The Art of Flight 3D - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Art of Flight 3D Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ March 28, 2015
Spectacular landscapes, amazing snow boarding. Could have done without some of the commentary.
½ April 21, 2014
This movie has breathtaking cinematography, presents amazing camera angles and intense vivid slow motion action in the most remote locations in the world. It's really unreal some of the stuff in "Art of Flight", it takes nature and snowboarding and combines them into something magical.
August 30, 2013
Visually stunning. What a rush.
August 10, 2013
I didn't watch the 3D version. I watched the 2D version (that's now in Super HD on Netflix!), but it's so crisp. Yeah, I'm jealous these guys get to fly in private planes and choppers to some of the coolest locales around the world, but in doing so there are some awesome ariel shots of some breathtaking terrain. The typical editing of the jump sequences (slow-mo at lift-off, slow even more when they tweak the grab) gets a little old, but the gorgeous scenery and the crazy skill of the riders makes up for it. Oh, and it has a pretty sick soundtrack. Not sure if it's coincidence or what, but there's a little overlap in the song selection between The Art of Flight and the latest SSX release.
May 10, 2013
Great music, amazing shots and of course world-class snowboarding.
March 2, 2013
best at its genre...
February 14, 2013
Best 3D movie even Cineflex was made for 3D. Breathtaking 3D!
February 12, 2013

Art of Flight is about a group of snowboarders, including pro Travis Rice, who travel the world to unique locations looking for the perfect places to try new outrageous tricks

Plot Summary

Art of Flight had a very original plot. In the movie, they travel to places like Alaska, Chile, and Canada. They travel to Alaska first and can't go boarding right away because the weather isn't snowboarding weather. So to keep from getting bored, they do activities like shooting guns, throwing axes, and making a bonfire. Then the next day they go down the mountains there and do some crazy tricks. They then travel to Chile so the can "follow winter". While there they do insane tricks on some of the steepest slopes. After that they go to Canada and find out that there are a lot of avalanches occurring there. They go to the top of the mountain and are about to go down when a bunch of fog forms and they can't see t a thing so they end up getting stuck. Throughout the movie they show them all doing some super cool end crazy tricks.

Documentary Elements

I think the theme of this movie is adventure is what you make it. I think this because they somewhat say it throughout and by watching the movie, that is what I got from it. This documentary also had a lot of b-roll along with plenty of interviews.

Technical Elements

This documentary had some of the most unique camera angles and editing I have ever seen. They had angles with helmet cams, cameras from helicopters, and hand held filming. They also included very engaging music and a lot of slow motion that made the watcher really interested in the movie.


Many people think that documentaries are very boring but this was one of the coolest movies I have ever seen. I really encourage any one who likes snowboarding or even extreme sports to watch this. Anyone who watches it will really enjoy it I believe.

-GU, 8th Grade Student
January 18, 2012
Film is more a story of the life of a professional snowboarder, with an unlimited budget, than it is about snowboarding. The images from the film are breath taking and you can tell a lot of thought went to getting them made. However the film gets a bit repetitive.

Also after watching the behind the scenes, I wish they had scraped a few of the storyline and went to Europe for some shredding.
January 30, 2013
prelepi detalji i predeli. price bez
December 3, 2012
I will pass on this one.
November 30, 2012
Here are 'The Red Bull Guys'!! A Breath Taking Documentary with arresting visuals and Awesome Cinematography. A true adrenaline junkie!
November 9, 2012
Great extreme documentary movie with tons of emotions & spectacular nature frame! Its electricity adventure to the world of snow!
October 16, 2012
Excellent movie. Appeals to snowboarders and public alike. Stunning shots, and refreshing take on regular "action sports porn"
September 26, 2012
Pretty freaken great cinematography. I was impressed. Oh and there is snowboarding too.
September 6, 2012
Great movie for those who are into this kinda stuff. Cinematography was amazing, truly a great piece of film
December 31, 2011
I wish the documentarian style was more consistent, but I can't complain about watching the best riders in the world just killing it for 1.5 hours in HD.
½ June 13, 2012
While at times it seems like a high definition Jackass, Art of Flight provides the audience with jaw dropping video footage capturing the beauty of some of the most remote places on earth and man's trek through its landscape.
March 7, 2012
Amazing film, that anyone interested in any sort of sporting activity should enjoy.
Page 2 of 3