The Grey Reviews

Page 1 of 10
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
This movie is awesome.
Justin Craig
September 25, 2013
"The Grey" is a film that reminds us how fortunate we are to be sitting in a theater or at home on the couch and not suffering frostbite, hypoxia and being in the dastardly predicament of having giant wolf fangs ripping our innards inside out.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Laura Kern
Film Comment Magazine
June 20, 2013
In the case of The Grey, less would have decidedly been more.
Tom Glasson
Concrete Playground
March 4, 2013
It's 'Man vs Wild Wolf' in this suspenseful Alaskan survival film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Tom Charity
January 8, 2013
The Grey remains a genuinely gripping survival story and a refreshing change from stale urban action flicks.
Dan Kaufman
Paste Magazine
January 8, 2013
The Grey is an exciting, if uneven, paean to the macho ideal.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
Betsy Sherman
Boston Phoenix
January 8, 2013
Both visceral and thoughtful.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Jason Buchanan
TV Guide's Movie Guide
January 8, 2013
Carnahan's gripping yet grim thriller is either a masterpiece of reflective cinema, or a bleak, inexcusably nihilistic bid to transcend movie tropes by alienating the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ben Kendrick
September 30, 2012
A noteworthy performance from Liam Neeson keeps the character moments engaging and the man vs. nature scenarios offer a number of memorable sequences.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Jeff Beck
September 17, 2012
There are points where you can feel the filmmakers really trying to get their point across, only to have it lost again in a film that gets its story stuck in a rut.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered
September 15, 2012
The Grey is a cool action film with a heart and soul, which is refreshing to see in a January release.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
William Bibbiani
August 22, 2012
A bold, uncompromising film that can't be dismissed as mere entertainment, no matter how thrilling it is.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
August 10, 2012
One of the most complex action thrillers of the last ten years...
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
May 22, 2012
May very well be the best thrill ride of the year even after August. Don't miss it.
Full Review | Original Score: 9.5/10
Jason Best
Movie Talk
May 21, 2012
A survival thriller with teeth.
R. L. Shaffer
May 16, 2012
The Grey is a powerful drama, a chilling tale of horror, and an uplifting, emotionally raw look at the nature of man and spiritually.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
Rob Gonsalves
April 30, 2012
I can't say I was sorry it was over. But it also has the stark purity of an icicle; it earns my respect if not my love.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Blake Howard
2UE That Movie Show
April 26, 2012
I went into the fray and rode this intense, emotional ride with the characters. The Grey is hypnotic, terrifying, affective, poetic, and the best film that I've seen this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
April 17, 2012
This movie starts off with the main character putting a gun to his head, having decided his life has no meaning or purpose. After that, the story starts getting depressing.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
April 16, 2012
A gripping, survivalist drama with more humanity than expected.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 10