The Heartbreak Kid Reviews

Page 2 of 8
Brent Simon
Screen International
October 13, 2007
The performances are almost uniformly engaging, with Stiller cycling through a catalog of sputtering resistance ploys that still work, no matter their familiarity.
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
October 11, 2007
There are enough really funny scenes to more than make up for the obnoxiousness and humourless stretches. Not exactly the ringing endorsement you'd hope for.
Full Review | Original Score: 72/100
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
October 11, 2007
Finally the gross exploitation picture that detractors have accused the Farrellys of perpetrating throughout their career.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
October 11, 2007
...the movie unravels when the Farrellys...begin grafting their own bright ideas onto the story...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing
October 10, 2007
The Farrelly Brothers have a reputation for pushing the envelope ... but in the case of The Heartbreak Kid, they seem only marginally more daring than Robert Wise helming The Sound of Music.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Mark Ramsey
MovieJuice!
October 10, 2007
Schizophrenics! Quadriplegics! We've got roles for you!If you're disabled and you have a SAG card. That's how you won't feel...so blue!
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
October 10, 2007
[A] hit-or-miss, not-as-bad-as-you've-heard remake of the 1972 minor classic.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Armond White
New York Press
October 10, 2007
We deserve better than this and expect better from the Farrellys.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
October 10, 2007
116 minutes of tedium punctuated with outbursts of tastelessness.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
October 8, 2007
Despite some sizeable flaws, I still recommend the movie for what it is: a laugh machine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
October 8, 2007
It just falls flat, flat, flat.
Pete Vonder Haar
Film Threat
October 8, 2007
The Heartbreak Kid is better than I expected, but since I expected it to be a horrific failure, that isn't saying much.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
October 8, 2007
An unwatchable mess like this is exactly what you ought to expect from anybody with the unmitigated gall to overhaul Neil Simon.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
October 7, 2007
It's done in bad taste, but unlike their past few films, I must admit that I laughed this time out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
October 7, 2007
Sometimes the Farrelly Brothers are spot-on when they write a comedy. And sometimes they miss the humor target more than they hit it.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
October 7, 2007
There are a few hilarious scenes but no character we care about, making this remake inferior to Elaine May's 1972 film.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
October 7, 2007
Will the Farrellys mine enough gross-out scenes to generate a box-office buzz? The idea that they won't is the air of desperation that hangs over the movie and which, too often, suffocates it.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Betty Jo Tucker
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
October 7, 2007
I've always believed certain films should never be re-made, but 'The Heartbreak Kid' wasn't one of them. After seeing this new version, it's on my list.
Bob Bloom
Journal and Courier (Lafayette, IN)
October 6, 2007
The biggest problem with the movie is timidity. The Farrellys ... refuse to take the needed step of making star Ben Stiller totally unsympathetic.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
October 6, 2007
An insane role reversal that positions the gorgeous trophy bride as the unrequited ugly duckling to Ben Stiller's geeky womanizing newlywed stud.
Page 2 of 8