Ted Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
June 2, 2013
I was expecting something more than repetitive jokes, incessant pop culture references and rampant misogyny.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Will Leitch
June 23, 2013
Soulless, angry-white-guy comedy at its worst. This is a smug, nasty little number.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Andy Lea
Daily Star
October 30, 2012
MacFarlane is reduced to making increasingly laboured references to the 1980s.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Adam Ross
The Aristocrat
September 27, 2012
A film with Ted's ingredients should have you stone-drunk on laughter but this film is the comedic equivalent of pissed-in light beer: its 2.5% funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jonathan Lack
We Got This Covered
September 14, 2012
I enjoyed and laughed at Ted, but I can't say I liked it; MacFarlane lacks focus, the jokes are occasionally offensive, and though the movie has heart, it bungles whatever message it's trying to get across.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
Top Critic
June 28, 2012
It is funny to watch a teddy bear wail on Mark Wahlberg. But afterward, I mostly felt beat up.
Top Critic
Soren Anderson
Seattle Times
June 28, 2012
Some of this is undeniably funny, but the humor is very hit-or-miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Ann Lewinson
Boston Phoenix
June 28, 2012
Ted, which was conceived as an animated series, suffers the flaws of Family Guy without sharing its strangeness.
Tom Clift
July 5, 2012
Fluctuating between crass and sentimental without being particularly impressive at either, Ted wears out its welcome very, very fast.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
August 2, 2012
Less a movie, more a ragbag of 80's pop cultural references hung on a storyline.
Violet Lucca
Film Comment Magazine
June 28, 2013
It is a film that seems to have an endless middle.
Simon Miraudo
July 11, 2012
It left me fantasising of ways to go back in time, Lost style, and keeping Family Guy from ever returning to screens and kicking off this terrible chain of events.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Christopher Lloyd
Sarasota Herald-Tribune
June 28, 2012
Ted contains 12-15 minutes of the some of the best comedy I've seen in a movie this year. Now see if you can stand the other 90.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Charlie Lyne
Ultra Culture
September 7, 2012
Feel free to tell me to lighten up and get a sense of humour, but it's also worth asking whether it's humour that really drives Ted's nasty streak.
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
June 28, 2012
You know what's funny? Seth "Family Guy" MacFarlane making fun of Adam Sandler movies. F-Bombs, lame celebrity cameos, gay jokes, drug jokes. Take away the animation and MacFarlane IS Adam Sandler.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
June 28, 2012
Fans of the MacFarlane oeuvre will be tickled; everyone else would be advised to sample Family Guy, among other shows, to see if they really, really need to see his sensibility - with curse words included.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
June 28, 2012
Like "Family Guy," "Ted" is only about its own hyperlinked pop culture references.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
June 30, 2012
Everything goes on too long -- Ted's carousing, Lori's watchful waiting, John's wistful indecision.
Matt Soergel
Florida Times-Union
June 28, 2012
A pot-smoking, womanizing, wisecracking, profanity-spewing teddy bear is, as you might figure, good for a lot of laughs. Trouble is, the rest of 'Ted' is pretty listless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Anders Wotzke
July 2, 2012
When Ted isn't funny, it isn't much of anything. It's the sip of water a stand-up comedian takes between jokes, leaving the audience to twiddle their thumbs as they wait for the next one.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5

Liverpool Echo
August 3, 2012
A deliciously foul-mouthed comedy that employs the magic of digital trickery to bring to life one rotund stuffed bear as a buddy for a lonely boy.
Page 1 of 11