Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
53% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
7% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
88% Bears Apr 18
58% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
47% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
41% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
72% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

Premieres Tonight

100% Orphan Black: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

100% Da Vinci's Demons: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

The Big Bang Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

November 11, 2013
Watchable, but just barely. It must have been an intriguing script, because it attracted talent who surely had other options. So, let's pin the blame on a pretentious director who was totally NOT in control of his material. This started out interesting, and quirky, but went downhill at lightening speed. What a waste of talent...
bbcfloridabound
bbcfloridabound

Super Reviewer

March 19, 2013
This must be my Bad Movie week. This one sucks, making 2 in a row. 3=19=13 1 star
Al S

Super Reviewer

May 15, 2011
A smart, sharp and outragiously weird crime-thriller that`s loaded with a great sense of classic film noir style, ideas and star-power. One of the most original and stylish films of the year. It`s strange, bizare and insanely enjoyable. A wickedly enjoyable and exciting edge of your seat thriller that`s just alot of fun to watch. It bends the laws of physics but still manages to be a clever and entertaining suspense-filled detective story that`s packed with great characters and humor. It`s hard-boiled and wickedly funny. Its a film that dose not try to be anything else but its own. The all-star cast is brilliant. Antonio Banderas is fantastic, this is his coolest and most enjoyable performance since The Mask Of Zorro. Sam Elliot is wild and outstanding. Thomas Kretschmann, Delroy Lindo and William Fitchtner are excellent. An explosive and unstoppable good time
366weirdmovies
366weirdmovies

Super Reviewer

August 14, 2011
An L.A. private eye (Antonio Banderas) goes looking for a missing stripper and uncovers a twisted plot involving the Russian mob, stolen diamonds, and the search for the God particle. The extreme stylization and ultra-quirky twists with will make it just watchable for some but completely intolerable for others. Film noir fans won't be fans of this: the faux-Raymond Chandler narration is pathetic, and other than ethnicity Banderas brings nothing new to the hard-boiled detective character.
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

April 20, 2011
The search for the ultimate missing person ends... at the beginning of time.

Very very weak. I'm sure the director was trying something new but it failed badly. The story is very badly written and the acting, well let's just say there wasn't any. Nice cast gone to waste.

The private detective from Los Angeles Ned Cruz is interrogated by LAPD Detectives Poley, Frizer and Skeres. Cruz is blind after being hit on the face and asks many times whether "she is alive". Cruz explains to the detectives that after a lost case of his client and Hollywood star Adam Nova, he is tired and returns to his office to rest. Out of the blue, the washed up boxer Anton 'The Pro' Protopov comes to his office to hire him to find his missing girlfriend and former stripper Lexie Persimmon. Cruz recalls that five years ago, the Russian mobster Skinny Faddeev gave 30 million dollars in blood diamond in advance to him to lose a fight against his nephew. However, Anton killed the nephew with a punch and when Skinny was found death, he was sentenced to life. While in prison, Lexie writes two hundred and sixty letters to him and they fall in love for each other. When a criminal confesses the murder of Skinny, Anton is released but he does not find Lexie. Ned Cruz starts the investigation and finds a lead that Lexie might be in San Celeritas, New Mexico. Cruz notes that a black Lincoln is following him and he believes that the Russian Mafia is chasing him. However, he heads to the spot and in the Planck 's Constant Coffer, he has an affair with the waitress Autumn Reeser that helps him. After reading the letters, Cruz becomes obsessed for Lexie. When Cruz is invited to have dinner with the delusional millionaire Simon Kestral, he is introduced to his wife Julie Kestral and the geek physicist Niels Geck and he believes he has resolved the case. However, nothing is what seems to be and Cruz only discovers the truth when it is late.
Matt G

Super Reviewer

March 16, 2011
I wanted to like this, I really did, but this noir film fails as an action, as a romance, and as a film in general. I still don't understand the plot.
SC007
SC007

Super Reviewer

August 30, 2012
This film definitely took me by surprise. It kind of reminded me a little bit like Sin City and little bit like Southland Tales. The film has great special effects. The film is very colorful. The opening reminded me of the opening of No Way Out. The end of the film kind of reminded me a little bit of the ending from The Cooler.

Antonio Banderas is great in the P.I. role. William Fichtner, Delroy Lindo, and Thomas Kretschmann are great as the cops in the film. Sam Elliot provides some good supporting work here. Snoop Dog is also good in his supporting role. Even Robert Maillet, who was great in Sherlock Holmes, does a great job here.

I definitely recommend this unique film.
Chris B

Super Reviewer

August 10, 2011
Full Review Coming!
youngnastyman88
November 8, 2011
It's sad to see Antonio going and making movies that just don't hit the theaters anymore. But oddly at the same time if it wasn't for him this movie just wouldn't have worked for me. Ahhhh conflicts. An unusual script filled with sometimes strangely funny references to cosmological and particle physics, and a jazzy style of direction lead to an inexpensive, yet engaging private detective story. I really liked the noir style of the movie, but it looses a bit in the end. Nice and complicated plot that keeps you in mystery until the end. The use of special effects is absolutely genius. They are done on a lower budget but also done in such away to make it work. It makes it unearthly and surreal. The director is playing with smoke, light and colors in such a way that the outcome is just beautiful. Given all the metaphors and science lessons wrapped in a noir plot pretty much makes this Donnie Darko meets Angel Heart. Definitely not for everyone but I enjoyed it and look forward to watching it again.

PS. One of the most interesting sex scenes you'd ever see. Hot bodies and a lesson in atomic fusion all at the same time. Can't beat that.
justv1
May 25, 2011
what the heck just happened was all I could think to say about this film... what, who, where, when....
February 18, 2014
I just watched it. It's a lot of fun. What are all those people so upset about? Relax, guys. It's a cool movie.
March 5, 2013
The Big Bang was a visual and intellectual feast made from Raymond Chandler's Farewell My Lovely, and an example of why I often like to watch films that critics pan and audiences don't normally like, because my taste is often different from that of so-called "normal" people. Sometimes the movie in question really is one that I agree only rates a single star, but other times I'm delighted by a film that I, at least, love, and this was one of those times. So, I'll keep watching films nobody else likes in the hope of finding a treasure like this one. If you want to find a prince, ya gotta kiss a lot of toads.
Marter
February 8, 2013
A film with the title of "The Big Bang" has to include some references to physics, right? That has to be a rule. And if it isn't, The Big Bang certainly wants to make it one. There are so many references that you might get the impression that the film is smarter than it really is. If you're overwhelmed by terms you might not be familiar with, you might start to appreciate the film simply because you don't understand what it's talking about. Truthfully, it is kind of an intelligent neo-noir, but not because of its references to science.

It's smart because of its plot, which has enough turns to always keep you guessing, and because of its lead character, Ned (Antonio Banderas), who has a smart mouth. He begins the film as a captive man, held that way by three detectives, Poley (William Fichtner), Skeres (Delroy Lindo) and Frizer (Thomas Kretschmann). They're interrogating him, believing he knows something about something, and are determined to find out both somethings. He then begins the tale of how he, a private investigator, set out on a quest to find a woman, and what he'd find as he got closer to his goal.

Mostly what he finds are some cameos by semi-recognizable actors/entertainers. Snoop Dogg plays a porn director who gets one scene of dialogue, and one scene of hanging dead from a ceiling. James Van Der Beek gets one scene before he also exits. Sam Elliot, Autumn Reeser, Seinna Guillory and the three detectives all get a bit more screen time, but they're hardly leads. It's Banderas' flick from start to finish, and everyone else is just along for the ride.

Part of the problem that comes from this narration style is that we know Ned has to be alive in order for him to tell us the story. He can't die early on, or even be gravely injured, because it means that he can't be captured by these detectives and forced to tell us the bulk of the plot. It removes a lot of tension from a few of the scenes, although his snarky retorts to everyone at all times also does that, so I suppose it's not big loss.

I actually quite liked Ned as a character, and not only because he was being played by Antonio Banderas. He's a suave man who knows exactly how much he can get away with in any situation. His wisecracking is about half of the reason I enjoyed The Big Bang at all. I associate well with this type of person, and making him the lead made me happy. The sarcasm drips from his mouth, ready to strike at any given instant, and it's so enjoyable to listen to him taunt everyone around him, even when not in a position to do so.

One could probably make the argument that he's an unreliable narrator, and that he didn't actually say these things to these people at the time. I don't buy that, however, as he says the same sort of things to the detectives, too, and still somehow manages to get away with it. "Diamonds," he tells them. "If you kill me, you'll never learn about the diamonds." That is his safety word, and he clings to it like a monkey to a tree: Loosely and inconsistently, often swinging away from his safety net in pursuit of higher, better ones. That simile didn't work at all, now did it?

The second half of why The Big Bang didn't feel like a waste of my time was the plot, which introduced a lot of cameos that I found fun, and also had a couple of twists in the story which were enjoyable. I wasn't putting in a lot of brainpower while watching this, admittedly, but I was surprised once or twice by the plot. And, yes, seeing Snoop Dogg and Sam Elliot appear did make me giggle, especially the latter, who plays a billionaire trying to create the God Particle.

I'm not sure The Big Bang is entirely successful, as it does a lot of meandering and appears to be building up to something more than it does, but I still had a good time. I suppose, in this day and age, I'm partial to any film trying to resurrect the film noir of old, even if it doesn't do a great job. It's not as thrilling and doesn't boast the same sense of mystery and intrigue that one would hope for. But is it kind of clever and enjoyable? Sure, I think so.

I've heard from more than one person that Banderas' dialogue was difficult to understand at times. I didn't have much of a problem with it, to be honest, although he does have a fairly heavy accent and does mumble at times. You shouldn't have any trouble understanding the plot anyway, so you don't need to hear every word that Banderas says. All you really need are the sarcastic retorts that he throws left and right. And those come through clear as day.

The Big Bang is an enjoyable neo-noir that doesn't take itself too seriously, throws a couple of plot twists your way, and has a few cameos that you'll definitely appreciate, assuming you're a fan of C-list actors. It's really quite a funny film, in large part to Banderas' character's constant sarcasm in situations which do not require it. It has a bunch of physics references that some audience members will appreciate -- while others will pick them apart and say "that's not how it really works." It meanders a touch, but overall, I had some fun with it.
filmhipster.com
October 15, 2012
Tony Krantz hasn't the faintest idea on how to direct a movie - the dude thinks he's Robert Rodriguez all of a sudden...Antonio Banderas should stick to the 'Puss in Boots' franchise.
SarfarazAbbasi
August 28, 2012
The Big Bang is a mystery/suspense film directed by Tony Krantz from the screenplay by Erik Jendresen .Movie stars Antonio Banderas in the lead role, along with Sam Elliott.

Ned Cruz (Antonio) is L.A. based PI, he is given a job to find girl named Lexie Persimmon, Ned doesn't even know how Lexie looks? As he starts investigating, more people fall dead. A twelfth richest man in the world Simon Kestral (Sam Elliot) seems to be linked to this entire scenario. Simon is mad about finding "the god particle" by recreating exact situation in which the universe may have formed.

Antonio looked really miserable as macho man, maybe I think it was because there were no action scenes in this film, but he kept driving a fantastic car, wearing half-sleeve, promptly drawing out gun at nothing. Unbelievably pathetic interrogation scenes; this whole thing, is to blame for boring us to death. This is simply odd material to come out.
July 31, 2012
It held my interest like a melting ice cream cone with candied sprinkles drizzled down the face of a bleeding comatose diabetic. If that makes any sense to you then so will this (straight to the $5. bin) film.
June 16, 2012
Perhaps a bit odd at times, but I found this movie to be interesting enough to hold my attention through two bags of microwavable popcorn and a two liter bottle of Diet Coke. My cat also seemed to like it.
June 14, 2012
Film noir with spectacular colors. Great mix of physics and cheesy. Flashback and forth was a bit annoying. Fun ride.
May 21, 2012
That's just an average movie even below average movie
March 19, 2012
Direct to Video or B movies used to mean a bad story, b or c list stars, and mediocre action/horror/effects. The 1970's, 1980's, and the early 1990's were the hay day for these kinds of films. Films such as Piranha and Piranha II, Space Rage, Moon 44, Rising Storm, and the endless serial killer/horror movies to name a few. Things began to change in the mid 1990's and the invention of the DVD, but I really believe it was the endless the many B movie companies, and the Big ones seeing the chance to make money decided to get involved also, which put more money and better stars into the movies. Stars like Eric Roberts, Keith David, Val Kilmer, Michael Maidson, Roy Schieder, Samuel L. Jackson, James Woods, and above average to good films like End Game, Unthinkable, The Peacekeeper, Chaos, Executive Target, Edison, and Streets of Blood to name a few. Direct to DVD isn't a bad thing anymore and a quiet a few of them are as good if not better than films being release in theaters now, which leads me to The Big Bang.

The Big Bang is a suspense/drama/comedy starring Antonio Banderas, William Fichtner, Sienna Guillory, Thomas Kretschmann, and Delroy Lindo. The plot follows Ned Cruz (Antonio Banderas) waking up in a police interrogation room with three police officers Detective Poley (William Fichtner), Detective Skeres (Deloroy Lindo), and Dectective Frizer (Thomas Kretschmann). The three detectives begin to question Ned, and Ned begins his story which he tells in the first person and narrates it. The story starts up when private detective Ned Cruz is finishing up a case for a high profile and eccentric actor Johnny Nova played well by James Van Der Beek. What ensues is funny as Johnny Nova's house blows up after Ned leaves with his payment nearly killing him. Ned is questioned by Det Frizer but let go. Ned returns to his office and about to head out when Anton Protopov (Robert Maillet) asks Ned to find a woman names Lexie Persimmon (Sienna Guillory) who had been writing him in prison. The thrilling suspense/drama ensues mixed beautifully with comedy.

The acting was superb, although Kretschmann, Lindo, and Fichtner don't have to do much in the film. That being said their still brought out their A games, and made their characters interesting. Banderas was excellent in this film mixing a straight face with comedy wonderfully. In my opinion the minor actors steal the show. Sam Elliott (Simon Kestral) playing a recluse billionaire, Robert Maillet who is a huge and scary man plays a very likable character. Jimmi Simpson (Niels Geck) who plays the lead scientist for Simon's experiment. Then there is Sienna Guillory the beautiful actress who by the end the movie has stole the show with her beauty and acting. There is even Snoop Dog who plays a porn director who did a good job and as always enjoyed his scenes.

There wasn't that much action in the movie, but it works for this film. I find that most Hollywood films coming out now try to stuff action down our throats. I can understand why most Americans now don't have long attention spans so studios have to have explosion, car chase, or someone being killed every five minutes. I think that hurts films. It takes away from the story, the actors, and characters, which makes a good film into an average one, or a bad film into an average one. The Big Bang doesn't try to stuff violence and action down your throats. It doesn't have to, it has a great story, with good acting, and decent action.

Overall this is a great film, and better than many movies that have come out into the theaters recently. I gave this film 5/5 stars and recommend everyone see this. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile