Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
33% As Above/So Below Aug 29
34% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
75% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
37% If I Stay $15.7M
20% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
46% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

88% The Cosmopolitans: Season One
100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Ides of March Reviews

Page 1 of 12
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood

A brilliant political thriller about strategy, loyalty and idealism that is willing to unmask candidates who build their campaigns on slogans, not policies.

Full Review Source: Big Hollywood | Original Score: 5.0/5

June 30, 2013
Will Leitch
Deadspin

Well-produced and well-acted middlebrow entertainment, a political "expose" that will shock only pearl-clutchers and naive dopes.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: B-

June 22, 2013
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files

A gripping, political thriller packed with tremendous performances and supremely confident direction by George Clooney.

Full Review Source: Lyles' Movie Files | Original Score: 8/10

April 5, 2013
Kristal Cooper
We Got This Covered

George Clooney officially passes the impish matinee idol torch to Ryan Gosling in this smart, hella-cool (does Clooney waste his time on any other kind of movie these days?) political drama.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 8/10

February 11, 2013
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service

George Clooney's latest civics lesson as actor and director, is a down and dirty politics-behind-closed-doors tale...brilliantly acted

Full Review Source: McClatchy-Tribune News Service | Original Score: 3.5/4

January 6, 2013
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com

If the film had been able to get off the ground earlier, this probably would have been a great film. However, with its excellent performances, well-written screenplay, and engaging story, it's still a very good film.

Full Review Source: Examiner.com | Original Score: 3/4

September 19, 2012
Witney Seibold
CraveOnline

The entire first two thirds of the film have the calm idiosyncratic qualities of a mellowed-out Mamet.

Full Review Source: CraveOnline | Original Score: 8/10

August 25, 2012
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit

Modern-day Game of Thrones

Full Review Source: Movie Habit | Original Score: 3/4

March 22, 2012
Steve Newall
Flicks.co.nz

Like Clooney's straightforward and unflashy directorial style, The Ides of March proves to be an effective drama.

Full Review Source: Flicks.co.nz | Original Score: 4/5

February 16, 2012
James Plath
Movie Metropolis

"The Ides of March" is a solid film, but it could have been better if it challenged the audience more than it does.

Full Review Source: Movie Metropolis | Original Score: 7/10

February 7, 2012
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies

Full Review Source: Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies | Original Score: B+

February 1, 2012
Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
Ebert Presents At The Movies

It's clear the Ides of March is about the nuts and bolts of politics.

Full Review Source: Ebert Presents At The Movies

January 4, 2012
Greg Maki
Star-Democrat (Easton, MD)

... A political thriller that concerns itself more with issues of loyalty and trust than advancing a particular agenda.

Full Review Source: Star-Democrat (Easton, MD) | Original Score: B

December 28, 2011
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)

It's politics. How many times do we say that in our work lives or in reference to an organization with which we are involved?

Full Review Source: KWQC-TV (Iowa) | Original Score: 3/4

December 22, 2011
Phil Villarreal
OK! Magazine

Yet another fantastic performance from Ryan Gosling, in what has turned out to be his breakout year that elevates him to the top rank of actors.

Full Review Source: OK! Magazine | Original Score: 3/4

December 16, 2011
Tim Martain
The Mercury

The twists and shocks of this story are delivered with emotional precision, each one landing like a heavy punch to the stomach, making every minute crackle with intensity.

Full Review Source: The Mercury | Original Score: 4/5

November 26, 2011
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane

I'd strongly urge you to hand over a $10 donation and support The Ides Of March. It has my endorsement!

Full Review Source: ABC Radio Brisbane | Original Score: A-

November 26, 2011
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette

I left the theater feeling I had gotten exactly what I'd expected, but wishing I'd seen a crazier movie, one where those twin Iagos, Giamatti and Seymour Hoffman, had done more than worry in the wings.

Full Review Source: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette | Original Score: 88/100

November 25, 2011
CJ Johnson
ABC Radio (Australia)

I'm so convinced that Clooney will eventually make his Huge, Important Film About American Politics that it's odd to me he's made this one: his small, entertaining film about American politics.

Full Review Source: ABC Radio (Australia) | Original Score: 3/5

November 23, 2011
Alice Tynan
The Vine

As a portrait of power, hubris and the systematic corruption of integrity, The Ides of March makes for compelling viewing. It's well-crafted, wonderfully scored and solidly acted across the board.

Full Review Source: The Vine

November 23, 2011
Richard Roeper
ReelzChannel.com
March 10, 2012
Leonard Maltin
ReelzChannel.com
March 10, 2012
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
February 3, 2012
Jen Chaney
Washington Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic
February 1, 2012
Brian D. Johnson
Maclean's Magazine
September 9, 2011
Page 1 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile