The Game Plan Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
September 27, 2007
Fickman and the three screenwriters drag this inevitability out for close to two hours, with a tiresome back-and-forth of conflicts and reconciliations.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Annlee Ellingson
Boxoffice Magazine
September 28, 2007
There's a fine line -- just two letters, in fact -- between precocious and precious. Unfortunately The Game Plan not only crosses it but runs 80 yards down the field, and one can't help but throw a flag on the play.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
September 28, 2007
..."stupid" is a mean word. So I'm not going to use it to describe this smug, cynical, hackneyed pretext for product placement ...
Full Review | Original Score: 68/100
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
September 26, 2007
If he's being honest, any NFL player will tell you that it's not at all uncommon to open the front door to meet an illegitimate child. Either that or a box of human growth hormone.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
September 25, 2007
There is less of a story here than a series of gag situations...
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
September 25, 2007
So sickeningly adorable and sweet that you'll be barfing sugarcubes long before the halfway point. The fact that they can stretch this idea into a movie longer than 90 minutes boggles the mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/10
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
October 1, 2007
It's what I like to call an amnesia movie. Six months from now, if someone asks me about The Game Plan, I'll be hard-pressed to remember what it's about or who's in it.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
January 10, 2008
Not great, not bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Matt Stevens
E! Online
September 28, 2007
This innocuous family fare will probably appeal to wee ones who haven't been fed enough of this formula. But I wanted to spit up a little.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
September 28, 2007
To paraphrase David Spade, I liked this movie the first time I saw it -- when it was called Kindergarten Cop.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
September 28, 2007
A remixed version of Elvis's "Rubberneckin'" is an apt credit sequence number, since the movie is itself a similarly trivial, jazzed-up version of a standard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
September 27, 2007
The kind of movie that Disney used to make a lot of back in the day: live-action, simple-minded, aimed at children, and kind of stupid.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Bill Gibron
Filmcritic.com
January 20, 2008
maudlin and manipulative
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Brian Orndorf
OhmyNews.com
September 27, 2007
I wish Dwayne Johnson well, and I respect Disney's tenacity when it comes to their dreadful formulas, so I look forward to next year's offering: 50 Cent in the Cub Scout comedy, Da Top Scout.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
Kit Bowen
Hollywood.com
September 30, 2007
This Disney fluff isn't going to score any touchdowns, but by following a lighthearted Game Plan, it should stack up points with the family set.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
October 5, 2007
A game plan is exactly what the haphazard script...lacks.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
September 28, 2007
Apart from a heart-tugging plot twist, some lesson learning and more random football talk, that's about it. Oh, except for the scene in which Kyra Sedgwick farts. Be sure to update your resume, Kyra.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Geoff Berkshire
Metromix.com
October 10, 2007
Whether or not an unexpected shift to generic family-friendly territory boosts The Rock's flagging film career, this is just one more in a long line of creatively bankrupt choices for the former wrestler.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joshua Tyler
CinemaBlend.com
September 28, 2007
Spawning a cute little tyke will improve your career, better your relationships, clear up acne, and get you invited to cool parties.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Frank Ochieng
World Voice News
September 27, 2007
Sappy and simplistic, The Game Plan belongs on the sidelines of stale cotton candy creativity.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 6, 2007

Sydney Morning Herald
November 3, 2007
Page 1 of 6