxicUniverse.com
February 3, 2002
Simplicity often leads to profundity, but A Taste of Cherry (especially the ending) represents lazy cinema that has been overrated by too many.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Ed Scheid
Boxoffice Magazine
January 1, 2000
Although Ershadi's performance gives a clear sense of Badii's anguish, the screenplay does not give the character enough personal details to make him compelling.
Bob Thompson
Jam! Movies
January 1, 2000
For fear of revealing myself as a wanting intellectual, I found myself in a state of 'huh?' watching the conclusion to the lethargically-presented A Taste Of Cherry.
Kevin Lally
Film Journal International
January 1, 2000
The style is understated, the mise-en-scène is spare, but Kiarostami's complex morality tale catches you in its mesmerizing spell.
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
January 1, 2000
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
January 1, 2000
A masterwork.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Joe Baltake
Sacramento Bee
July 24, 2001
Appropriately languid and uniquely seductive.
Christopher Null
Filmcritic.com
July 24, 2001
While it's interminably slow and I still haven't quite figured out why they went with the copout ending, I can't say it's not an interesting film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
January 10, 2003
The #1 U.S. release of 1998: 'A sublime and patient film...[Kiarostami] handles his profound material flawlessly.'
Full Review | Original Score: A
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 1, 2000
I know from my past experiences with great filmmakers, that sometimes I don't like what I see from them the first time and later on change my mind...
Full Review | Original Score: A
Pablo Villaca
Cinema em Cena
May 31, 2002
Que seja aberto a interpretações é um dos pontos positivos de 'Gosto de Cereja'. Que se feche de maneira tão terrível é seu - talvez - único ponto negativo.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Sean Axmaker
Turner Classic Movies Online
December 6, 2009
Taste of Cherry confirmed Kiarostami as the most acclaimed director of Iran's rich film culture...
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
January 1, 2000
Kiarastomi, like no other filmmaker, has a vision of human scale that is simultaneously epic and precisely minuscule.
Top Critic
Richard Corliss
TIME Magazine
January 1, 2000
The talk flows persuasively; the picture pulses with art and humanity.
Keith Uhlich
House Next Door
March 6, 2007
Taste of Cherry might be Kiarostami's most difficult film.
Jake Euker
F5 (Wichita, KS)
July 8, 2004
An enduring meditation on living life. A great film.
| Original Score: 5/5
Top Critic
John Hartl
Film.com
July 24, 2001
Has a visual style that seems rudimentary but becomes increasingly hypnotic and resonant.
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Examiner
January 1, 2000
Kiarostami uses minimalist means to say a great deal. And he has taken a most despairing subject and used it to evoke a much more complicated set of responses.
Sam Adams
Philadelphia City Paper
September 26, 2002
Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
June 24, 2006
Top Critic
David Denby
New York Magazine/Vulture
January 1, 2000
Constantine Santas
Senses of Cinema
June 19, 2001
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
April 27, 2007

Empire Magazine
January 1, 2000

Boston Phoenix
March 24, 2002
Page 1 of 2