Ted

Ted

68%
  • R, 1 hr. 47 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Seth MacFarlane
    In Theaters:
    Jun 29, 2012 Wide
    On DVD:
    Dec 11, 2012
  • Universal Pictures

Opening

67% The Maze Runner Sep 19
71% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
91% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

33% The Mysteries of Laura: Season 1
61% Red Band Society: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— The League: Season 6
56% Legends: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Ted Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger

I was expecting something more than repetitive jokes, incessant pop culture references and rampant misogyny.

Full Review Source: The Patriot Ledger | Original Score: C

June 2, 2013
Will Leitch
Deadspin

Soulless, angry-white-guy comedy at its worst. This is a smug, nasty little number.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: D+

June 23, 2013
Andy Lea
Daily Star

MacFarlane is reduced to making increasingly laboured references to the 1980s.

Full Review Source: Daily Star | Original Score: 2/5

October 30, 2012
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat

A film with Ted's ingredients should have you stone-drunk on laughter but this film is the comedic equivalent of pissed-in light beer: its 2.5% funny.

Full Review Source: The Aristocrat | Original Score: 2/5

September 27, 2012
Jonathan Lack
We Got This Covered

I enjoyed and laughed at Ted, but I can't say I liked it; MacFarlane lacks focus, the jokes are occasionally offensive, and though the movie has heart, it bungles whatever message it's trying to get across.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 6.5/10

September 14, 2012
David Haglund
Slate
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It is funny to watch a teddy bear wail on Mark Wahlberg. But afterward, I mostly felt beat up.

Full Review Source: Slate

June 28, 2012
Soren Anderson
Seattle Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Some of this is undeniably funny, but the humor is very hit-or-miss.

Full Review Source: Seattle Times | Original Score: 2/4

June 28, 2012
Ann Lewinson
Boston Phoenix

Ted, which was conceived as an animated series, suffers the flaws of Family Guy without sharing its strangeness.

Full Review Source: Boston Phoenix

June 28, 2012
Tom Clift
Moviedex

Fluctuating between crass and sentimental without being particularly impressive at either, Ted wears out its welcome very, very fast.

Full Review Source: Moviedex | Original Score: 2/5

July 5, 2012
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray

Less a movie, more a ragbag of 80's pop cultural references hung on a storyline.

Full Review Source: The Ooh Tray

August 2, 2012
Violet Lucca
Film Comment Magazine

It is a film that seems to have an endless middle.

Full Review Source: Film Comment Magazine

June 28, 2013
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix

It left me fantasising of ways to go back in time, Lost style, and keeping Family Guy from ever returning to screens and kicking off this terrible chain of events.

Full Review Source: Quickflix | Original Score: 2/5

July 11, 2012
Christopher Lloyd
Sarasota Herald-Tribune

Ted contains 12-15 minutes of the some of the best comedy I've seen in a movie this year. Now see if you can stand the other 90.

Full Review Source: Sarasota Herald-Tribune | Original Score: 3.5/5

June 28, 2012
Charlie Lyne
Ultra Culture

Feel free to tell me to lighten up and get a sense of humour, but it's also worth asking whether it's humour that really drives Ted's nasty streak.

Full Review Source: Ultra Culture

September 7, 2012
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service

You know what's funny? Seth "Family Guy" MacFarlane making fun of Adam Sandler movies. F-Bombs, lame celebrity cameos, gay jokes, drug jokes. Take away the animation and MacFarlane IS Adam Sandler.

Full Review Source: McClatchy-Tribune News Service | Original Score: 1.5/4

June 28, 2012
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)

Fans of the MacFarlane oeuvre will be tickled; everyone else would be advised to sample Family Guy, among other shows, to see if they really, really need to see his sensibility - with curse words included.

Full Review Source: Metro Times (Detroit, MI) | Original Score: C+

June 28, 2012
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Like "Family Guy," "Ted" is only about its own hyperlinked pop culture references.

Full Review Source: Chicago Tribune | Original Score: 2/4

June 28, 2012
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Everything goes on too long -- Ted's carousing, Lori's watchful waiting, John's wistful indecision.

Full Review Source: Wall Street Journal

June 30, 2012
Matt Soergel
Florida Times-Union

A pot-smoking, womanizing, wisecracking, profanity-spewing teddy bear is, as you might figure, good for a lot of laughs. Trouble is, the rest of 'Ted' is pretty listless.

Full Review Source: Florida Times-Union | Original Score: 2/4

June 28, 2012
Anders Wotzke
Moviedex

When Ted isn't funny, it isn't much of anything. It's the sip of water a stand-up comedian takes between jokes, leaving the audience to twiddle their thumbs as they wait for the next one.

Full Review Source: Moviedex | Original Score: 3/5

July 2, 2012

Liverpool Echo

A deliciously foul-mouthed comedy that employs the magic of digital trickery to bring to life one rotund stuffed bear as a buddy for a lonely boy.

Full Review Source: Liverpool Echo

August 3, 2012
Page 1 of 11
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile