The Bunny Game - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Bunny Game Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Francisco G.
Super Reviewer
½ November 3, 2012
Obnoxious, pretentious beyond belief, annoying, loud: it uses violence and sexploitation the way it should never be used. There's absolutly no point to it other than to make you sick and even at that it fails miserably. Hoping the guy who made this will stay away from a movie camera for good.
½ August 5, 2012
AL's Disclaimer: Don't watch The Bunny Game unless you are one of my select sicko friends. That being said, I actually didn't find The Bunny Game all that disturbing. Exquisitely filmed with breathtaking/haunting Black and White cinematography, the film is intelligent and brutal, but I ultimately felt like it didn't build towards a truly brutal conclusion like such films should. It starts off with an absolutely brilliant pairing of shots that equate suffocation with rough oral sex. And the film's opening is ultimately more interesting than where it goes. The Bunny Game itself is interesting but is too short and not elaborated enough. A solid effort at artistic yet brutal transgressive cinema, The Bunny Game just didn't quite reach the heights that it could have.
December 12, 2014
terrifying grotesque but sordidly brilliant. won't spoil it for you but for those who love to be shocked they will love it. A great mix of cool editing terror and horror will leave you wondering how this will all end and left me gutted it finished!
March 5, 2014
There's no reason to watch this unless you feel like losing all moral integrity. Turn your TV or computer off. Read a book. You're better than this.
½ March 7, 2014
Complete garbage. I am sure the people behind this crap will justify it by saying it makes some kind of social statement. Dont waste your time unless you are a torture porn idiot.
October 7, 2013
It lacked much of any plot, and the plot that was there was absolutely sick. Even though the acting was spot on, it was ruined by annoying editing and sound effects. There was so much potential to this, but it never lived up....ever.
½ April 12, 2013
Man, what a WEIRD movie! Definitely not for everyone. Pretty shotty filming, but overall a decent "story" as it's probably happened on numerous occasions in real life, unfortunately.
½ March 10, 2013
I know well this kind of hard movie, I saw and liked: A Serbian Film, Philosophy Of A Knife, and the very goods french movies: Martyrs directed by Pacal Laugier and A l 'intÚrieur (Inside) but this one apparently bored me, not a story just a succession of unbearable stages without suspense, happily it's short but already too much. Is It really based on actress own experience? I would like to know more about that...
January 2, 2013
Nothing redeeming here.
December 5, 2012
How the hell was this worse than V/H/S?! I thought that was impossible! Ugh, the amount of flaws in this shit fest could fill an entire sewer, which is where this movie belongs.
Francisco G.
Super Reviewer
½ November 3, 2012
Obnoxious, pretentious beyond belief, annoying, loud: it uses violence and sexploitation the way it should never be used. There's absolutly no point to it other than to make you sick and even at that it fails miserably. Hoping the guy who made this will stay away from a movie camera for good.
½ October 17, 2012
Good God was this film obnoxious and annoying as hell!! The Bunny Game is sick sadistic film that has absolutely no redeeming value whatsoever. During my years of reviewing movies I have seen disturbing sick movies, but at least I got something out of those! Hell, one of my favorite movies is A Clockwork Orange and it is quite disturbing! But this was just a pretentious artsy fartsy (yes this film actually got me to use a term I hate using) pile of dog crap!! The protagonist is annoying as hell, the soundtrack is just god-awful buz noise, there's no story, just torture, torture, and hey i bet you didn't see this coming, more torture!!! This genre died out a long time ago in the 70s and with good reason too!!! Now if you'll excuse me I'm gonna go watch a good movie to wash this terrible viewing experience outta my mouth!!!
October 11, 2012
best onscreen bj ever
August 19, 2012
How the hell was this worse than V/H/S?! I thought that was impossible! Ugh, the amount of flaws in this shit fest could fill an entire sewer, which is where this movie belongs.
½ June 5, 2012
Boring as fuck torture porn.
½ July 16, 2012
This movie was the biggest fucking waste of time. This was Pseudo art. A´╗┐ piece of fucking garbage. Not gory, not scary, not artistic. Crappy editing, crappy acting, crappy music No point.. Then she gets stuffed in the back of a van at the end. Did she live or die. Honestly at that point I could care less, I just wanted this piece of shit to be over. Why did I waste 80 mins of my life on this pure garbage.
June 18, 2012
Torture porn. A sub-genre that, by the nature of its label, sounds like a type of film that only the perviest of perverts would flock to. And yet, with movies like Hostel (and its many sequels), Saw (and its many sequels), and the cornucopia of 70's/80's horror film re-makes breaking through to mainstream success, torture porn has become an acceptable; NAY...widely accepted sub-genre of horror.

The merits of the films in the genre are arguable. No doubt many exist solely to shock viewers into an epileptic fit of puke and diarrhea. I believe it can be argued that others exist as masterworks of horror and suspense that can be proudly shelved by horror buffs who crave more than just bloody tits and severed heads. The Bunny Game would make a good party guest for Cannibal Holocaust, Saw 1, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974), Friday the 13th, etc.

More so than most horror filims, The Bunny Game teeters into art house territory. Graphic depictions of sexual acts, a black and white color scheme, a tiny amount of dialogue, and abstract shots and storytelling make it stand out from the very crowded torture porn genre. Unfortunately for the filmmakers and actors involved, all of those aspects will probably keep The Bunny Game from reaching any sort of mainstream success. The best the filmmakers can hope for, financially at least, is for a cult following.

It does the crazed-pervert better than any movie I've ever seen. It realistically, almost to a fault, depicts how a kidnapping-sexual-assault would likely go with a psychopath. It's not for the faint of heart. It's a slow-burning, disturbing film only suited for those certain they are fans of the genre. But if a fan of the genre you are, I believe the pinnacle of "torture porn" you will find.
Page 1 of 2