• Unrated, 4 hr.
  • Documentary
  • Directed By:
    Adam Curtis
    In Theaters:
    Aug 12, 2005 Limited
  • Independent Feature Project

Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
53% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Century of the Self Reviews

Page 2 of 4
Ben G.
July 21, 2014
Essential viewing for most people. Clear-minded and penetrating, it puts most modern attitudes into perspective.
November 26, 2013
Curits probably overstates some of the individual influences, but his thesis is still thought provoking and worth watching.
July 24, 2013
Extremely interesting even though it can be quite dry at times.
March 28, 2012
essencial. permite peceber porque que existem pessoas que parece que andam a dormir e outras no
November 14, 2011
perhaps the most enlightening documentary i've seen in years. instead of just describing a system that is in place, it comprehensively determines how those systems developed.

it describes the cause of multiple contemporary social and political issues. it explains how the deficit crunch developed as an issue. why governments in europe and the us will have trouble implementing austerity measures. it is even pertinent in canada; it describes why left wing political parties have abandoned their core values and have instead sought to placate swing voters in the middle class (for instance, the BC NDP's abandonment of environmental issues to favour of lowered fees),

also, instead of painting the issue two dimensionally, it instead recognises the inherent complexities. really, i can't say enough about this documentary.
June 5, 2009
a brilliant series. a must see
Remi L

Super Reviewer

December 3, 2008
This documentary, though dry (VERY dry), cemented my belief that PR just programs you to want things you don't need, or believe things that aren't true
cgyford
January 17, 2008
Curtis's expose of Freudianism's use in undermining democracy and controlling the populace establishes him as the political documentarian of our age.
August 10, 2007
An absolutely mesmerising documentary on the influence of Freud's ideas on the business and political worlds of the 20th century. Disturbing on many levels but beautifully put together, Curtis paints a depressing but i feel utterly accurate picture of humanity on a global level.

Forget that fat guy with the baseball cap - this is where the real meat is. Watch - watch - watch.
imranali7777
July 6, 2007
Another excellent documentary from Adam Curtis. Blows you away with the information provided! Simply Stunning!
March 24, 2007
so scary that it's AWESOME...A MUST WATCH!
Page 2 of 4
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile