Texas Chainsaw - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Texas Chainsaw Reviews

Page 2 of 4
A.A. Dowd
Time Out Chicago
January 10, 2013
When making a sequel to a beloved genre classic, it's generally unwise to include clips of the masterpiece you're attempting to live up to.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
January 9, 2013
An inane, insane horror movie but Alexandra Daddario makes it bearable.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Michael Nordine
Willamette Week
January 9, 2013
An artless exercise, but also sporadically successful in its attempts to expand on the Leatherface mythos in a new-ish way.
Full Review | Original Score: C
James Kendrick
Q Network Film Desk
January 9, 2013
math doesn't mean much in Texas Chainsaw, nor does logic, for that matter, or anything resembling originality or daring
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Graham Young
Birmingham Post
January 9, 2013
It feels more like a non-scary 'Scary Movie' spoof than the real deal, such is its lack of genuine tension.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/5
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)
January 8, 2013
Maybe it's due to ... lowered expectations, but I found "Texas Chainsaw 3-D" a mildly entertaining way to pass an hour and a half on a cold winter afternoon.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
January 7, 2013
Isn't as bad as you'd expect...but it's further evidence that the kindest cut would be to leave these old movies alone.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Siobhan Synnot
Scotsman
January 7, 2013
Don't call this a reimagining, because imagination is the last thing at work here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
George Bass
Total Film
January 7, 2013
Sadly, this leap onto the stereoscopic bandwagon marks a new low for the franchise, as far away in quality from the '74 original as it is in years.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Bilge Ebiri
New York Magazine/Vulture
January 7, 2013
Texas Chainsaw 3D isn't exactly good, but despite its many clichés and generic indulgences, you want to give it some points for trying.
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
January 7, 2013
Pardon me while I reassess my stance on the death penalty.
Brad Miska
Bloody Disgusting
January 7, 2013
This is the inherent problem with 'Texas Chainsaw 3D' [is that] not only is it not brutal, it's not fun either.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
January 7, 2013
[F]or it to work, one must set aside the most basic considerations of one's conscience as firmly as the screenwriters dismiss the entire plot and point of the original film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered
January 6, 2013
I wish I could say Texas Chainsaw 3D is the dark rebirth of a horror icon, but instead it's just another poorly written, feebly acted, terror devoid slasher flick with no rhyme or reason and it is not worthy of Leatherface's participation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Shaun Munro
What Culture
January 6, 2013
Another glorified remake in denial, Texas Chainsaw is an early contender for the worst film of 2013.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Mark Ramsey
MovieJuice!
January 6, 2013
"Let's all take our bare bellies to Texas! Maybe we can have someone mesquite barbecue our own ribs - the ones we haven't had surgically removed, I mean'
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
January 5, 2013
The original "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" leaves audiences feeling hollowed out, dispirited and dissolute. "Texas Chainsaw 3D" is simply a bummer for being a big nothing.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Nigel Floyd
Time Out
January 5, 2013
As pointless as one feared it might be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
David Jenkins
Little White Lies
January 5, 2013
Oh dear lord no. Generic, tension-free and lacking in any originality whatsoever. And the 3D is beyond useless.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5

Sky Movies
January 5, 2013
That it heads off the beaten track is to its credit - this is a farily self-aware affair - despite the ludicrous nature of the events.
Page 2 of 4