Opening

44% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For Aug 22
35% If I Stay Aug 22
—— When The Game Stands Tall Aug 22
7% Are You Here Aug 22
97% Love Is Strange Aug 22

Top Box Office

21% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $28.5M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $25.1M
14% Let's Be Cops $17.8M
35% The Expendables 3 $15.9M
31% The Giver $12.3M
21% Into The Storm $7.9M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $7.2M
64% Lucy $5.5M
41% Step Up: All In $2.7M
62% Hercules $2.1M

Coming Soon

0% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
85% The Congress Aug 29
—— The Calling Aug 29

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
95% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
88% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
86% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Tetsuo: The Ironman Reviews

Page 2 of 44
April 25, 2010
Industrialissimo, con un impatto visivo devastante.
January 2, 2014
A businessman begins to turn into a human machine after an encounter with a woman, a metal fetishist who gets kicks out of jamming metal parts into her body. Disturbing visual spectacle and brilliantly crafted flight of fancy, though there is a lack of plot, the visuals are enough to make this film a sinisterly and shockingly mind blowing experience.
December 16, 2013
A crossbreed between a visionary nightmare and a body horror about the contamination of the human body by mechanical devices.
November 27, 2013
good cyber-punk influences J horror pic
November 2, 2013
Ko je ljubitelj Eraserhead-a svidece mu se Tetsuo 7.8/10
August 9, 2011
I always think that any filmmaker that can make any underground, low budget, cult movie that has poignant charisma is very inspired. Directors in this category range from David Lynch, Stanley Kubrick, Kim Ki-Duk, Mamoru Oshii, and the like. Shinya Tsukamoto's "Tetsuo: The Iron Man" is a strangely allegorical and interestingly crafted movie about the dehumanizing love affair between society and modern technology.

Adapted from a play written by Tsukamoto back in college "Tetsuo: The Iron Man" takes place in the underbelly of Tokyo. A homeless man with a masochistic fetish for metal gets killed in an accident after discovering that his self-inflicted injury has become infected with maggots. After being concealed in a ravine by a Japanese businessman with the help of his girlfriend the spirit of the homeless masochist begins to manifest itself within his offender. As the next day dawns, the Japanese businessman begins to discover strange happenings within himself and his surroundings. He starts to mutate into a metal infested apparatus of destruction and begins to have his humanity deprived from him little by little.

"Tetsuo: The Iron Man" is very similar to David Lynch's "Eraserhead" in terms of narrative and style. The world of "Tetsuo" is very bleak and noisy. Machines have taken over the personal and professional lives of the common folk. Everything is constantly running and the streets are always riddled with scrap metal.

Anyone who has seen "Eraserhead" will inevitably draw parallels between the two movies. "Tetsuo" has very little exposition and instead tells everything through the images. A lot of the horror mechanics are reminiscent to the "body horror" style of David Cronenberg. The things that happen in this movie are allegorical uses of body mutation to convey the characters' loss of humanity. Most of the humanity and reason is conveyed through the television set. This probably goes to show our level of immersion with technology in how we become so infatuated with it to the point to where we slowly get robbed of our ability to reason.

The story is paper thin, but "Tetsuo" does manage to do well for what it has to work with. The set pieces and cinematography are good for a more claustrophobically feeling movie. These along with the shifts of the quality from normal to low quality are greatly timed and creative. Most of "Tetsuo" takes place in reality, but it makes these transitions in video quality when displaying images of humanity.

Unlike "Eraserhead", "Tetsuo" is much faster paced. "Eraserhead" always relied on situations and randomly occurring surreal happenstances. "Tetsuo: The Iron Man" has more action involving chase scenes. These scenes are mostly shot in fast motion and the death effects for the mutated humans are similar to the style and quality of "The Evil Dead". The set design of the interconnected technology is similar to the kind of sophisticated designs of Terry Gilliam's "Brazil" and "12 Monkeys". The soundtrack is also used very cleverly during the action scenes and really adds to the overall atmosphere.

"Tetsuo: The Iron Man" is a very intriguing movie. It provides a deep look into the functions of modern society and a realistic look inside the world of a machine. While poignant and nightmarish in lieu of "Eraserhead", "Tetsuo" is more metaphorical in comparing technology to the functions of the human body. "Tetsuo: The Iron Man" may not be as endearing as "Eraserhead" but it stands as very solid art in and of itself.

*Thanks for reading and Happy Halloween.
October 19, 2013
The intro is one of the best intros i've seen in my life.
September 22, 2013
Nightmarish Japanese cult film is reminiscent of David Lynch's Eraserhead.
November 8, 2007
the strangest movie i have ever seen, some of it was incredible though, like when they introduced the main character
August 10, 2013
Unlike anything I've ever seen. Completely unhinged and creatively wild. A low budget art work of maddening genius.
July 9, 2013
A demented 1 hour that leaves your senses violated.
June 23, 2013
Conceptually disturbing but a film of brave artistic choices and bold thematic elements.
June 20, 2013
Corrosive. Excessive Sweat. This is harsh noise turned visual. Visual Noise. Industrial Music made flesh..turned Iron. Whatever. Press pause at any mark and you get a visually stunning, filthy, filthy, beautiful still. This movie never made me rest until the credits. Game Over.
June 20, 2013
WHAT IS THIS? I DON'T EVEN
October 30, 2012
Tetsuo the iron man is a film that is not for everybody. But if your like me and like the bizarre and weird then you will love this movie like i did. It does need your full attention though and it does need you to stretch your mind for awhile. But the film is only 67 minutes long so you won't suffer to much. This film has achieved what a lot of films don't especially for the budget they had. You can buy it on amazon and i say check it out, If you certainly want originality than this is also your film.
Cameron S

Super Reviewer

June 8, 2013
Part man, part machine; Shin'ya Tsukamoto's 'Tetsuo The Iron Man' is the perfect allegory for the industrial world we inhabit. It tells the story of a salary man, who, upon hitting a metal fetishist (earlier seen inserting scrap metal into himself) begins the transformation himself from man to machine.

Truly worthy of its avant garde classification, 'Tetsuo The Iron Man' is a testament to the originality that is unique to film and is an unequivocally intriguing and insane experience unlike any other. The artistic choices throughout the film give it a sense of uncontrollable madness, viewers are thrust into a black a white metal dystopia fraught with imaginative cinematography and visual, stop motion effects unlike any seen before. It's easy to occasionally feel lost during the film's 67 minute running time but that hardly takes away from the undeniable experience.
ZACHO D

Super Reviewer

July 4, 2010
An insane art house picture from Japan that has such uniqueness, vigor, and an important sublimital message about how our society is becoming more and more attached to technology. All of this blows your mind when you first see it and it easily makes Tetsuo: The Iron Man one of the best art house pictures in Cinema history. It is also very terrifying with its visuals.
May 16, 2013
Tetsuo is a little over an hour, but feels much longer - I don't know if that's a good thing or not. Ironman left me feeling like I just came out of a scrap yard tornado.
April 22, 2013
Fucked. An expertly done fusion between Experimental and Horror. It's a genre mind fuck.
Not for the weak of mind and heart, or easily eye-raped...this one's gonna affect you one way or another.
Make sure you're completely sober watching this one, or you might never come out.
Page 2 of 44
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile