The Bunny Game - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Bunny Game Reviews

Page 2 of 2
December 12, 2014
terrifying grotesque but sordidly brilliant. won't spoil it for you but for those who love to be shocked they will love it. A great mix of cool editing terror and horror will leave you wondering how this will all end and left me gutted it finished!
October 9, 2014
An extremely disturbing sick film. No wonder it's banned.
½ July 21, 2014
One of the more recent films to be banned by the BBFC. Apart from some interesting editorial choices and an artful black-and-white approach, this is one terrific waste of time. It's irritating throughout and you get essentially one beat hammered over and over again. Tedious and boring. However, on the plus side, the interviews with the filmmakers is incredibly fascinating. Not only is the actress essentially playing a role she experienced in real life (to a degree) but the director was actually afraid of the psychopath in the film. The director didn't use a crew and instead shot it himself (and edited/composed) total guerrilla style. By far the most interesting thing about this video nasty is that everything is real. Real blow-jobs, real torture and worst of all, real branding! They actually burned the shit out of the actress for the film. And she was game! Not surprisingly she won awards for her performance. I often complain that modern horror films are missing that dangerous factor that made so many 70's horror films so disturbing and effective. Well, here is a modern exception. The making of the movie sounded like a true horror experience. A shame that the end result lacked a script and ended up being just plain tiresome.
March 5, 2014
There's no reason to watch this unless you feel like losing all moral integrity. Turn your TV or computer off. Read a book. You're better than this.
March 7, 2014
Complete garbage. I am sure the people behind this crap will justify it by saying it makes some kind of social statement. Dont waste your time unless you are a torture porn idiot.
October 7, 2013
It lacked much of any plot, and the plot that was there was absolutely sick. Even though the acting was spot on, it was ruined by annoying editing and sound effects. There was so much potential to this, but it never lived up....ever.
August 1, 2013
Tout ce que le torture porn a de plus détestable résumé en seul film. Vraiment pénible...
April 26, 2013
Hasn't gotten the best reviews, but I guess we'll see...
½ April 12, 2013
Man, what a WEIRD movie! Definitely not for everyone. Pretty shotty filming, but overall a decent "story" as it's probably happened on numerous occasions in real life, unfortunately.
½ March 10, 2013
I know well this kind of hard movie, I saw and liked: A Serbian Film, Philosophy Of A Knife, and the very goods french movies: Martyrs directed by Pacal Laugier and A l 'intérieur (Inside) but this one apparently bored me, not a story just a succession of unbearable stages without suspense, happily it's short but already too much. Is It really based on actress own experience? I would like to know more about that...
January 2, 2013
Nothing redeeming here.
December 5, 2012
How the hell was this worse than V/H/S?! I thought that was impossible! Ugh, the amount of flaws in this shit fest could fill an entire sewer, which is where this movie belongs.
November 18, 2012
As a piece of art, I highly respect it, however it was a little too long, I don't regret seeing it
Francisco  G.
Super Reviewer
November 3, 2012
Obnoxious, pretentious beyond belief, annoying, loud: it uses violence and sexploitation the way it should never be used. There's absolutly no point to it other than to make you sick and even at that it fails miserably. Hoping the guy who made this will stay away from a movie camera for good.
October 17, 2012
Good God was this film obnoxious and annoying as hell!! The Bunny Game is sick sadistic film that has absolutely no redeeming value whatsoever. During my years of reviewing movies I have seen disturbing sick movies, but at least I got something out of those! Hell, one of my favorite movies is A Clockwork Orange and it is quite disturbing! But this was just a pretentious artsy fartsy (yes this film actually got me to use a term I hate using) pile of dog crap!! The protagonist is annoying as hell, the soundtrack is just god-awful buz noise, there's no story, just torture, torture, and hey i bet you didn't see this coming, more torture!!! This genre died out a long time ago in the 70s and with good reason too!!! Now if you'll excuse me I'm gonna go watch a good movie to wash this terrible viewing experience outta my mouth!!!
October 11, 2012
best onscreen bj ever
August 24, 2012
I get that it was supposed to be shocking because its so realistic, but its just boring. Not sure why they bothered banning it.
August 24, 2012
Intentions sur le papier : dénoncer toutes les violences faites aux femmes. Noble cause : on n'en fera jamais assez à ce niveau et même quand le résultat est minable, on éprouve au moins un minimum de sympathie pour la démarche. Sauf que "The bunny game" possède les atours d'un truc indépendant poseur, tourné en noir et blanc dans une économie de dialogue presque totale, par un jeune réalisateur qui avait sans doute envie de se faire remarquer pour son premier Long. Et ça, ça rend la démarche tout de suite moins sympathique. Mais n'ergotons pas: après tout, "The bunny game" a été conçu et scénarisé par une femme, qui peut donc se permettre de taper plus fort que sa contrepartie masculine sans qu'on la soupçonne de calculs opportunistes. Et pour taper fort, "The bunny game" tape fort, c'est le moins qu'on puisse dire. Et il dérange...pas par ce qu'il montre (on peut trouver une justification à la violence des images, une fois connue leur raison d'être) mais par son jusqu'au-boutisme insensé qui ruine complètement son propos de départ : on ne découvrira ni explication, ni justification, ni même rebondissement digne de ce nom à cette heure quart de barbarie à l'état brut. Je ne vois pour autant aucune raison valable à hurler à la censure (le film a été banni en Angleterre)...mais tourner un snuff-movie, fut-il de luxe, pour dénoncer la violence me rend perplexe quant à l'impact et à la pertinence du propos, voire même quant aux intentions des auteurs.
August 19, 2012
How the hell was this worse than V/H/S?! I thought that was impossible! Ugh, the amount of flaws in this shit fest could fill an entire sewer, which is where this movie belongs.
½ August 5, 2012
AL's Disclaimer: Don't watch The Bunny Game unless you are one of my select sicko friends. That being said, I actually didn't find The Bunny Game all that disturbing. Exquisitely filmed with breathtaking/haunting Black and White cinematography, the film is intelligent and brutal, but I ultimately felt like it didn't build towards a truly brutal conclusion like such films should. It starts off with an absolutely brilliant pairing of shots that equate suffocation with rough oral sex. And the film's opening is ultimately more interesting than where it goes. The Bunny Game itself is interesting but is too short and not elaborated enough. A solid effort at artistic yet brutal transgressive cinema, The Bunny Game just didn't quite reach the heights that it could have.
Page 2 of 2