The Ides of March - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ides of March Reviews

Page 2 of 12
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
November 26, 2011
I'd strongly urge you to hand over a $10 donation and support The Ides Of March. It has my endorsement!
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
November 25, 2011
I left the theater feeling I had gotten exactly what I'd expected, but wishing I'd seen a crazier movie, one where those twin Iagos, Giamatti and Seymour Hoffman, had done more than worry in the wings.
Full Review | Original Score: 88/100
CJ Johnson
ABC Radio (Australia)
November 23, 2011
I'm so convinced that Clooney will eventually make his Huge, Important Film About American Politics that it's odd to me he's made this one: his small, entertaining film about American politics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Alice Tynan
The Vine
November 23, 2011
As a portrait of power, hubris and the systematic corruption of integrity, The Ides of March makes for compelling viewing. It's well-crafted, wonderfully scored and solidly acted across the board.
Tom Clift
November 23, 2011
A terrific political drama that growls with low tension and the cynicism of the disillusioned.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Simon Miraudo
November 22, 2011
Like the charming, inoffensive candidate with some great ideas and an impressive brains trust...[it's] more than capable of spouting some mildly-inspirational truisms about the nature of politics and looking good in a suit while saying them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses
November 20, 2011
se proideazei gia kati poly perissotero dramatiko kai epikindyno, kai to problhma ths einai oti de katafernei na to ylopoihsei
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
November 20, 2011
Engrossing, immensely relevant and completely timely, The Ides of March is a triumph for all concerned
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
November 20, 2011
A gripping political drama in which loyalty, principles and integrity tumble like a house of cards when betrayals alter perceptions
Robert Denerstein
Movie Habit
November 14, 2011
Wallows in fashionable cynicism
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
November 8, 2011
What it lacks in sheer insight it makes up for in bravura.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
November 4, 2011
There's even a scene where a couple making love start laughing, because in the background on TV is Clooney himself... the very man who's directing them on the other side of the camera. What a strange brew that is!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
November 4, 2011
All the back stabbing and double dealing in the film is depressing and uninspiring. Nevertheless, I was impressed with the dialogue, the acting and overall slick way this film was crafted.
Full Review | Original Score: B

November 1, 2011
A dryly gripping thriller, as intelligent, professional and well-groomed as its director-star. Just don't expect to learn anything new.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Philip French
Observer [UK]
October 30, 2011
It's an intelligent, consistently involving thriller with the kind of unexpected melodramatic events that crop up in all US elections.
October 29, 2011
Clooney and cast are an absolute triumph, but even their solid and engaging performances can't mask the serviceable but thin and unremarkable plot that links them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Edwards
Daily Mirror [UK]
October 28, 2011
It's never quite as clever as it thinks it is, but ace performances from some of Hollywood's brightest talents, plus some tight plotting, make The Ides Of March a nailbiting affair.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Allan Hunter
Daily Express
October 28, 2011
A meaty, enjoyable adult movie especially if you still miss a regular visit to The West Wing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5

Liverpool Echo
October 28, 2011
For anyone craving an intelligent tale, told without cinematic gizmos, The Ides of March is likely to get the bums-on-seat vote.
Stella Papamichael
Radio Times
October 27, 2011
The acting is heavyweight, as are the moral questions about the personal cost of serving the greater good that propel the story with an unstoppable force.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 2 of 12