Te doy mis ojos (Take My Eyes) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Te doy mis ojos (Take My Eyes) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film
June 14, 2008
Domestic abuse has been portrayed on film before but never with this much complexity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Eric Monder
Film Journal International
March 1, 2007
Every element of the production is well-crafted. Take My Eyes is highly recommended.
Top Critic

San Francisco Chronicle
May 12, 2006
A mesmerizing and deeply disturbing film from Spain.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jeff Shannon
Seattle Times
April 21, 2006
Approaching potentially unpleasant subject matter with humor, intelligence and deep compassion for its flawed yet infinitely human characters, Take My Eyes is almost certain to rank as one of the year's best films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Bill White
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
April 20, 2006
Actors Laia Marull and Luis Tosar explore the intricate details of a relationship based on the laws of attraction and repulsion, in which the intellect is repeatedly devastated by primal passion.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
April 20, 2006
An extraordinarily truthful and piercing drama about spousal abuse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 20, 2006
What makes the movie fascinating is that it doesn't settle for a soap opera resolution to this story, with Pilar as the victim, Antonio as the villain, and evil vanquished. It digs deeper and more painfully.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Nathan Rabin
AV Club
April 20, 2006
Though deceptively straightforward in its exploration of the causes and effects of domestic abuse, Take My Eyes benefits from the grubby verisimilitude Bollaín brings to his material, which otherwise might have lapsed into movie-of-the-week superficiality
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
April 6, 2006
This tale of domestic abuse breaks little new stylistic or psychological ground, but it is a searing, well-acted drama that should strike universal chords.

Empire Magazine
April 1, 2006
The performances from Marull and Tosar ... are superbly nuanced, carefully tweaking your emotions until they ensure that Take My Eyes is one of the most moving films you'll see this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
March 31, 2006
This small, somber drama says things to battered women they probably already know. What it says to their abusers -- of any country or culture -- they can't afford to ignore.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Saul Austerlitz
Boxoffice Magazine
March 23, 2006
We emerge worn but wiser, having stepped, if only momentarily, and secondarily, into the shoes of the brutalized.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ken Fox
TV Guide's Movie Guide
March 17, 2006
Harrowing, psychologically astute drama about domestic abuse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
March 17, 2006
The story isn't exactly new, but Bollain, an actress in her own right, keeps Take My Eyes from sinking into clichés.
| Original Score: 3/4
Chris Cabin
Filmcritic.com
March 16, 2006
These kinds of films are hard to keep out of your mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
March 16, 2006
The film won a sack of Goya Awards in 2004.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
March 16, 2006
Handles the subject of domestic violence with intelligence and compassion.
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Newsday
March 16, 2006
The performers are luminous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
March 15, 2006
If Take My Eyes explored how a woman could still feel for a man who abused her, it might have gripped us with its difficult truths.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Jorge Morales
Village Voice
March 14, 2006
For once, it makes sense that the battered wife always returns to the abusive spouse, even if we don't believe his promises ('I've changed') any more than hers ('I'm never going back').
Page 1 of 2