The Human Scale - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Human Scale Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Daniel Walber
June 5, 2014
Dalsgaard has made a tight, compelling and well-designed film about design. That's harder to pull off than one might think.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
April 1, 2014
No documentary I've seen about city planning has come at the topic from such a resolutely humanistic perspective, or given me more hope for the future.
Chris Knight
National Post
November 7, 2013
Gehl suggests we study people, not cars, and change our cities accordingly.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ronnie Scheib
October 21, 2013
If Dalsgaard's advocacy of Gehl's utopian vision largely ignores the socioeconomic forces arrayed against it, the film should nevertheless enthuse pedestrians, bike riders and public-space proponents everywhere.
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
October 20, 2013
Insightful and fascinating, but too dry and somewhat myopic.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.05/10
Top Critic
David DeWitt
New York Times
October 17, 2013
If the result sometimes feels like a sedate lecture, the global journey strongly enlivens the lesson; it's fascinating how alike and how different cities can be, and more fascinating to imagine what they may become.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
T'Cha Dunlevy
Montreal Gazette
September 19, 2013
Like many movies looking at the effects of globalization on the human condition, Dalsgaard looks at the ways today's cities are destroying our quality of life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Linda Barnard
Toronto Star
November 7, 2013
The Human Scale presents interesting ideas but the format is often dull as concrete, more civics lecture than vibrant city life.
Top Critic
Gary Goldstein
Los Angeles Times
October 31, 2013
Writer-director Andreas M. Dalsgaard takes such a low-key approach to presenting the film's vital, potentially involving topic that viewers may find themselves more inspired to take a snooze than a stroll.
Kalvin Henely
Slant Magazine
October 16, 2013
While there's no doubt that a city's walkability is important, the film would have benefitted from either stats or testimonials in favor of its central premise.
Top Critic
Daphne Howland
Village Voice
October 15, 2013
The Human Scale lacks both the punch needed to appeal to the layperson and the deep wonkiness to gain the attention of true geeks of the built environment.
Page 1 of 1