• PG-13, 2 hr.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    David Fincher
    In Theaters:
    Oct 1, 2010 Wide
    On DVD:
    Jan 11, 2011
  • Columbia Pictures

Critic Review - House Next Door

I've read a lot about The Social Network at this point, mostly raves about how it supposedly captures The Way We Live Now, but no one has really zeroed in on how deliberately alienating it is.

February 23, 2011 Full Review Source: House Next Door | Comments (64)
House Next Door

Comments

Superzone

Link O'Fett

Thanks for bringing the rating down to 96% asshole.

Feb 24 - 10:11 AM

Anthony M.

Anthony Musser

Really? Are you kidding? There's no way in bloody hell the Social Network deserves to share the same rating as Goodfellas and Dog Day Afternoon. No fucking way in hell. TSN isn't a bad movie, but it's overrated as fuck.

Feb 27 - 03:35 AM

pinkyfoo

Jon Jonson

fuck

Feb 27 - 09:10 AM

glennfloods

Glenn Floods

LOL Too right!

Jul 7 - 03:05 AM

Ken

Kenneth W.

There's no such thing as "overrated". Such a notion is childish.

Feb 28 - 11:53 AM

Colin Chen

Colin Chen

Aug 30 - 10:17 PM

Aaron B.

Aaron Berry

Um, yes, there is. If something gets too much respect than it deserves, that's overrated. For example, "Avatar."

Feb 12 - 03:39 PM

Dylan Rau

Dylan Rau

O_O wait what?

Mar 31 - 02:37 AM

glennfloods

Glenn Floods

"There's no such thing as "overrated". Such a notion is childish." I find your comment very naive.

Jul 7 - 03:06 AM

dan t.

dan teasdale

Tsn is a masterpiece. Get over it

Mar 3 - 06:34 AM

Jay P.

Jay Perreault

The Social Network is a great movie, not a masterpiece. Anthony M is true, there is no way this movie deserves 97% / 9/10! Most of Hitchcock's classics don't even got this mark. Are you telling me that this movie was better than North by northwest, Rear Window or Strangers on a train?

May 5 - 06:43 AM

dan t.

dan teasdale

Yes i am.

Sep 9 - 03:46 PM

David Tanny

David Tanny

I'm pretty sure, that in time, The Social Network will be regarded as a "Masterpiece".

Nov 19 - 07:52 PM

Tommy H.

Tommy Hatcher

For what it's worth, I completely agree with you, Anthony.

Sep 13 - 08:04 AM

Tommy H.

Tommy Hatcher

For what it's worth, I completely agree with you, Anthony. I'm willing to bet that everyone who goes crazy defending this movie probably spends, like, 12 hours a day on Facebook lol. And for the record, I had a Facebook for about 6 months than I went through the painful process of having it permanently deleted. That was over a year ago. I hope the hacktivists actuaaly do destroy Facebook lol. But of course, that's never going to happen. Facebook will destroy us before we destroy it.

Sep 13 - 08:12 AM

Tommy H.

Tommy Hatcher

For what it's worth, I completely agree with you, Anthony. I'm willing to bet that everyone who goes crazy defending this movie probably spends, like, 12 hours a day on Facebook lol. And for the record, I had a Facebook for about 6 months than I went through the painful process of having it permanently deleted. That was over a year ago. I hope the hacktivists actually do destroy Facebook lol. But of course, that's never going to happen. Facebook will destroy us before we destroy it.

Sep 13 - 08:14 AM

Tommy H.

Tommy Hatcher

For what it's worth, I completely agree with you, Anthony. I'm willing to bet that everyone who goes crazy defending this movie probably spends, like, 12 hours a day on Facebook lol. And for the record, I had a Facebook account for about 6 months than I went through the painful process of having it permanently deleted. That was over a year ago. I hope the hacktivists actually do destroy Facebook lol. But of course, that's never going to happen. Facebook will destroy us before we destroy it.

Sep 13 - 08:15 AM

Tommy H.

Tommy Hatcher

For what it's worth, I completely agree with you, Anthony. I'm willing to bet that everyone who goes crazy defending this movie probably spends, like, 12 hours a day on Facebook lol. And for the record, I had a Facebook account for about 6 months then I went through the painful process of having it permanently deleted. That was over a year ago. I hope the hacktivists actually do destroy Facebook lol. But of course, that's never going to happen. Facebook will destroy us before we destroy it.

Sep 13 - 08:16 AM

Tommy H.

Tommy Hatcher

For what it's worth, I completely agree with you, Anthony. I'm willing to bet that everyone who goes crazy defending this movie probably spends, like, 12 hours a day on Facebook lol. And for the record, I had a Facebook account for about 6 months then I went through the painful process of having it permanently deleted. That was over a year ago. I hope the hacktivists actually do destroy Facebook. But of course, that's never going to happen. Facebook will destroy us before we destroy it.

Sep 13 - 08:17 AM

David Tanny

David Tanny

By your post, you didn't get the movie...

Nov 19 - 07:48 PM

CreedsDelight

Matt Goodman

I watch this movie and don't compare it to other movies. You guys who do are ignorant pricks. Fuck all of you fags.

Jun 26 - 01:26 PM

glennfloods

Glenn Floods

To you think before you write? It's a great movie BECAUSE you don't compare it with any other movie? Seriously? In other words you have no basis of comparison and therefore no valid opinion; just nonsense you feel a need to share?

Jul 7 - 03:09 AM

Suberkin

werwer fcdvb

so your saying a film is only good if it can be compared to other films that already did what it does... do you think before you speak?

Aug 26 - 12:24 AM

rcdvgx

rob fecteau

why do they allow people to, post reviews at anytime? the DVD has been out for weeks. If somebody posts a review of a movie months after its been available to the masses how can they be taken seriously as a critic? Has RT really lowered the bar so much that anybody with a website can post a review?

Feb 24 - 01:28 PM

Ed Tom B.

Ed Tom Bell

They have to allow it to a certain extent. Because if they didn't, classics like Taxi Driver and Gone With The Wind wouldn't have any reviews posted. And they've been available for decades. Now does that fact make this critic any less wrong? Of course not, but no one is actually taking him seriously anyway.

Feb 24 - 04:01 PM

rcdvgx

rob fecteau

i thought about that. i meant to include a caveat saying "recent movies" but i forgot. of course you need that for older movies that dont have many original reviews left. but if the movie came out 6 months ago and was available in wide release during the span of this site existing, and the critics activity? then i dont see the point. at best, its irrelevant. at worst it shows professional disregard. Why should i treat somebody as an expert that got around to reviewing something months after millions of the public and over 250 of his peers saw and reviewed already? I guess you could say im one of those people that wants RT to reduce its critics but i feel that anybody that posts a review more than a montha after its release shouldnt really be counted (unless its a DVD site)

Feb 24 - 04:47 PM

glennfloods

Glenn Floods

Actually those capable of thinking for ourselves have already reached conclusions similar to this reviewer's. Perhaps it's a testament to the power of capitalist propaganda that so many irrational and sycophantic Facebook uses feel the need to put this corporatist spin piece on a pedestal.

Jul 7 - 03:13 AM

Carlos A.

Carlos Arboleda

FUCK
YOU
!!

Feb 24 - 02:15 PM

Carlos A.

Carlos Arboleda

FUCK
YOU
!!

Feb 24 - 02:15 PM

Anthony M.

Anthony Musser

How eloquent.

Feb 27 - 03:36 AM

leonardo

leonardo m

FUCK YOU!!

Feb 24 - 03:49 PM

Nicole G.

Nicole Giglione

I agree this is a great movie but it's nothing to beat this guy up about. I mean it's a 96... When it gets to a certain level it doesn't really make a difference anymore. It will probably get 4 stars so what does it matter anyways

Feb 24 - 05:23 PM

Charlie T.

Charlie Tyrganst

I see some of your points...unlike most people on this website, I actually took the time to read your review (multiple times in fact).

However, although I see some of your points, I don't agree with any of them. I suppose it is a matter of taste...but I thought that the deliberate alienation aspect of the film was part of its brilliance and made the overall themes of networking and friendship so much more endearing at the small moments of warmth, and it made the downfall of our protagonists relationship so much more haunting.

Feb 24 - 09:52 PM

Ed Tom B.

Ed Tom Bell

Exactly. Have you ever been on Facebook before? Talk about alienating.

Feb 26 - 03:23 AM

Moatilliatta

Dayne Rzeszkowski

I'll just have you refer to your specific and imperial evidence and research into that bold and otherwise (without all the massive evidence to the contrary you obviously have to make such statements) sweeping statement about the fact that you are a very small minority if you read the whole review.

YOU elevated yourself, via means of naivety and ignorance, to the point of being a minority due to reading the review. Not facts, not logic, not evidence, just biased, subjective you.

You cannot make such sweeping statements about who read what and when and how many times without evidence, and given your entire argument is centred upon this factor as a major basis, you ultimately lack in credibility and relevance.

Apr 21 - 08:23 AM

Carlos A.

Carlos Arboleda

is this guy on a mission to give rotten reviews to every best picture nominee?
3 down, 7 to go

Feb 26 - 02:47 PM

Anthony M.

Anthony Musser

Feb 27 - 03:31 AM

Anthony M.

Anthony Musser

I, for one, totally agree with you, Dan. If "Social Network" is your favorite movie, I'd reccommend Citizen Kane instead. It'll knock your balls off, like shit.

Feb 27 - 03:33 AM

Wisenheimer

Joshua Dinsmore

Haha

Mar 16 - 05:06 PM

The.Watcher

The Watcher

Wait, hang on. Did you just diss Citizen Kane, you motherfucker?

Dec 13 - 09:48 PM

Nayab Babar

Nayab Babar

No. He didn't. Learn to read.

Aug 2 - 04:48 PM

nigelguest

Nigel Guest

From the language and tone of the of the comments on this review, I assume I've joined a group of 14 year-olds, or slightly older nerds. Never mind. To me, this review is a platform for airing Mr. Callahan's knowledge of movies, rather than a serious criticism of Social Network.

Feb 27 - 02:22 PM

Moatilliatta

Dayne Rzeszkowski

The fact you felt you had to mention your estimation of the average age of the people on here says to me you are a 20-something moron with no friends who clings to the false notion that he is somewhat intelligent.

It says you are insecure. You say 'never mind' as though you have brushed past the 'fact' that the average age of the poster on this forum is 14, yet given the transmission via which I was exposed to your statements was in written format, you very much had a choice and made a choice about the specific content covered, and the specific wording with which such content was described.

Therefore adding 'never mind' is merely an attempt (vain mind you) to convince the reader you aren't highly agitated and affected by your perception that the average age of the poster on this forum is 14. That you left the critical text of such individuals within your text-post proves the opposite.

Apr 21 - 08:28 AM

nigelguest

Nigel Guest

From the language and tone of the of the comments on this review, I assume I've joined a group of 14 year-olds, or slightly older nerds. Never mind. To me, this review is a platform for airing Mr. Callahan's knowledge of movies, rather than a serious criticism of Social Network.

Feb 27 - 02:26 PM

waqas c.

waqas chohan

Get Free Account and Download Movies Free HD http://www.graboid.com/affiliates/scripts/click.php?a_aid=77206970&a_bid=ea47d8a0

Download Free Movies www.smartmovies.us

Feb 28 - 08:12 AM

joe s.

joe smith

I haven't seen this movie and I don't plan on seeing it judging from boring ass trailers and the fact that people are basically brainwashed into seeing it.

Mar 1 - 06:41 PM

Adam G.

Adam Giese

This is actually the only negetive review of the movie where I can see his point. I disagree (I very much disagree, in fact) but at least he says something worth thinking about.

Mar 3 - 04:18 PM

Ram-Jam-Joe

joe adams

Oh man, basing your opinion of a film on unproven expectations others have given you. People will totally take you seriously as a film critic.

Keep that seat warm at Toxic Universe's office.

Mar 4 - 08:41 AM

manny M.

manny Morais

Thats the point. The movie is supposed to be very alienating. We live in a very alienating society. Thats why people have been saying it captures the way we live.

Mar 6 - 07:31 AM

Rash Hunt

Rash Hunt

The Social Network is anti-social? Get out of here.

Mar 6 - 09:47 AM

Andy H.

Andy Hatt

Its one thing to make a movie that everyone found ok and enjoyable.

Its another to make a movie that some people find great and others find terrible.


The latter is worth much more.
This is a movie everyone likes, but few love.

If you catch my drift.

Mar 10 - 11:09 AM

Wisenheimer

Joshua Dinsmore

Huh?

Mar 14 - 10:52 AM

Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile