Opening

—— As Above/So Below Aug 29
33% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
80% The Congress Aug 29
72% Life Of Crime Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
39% If I Stay $15.7M
19% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

Premieres Tonight

—— The Cosmopolitans: Season One

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
57% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning Reviews

Page 1 of 872
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

July 5, 2009
Witness The Birth Of Fear.

The movie is very good...if you're into this kind of thing. It's nice to see a franchise splatter film that is intense and gory without being cheesy. Many of the current crop of splatter films are played intentionally cheesy for humor. Which is fine, but they shouldn't all be like that. This movie has some humor in it, but it's a darker humor, and not meant to be cheesy or campy.

In August, 1939, a worker goes into labor while working in a slaughterhouse and dies after a complicated labor, though the deformed child survives. The possibly orphaned baby is dumped in a garbage container and found by a beggar later, who brings him home. Along the years, the mentally retarded and disturbed boy called Thomas is raised by the Hewitt family in spite of having psychological problems as well as suffering from an unnamed skin disorder, later working in a meat packing plant. In July, 1969, when the facility is closed, the inhabitants move to other places, but the deformed, mentally childlike Thomas flies into a rage after being insulted and kills the foreman. His deranged brother (considered his uncle due to their age difference) executes the sheriff that is going to arrest Thomas, and assumes his identity, wearing his clothes,driving his car though the roads in Texas and entitling himself as Sheriff Hoyt. Meanwhile, the brothers Eric and Dean are traveling in a Jeep with their girlfriends Christie and Bailey, Eric to serve in Vietnam and Dean escaping to Mexico. When the group has a car accident, Hoyt arrests Eric, Dean and Bailey and brings them to his house. Christie follows them trying to rescue the trio, trapped in the house of sadistic and insane cannibals, in a trip of horror and gore.
TheDudeLebowski65
TheDudeLebowski65

Super Reviewer

August 30, 2011
Prequel to the Texas Chainsaw Massacre remake is a bland affair that even with the fact that it introduces an interesting back-story; it still fails in terms of quality horror films. The series took a more torture porn esque kind of turn with the original remake and with this entry as well, there is way more gore instead of pulse pounding terror. The prequel, like the remake relies on style versus substance and the result is a disappointing film that leaves horror fans wanting more out of a TCM movie. Acting wise, this film suffers from as poor cast that are pretty forgettable and there's nothing worthwhile here to really enjoy. Younger horror fans may enjoy it, but to those who love a well constructed horror film, they will be disappointed in the result of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning. Remakes and subsequent sequels tend to cheapen a horror fans experience by relying more on computerized special effects than on hand made effects of old school horror features. This might have worked, but unfortunately the film's script leaves a lot to be desired and I found it to be underdeveloped. Although it had an interesting idea, this film ultimately left a lot to be desired. In terms of effective terror, this is one that just doesn't have anything to offer to TCM fans. The film is poorly directed with an interesting, but lacking story, thus it just ends falling apart towards the end. If you've never seen this film or the original remake, you're definitely not missing much. Stick with the original trilogy; at least they were well done, and very entertaining. This film simply tries too hard, and in turn, it fails.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 23, 2011
Very scary. The guy really petrifys me and it's a film that will keep you on the edge of your seat. A must see!
Ken S

Super Reviewer

October 11, 2006
Just terrible and stupid
Coxxie M

Super Reviewer

March 21, 2009
aw man i would go to every show Dane Cook does for 2009 to sleep with Jordana Brewster
KJ P

Super Reviewer

October 3, 2010
The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: the beginning, is now, in my head, the beginning of the end of film. This is probably the worst horror film I have ever seen in my life. I apologize to the filmmakers for being so harsh, but I don't have any other word to use other than DREADFUL!
ScoopOnline
ScoopOnline

Super Reviewer

December 7, 2009
There are about 5 Movies based upon the events Texas Chainsaw Massacre. I liked this one.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

November 21, 2009
While it is nowhere near the perfection of the first remake, it definitely kept the style and the characters from it. It's a far simpler plot this time around, but it does answer a lot of questions about Leatherface and the rest of the Hewitt family that I found to be very interesting. It's an extremely fun movie and fans of the series won't be disappointed.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 18, 2009
It doesn't really achieve what it sets out to do. The beginning was supposed to explain why the family descended into their horrific madness. This is just another bog standard chapter in a franchise that's past it. Nice cinematography, OK acting, plenty of gore but unnecessary and unsubtle. I know it?s a horror but this film is too violent and shares none of the real terror of the original.
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

April 15, 2009
"Witness The Birth Of Fear"

On one last road trip before they're sent to serve in Vietnam, two brothers and their girlfriends get into an accident that calls their local sheriff to the scene. Thus begins a terrifying experience where the teens are taken to a secluded house of horrors, where a young, would-be killer is being nurtured.

REVIEW
A pointless film that presents an unnecessary and trite "beginning" story of one of horror's most infamous monsters, Leatherface and his cannibalistic clan. The reason they are cannibals: they can't afford food? Come on, what about that cow the kids hit? In all fairness though is any reason for cannibalism in this film's world a real good reason? No, but they could've tried harder. This film is also drained of all tension, since it is a prequel and since we know the police don't discover the Hewitt clan's deeds until Aug. 1973 we know that every person we are supposed to root for is going to die.

That said (and believe me I could go on) there are some great moments in the film. The push-up scene is gruesomely delightful in all its manic glee and the scene where we discover why Old Monty has no legs in the first film is one of those classic moments. R. Lee Ermey continues his self-righteous rant that he so perfected in "Full Metal Jacket" (for you who may not know he was in fact a real life Marine Drill Sergeant before that film). And lastly the scene with the Tea Lady is perfectly macabre.

This film was unnecessary and feels forced and completely out of sync with the decent enough for what it was 2003 remake. Last comment, This film is completely devoid of any real timeline connection to the 2003 film though. Supposedly the meat packing plant closed down in 1969, yet at the end of the remake Erin fights Thomas and cuts off his arm in a fully functional meat packing plant in August 1973. I guess it is possible for a new meat packing plant to have been built in that time, but based on the weariness of this film's story, I think it's an oversight.
Chris G

Super Reviewer

August 10, 2008
Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning is the terrible prequel to 2003's remake of the original TCM. This film is basically a remake of that film with the twist that everything gets explained in this one. TCM:TB is not a scary film. It's main goal is to try to disgust you with some gory visuals that fails on impact. This is your typical coattails sequel to cash in on its predecessor.
If you have ever wondered why films like Halloween and the original TCM are considered classics is that the villains in those films have no explanation. They are there stalking and killing. The mystery is what makes the films scary. Explaining everything is just like a magician revealing how he pulled the rabbit out of his hat.
_kelly .

Super Reviewer

February 2, 2008
could have been longer and less identical (more like less of a carbon copy) to its 2003 predecessor
thefog1331
thefog1331

Super Reviewer

June 5, 2007
Better than the remake but marred by a stupid, telegraphed, unbelievable ending.
jagfire
jagfire

Super Reviewer

August 26, 2007
If you paid to see this, go find a rope in your backyard. Now, make a little knot/circle with the rope. Hang it on your door, then put the rope around your neck.
Lanning :

Super Reviewer

August 20, 2007
This is a perfect example of what's wrong with the horror genre these days: not enough fresh ideas anymore. If there's anything truly horrifying about this movie, I missed it. Pretty stale stuff, like almost every "horror" movie coming out. I give Ermey credit for being a great a-hole, but he definitely ain't scary. Think Sergi López in Pan's Labyrinth if you want to see someone who's really scary. Now that character is far and away more terrifying than anything you'll see here. I do, however, have to give this way below-average movie one big star because: Hey! It's Jordana Brewster : ) If it weren't for good old Jordana, Walter, I might not have been able to sit through the whole thing.
Michael G

Super Reviewer

October 5, 2006
Uhg. This movie was so painful. The contrived and gimmicky plot elements were awful. The connections with the other Chainsaw Massacre were completely lackluster and I was really hoping to give a shit. Instead all I got was a sorry rehash (namely R. Lee Ermey) of the original and the remake. Admittedly it was a good-looking movie and it began to pick up about 10 minutes before it ended, but it was an all too common case of too little too late. Not even numerous shots of Jordana Brewster's ass crack made me care about this one. And that supposed to be shocking ending made me pray that the beginning is the end. (Cymbal crashes)
Dean !

Super Reviewer

July 4, 2007
A very good horror but almost identical to the recent remake version. Doesn't go indepth at all to show "The beginning"
Page 1 of 872
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile