Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
30% As Above/So Below Aug 29
36% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
76% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
37% If I Stay $15.7M
21% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
45% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
66% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
19% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
67% Thunder and the House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
39% Intruders: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
46% Reckless: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Jonah From Tonga: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Intouchables Reviews

Page 1 of 129
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

July 29, 2014
This touching true story of a millionaire and his convict caretaker revolves around a friendship of disrespect and humor. Omar Sy (Driss) is probably best known to American audiences as Bishop from the X-Men franchise, strong and mostly silent. Here he is much more effervescent and humorous as Driss, inept to the social surroundings of his employer, and he is full of heart and heartbreak. Of course there isn't anything new about this film, or the story it tells, but it's heartwarming to see a quadriplegic overcome the baser anxieties of his handicap, and for a disenfranchised ex-con find happiness and loyalty in his friendship. Besides being very gooey with emotion, their exchanges are quite funny. Driss always seems to know just how to make Philippe (Cluzet) laugh, even while being very inappropriate. Most of what Driss does in this film is inappropriate and very un-PC, but the character is charming and the dialogue is coaxing, making this a very interesting film in of itself.
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

March 4, 2013
I fucking loved this movie. It is touching, funny, inspiring, and by far one of my favorite movies I have watched this year. I loved the story and the relationship between Philippe and Driss. Philippe taught Driss responsibility and gave him a home and a job when he really didn't want it. Driss taught Philipee to accept himself and how to live again. It is one of those films that leaves you all warm and fuzzy with a big smile. I will for sure be seeing this again.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

June 17, 2013
Firstly I will refer to the films original title, not least because Intouchable isn't a real word and I don't live in America so I don't have to and refuse to use nonsense words, legal rights to the word etc or not. Untouchables is a tender yet exaggerated tear-jerker/feel good film based on a true story. Never let fact get in the way of a good story, the real Driss isn't even black but no matter, ultimately the heart of the film is true. I don't see it as a Driving Miss Daisy rip off or a statement on class and I don't have a problem with its predictability, I simply see it as a sweet story of a friendship between two men. Sentimental but never manipulative.
aSpaceCowboy
aSpaceCowboy

Super Reviewer

May 24, 2013
A charming, heartwarming comedy that knows when to be funny and dramatic and just how far to take it. But maybe The Intouchables has been getting a tad bit too much love.
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

April 24, 2012
3 3/4's really. I just don't "get" most French films. Either I don't get their humor, or I find them really, really slow. This one was not half bad. Nice lesson portrayed, though, so points for that....
Josh M

Super Reviewer

April 17, 2013
The Intouchables, is a warm, immensely appealing hunk of French schmaltz. The film's purported true story 'sings' with charismatic and witty, bang on performances from it's lead buddies, Francois Cluzet as a paralyzed quadriplegic billionaire and Omar Sy as his African immigrant bad boy caregiver.

The film's heart and soul is in the developing relationship between the apparently diverse men, and it's just wonderful. The caretaker is hired because of his lack of compassion and lack of pity, and Cluzet is lost and lonely in his immobile body, as well as his great wealth, which distances him from everyone.

The structure of the story doesn't really matter that much. This film has arbitrary plot points and a litany of mostly unbelievable situations to keep the engine of the film going. For example, the billionaire, who is a widower, is having a passionate epistolary affair with a pen pan, to whom he has not revealed his condition. He is afraid to meet her or tell her about his condition. The caregiver, Driss, tries to push them together. This relationship never resolves and it's the main driving force of the plot. Arbitrarily, Driss is fired at the end of Act 2, for no good reason, except to create an Act 3.

Directors Toledano and Nakache have directed a slick and colorful film that looks more Hollywood than Paris, oddly full of hand held shots and an American pop soundtrack including Earth Wind and Fire and Kook and the Gang. None of this matters as much as the wonderful buddy aspects and the well rounded and emotional connection between the two actors. It's not surprising that it's one of France's biggest ever box office hits, it's pretty irresistible. But it sure ain't Jean Luc Goddard.
Al S

Super Reviewer

August 8, 2012
This is one amazing and truly beautiful piece of movie-making magic. A deeply moving and heartfelt masterpiece. Director's, Eric Toledano and Oliver Nakache have crafted an astonishing and truly beautiful movie experience. It's the feel good movie of the year and the best picture of 2012. I absolutely loved this film. It's charming, very funny and filled with life and heart. It shines with its humanity and honesty. A perfect combination of comedy and drama. A true crowd-pleasing entertainment ride. It's two hours a of pure joy. Movies don't get much more gorgeous or inspiring than this. A sweet and heart-warming buddy movie. An instant classic. Francois Cluzet and Omar Sy give extraordinary and unforgettable performances, their chemistry just shines throughout the movie and deliver big laughs and beautiful dedication to their characters story. A breathtaking and truly magnificent film. It makes you want to stand up and cheer. It shows that life is something to be celebrated. Bravo to the wonderful cast and crew who brought this incredible true story to life. A wonderful and uplifting story of friendship, compassion and human possibility.
Pierluigi P

Super Reviewer

October 28, 2012
Pathos is the key for connection, humour and charm.
c0up
c0up

Super Reviewer

October 27, 2012
'The Intouchables'. Heartfelt and joyous. Two great performances and an ending that piles on the emotion nicely.

The unexpected beauty of the opening drive scene caught me off guard. Inspired music selection throughout. The look and nod Francois Cluzet gives Omar Sy by the water is my favourite moment of the film.
LorenzoVonMatterhorn
LorenzoVonMatterhorn

Super Reviewer

August 1, 2012
"Sometimes you have to reach into someone else's world to find out what's missing in your own."

After he becomes a quadriplegic from a paragliding accident, an aristocrat hires a young man from the projects to be his caretaker.

REVIEW
You will not see a comedy this year on either side of the pond than The Intouchables. Or a better treatment of disability, without pity and filled with humanity. Or a better buddy story than this one about quadriplegic Phillipe (Francois Cluzet) and his aide, Driss (Omar Sy). It's a bromance without sex, a hands-across-the-social-divide that avoids clichés but still gives anticipated humorous setups a new vigor. Expecting tears and pity, I found laughter and love as Driss, a poor black man with a very big heart and personality, is hired by wealthy entrepreneur Phillipe to tend him. Although the eventual reinvigoration of daredevil Phillipe under the exuberant if rough Driss is to be expected with this formula, the wholesome affection and lack of pity are infectious.

Intouchables has numerous moments of hilarity and humanity such as when the two men speed down the highway almost hoping for police who will fulfill Driss's prediction that the two end up with an escort. Both men are speed freaks; both men are happy to indulge that passion. Another mirthful moment is Driss's reaction to his first opera. Opera lovers will especially like his unaffected amazement and amusement that this is how the rich spend their time. Sy is so good as Driss that even I would enjoy his spontaneous disruption of a serious operatic production. Buried in the joyful surface is the subject of class differences. Driss comes from living with several cousins in a small apartment, may have been a druggie and a dealer, and avoids work. Phillipe is a wealthy entrepreneur who went too high on a para sail to fulfill his danger lust. Beyond a small fee Phillipe wrangles from a friend for Driss's painting, Driss gets no other improvement in his living situation and Phillipe deteriorates while he makes a tough decision about Driss. It's not difficult to see why the film has been seen by over 300 million people so far and just begun to flourish in the US.
boxman
boxman

Super Reviewer

August 2, 2012
You'd never know it, but the highest-grossing film in Europe last year had nothing to do with super heroes, or sequels, or Hollywood itself. A small French film with the strange title of The Intouchables manages to break down just about every European box-office record last fall, sweeping across the continent and winning over hearts of numerous nationalities. The Weinstein Company bought the English-language adaptation rights, but before that gets underway they're also releasing the original French movie to American audiences. Will subtitle-averse American audiences warm up to the little movie that has proven so hard to resist worldwide?

Philippe (Francois Cluzet) is rich quadriplegic and looking for a new caregiver to his many needs. In walks Driss (Omar Sy), a brash and headstrong man from a very different world: lower class, urban, and black. Philippe responds to the man's irreverence and gumption and hires Driss on a trial basis. The upper-class lifestyle is like a fantasy to Driss, but the many responsibilities of caring for a man with no feeling below the neck are harder than anticipated. He objects at the very idea of having to manually evacuate the man's... insides. The two opposites attract and the men become close friends and open one another up to new experiences.

At its core, The Intouchables is the story of two men and their unlikely friendship. It's told with enough weight, conviction, and character development that it's easy to get wrapped up in the movie's sweeping emotional tide. It's a familiar tale, essentially that of the coming together of two people from distinctly different walks of life. You've seen this type of story before, where the upper class learns to cut loose and embrace life more fully, where the lower-class individual finds a path of dignity and responsibility. It's been done before but rarely has it been done with such aplomb. Any storyline that involves a quadriplegic man and an inner city youth coming together sounds rife for after-school moralizing and sappy life-lessons. Thankfully, The Intouchables finds an angle that hits the emotional highpoints without tipping over into overt maudlin territory. Phillippe doesn't want anyone's pity. What is meant as good intentions can become another handicap; public perception of the individual's limitations. Like The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, the 2007 inspirational French film about a significantly paralyzed man who could only move his left eye (what is it about French films and paralysis?), The Intouchables brings you into a world few glimpse and shows us what the perseverance of the human spirit can reap. Even a conversation that steers to sexuality can be illuminating and, for concerned male viewers, comforting that even if you can't feel anything below the neck, the human body can adapt. In this regard, the film is a fascinating look into the life and care of a quadriplegic man (albeit an insanely wealthy one), and the fact that it's also a moving and winning buddy comedy is yet another virtue. It's like France's version of a bromance.

It's quite easy to see why The Intouchables has had runaway success in Europe, totaling over $300 million before ever opening in the States. This thing is a born crowd-pleaser. The characters are given room to roam, flesh out, and the interaction between two different men and their growing affection is a natural emotional foundation. We care about these characters, we smile and laugh with their interactions, the way that both men realize they need the other. It's touching without being cloying and rich with emotional rewards by film's end. Then there's the fact that it's also consistently funny without overplaying the class conflicts. There is an amusing subplot about the nebulous nature of modern art and what qualifies as "art": the work or the knowledge that it's from an "artist." There's a nice payoff with that one, but most of the humor is character-based, with the jovial Driss bouncing off the staid sarcasm of Philippe. There's one comic subplot that seems to be hitting the same note time an again -- Driss' dogged romantic pursuit of Philippe's assistant (Audrey Fleurot). It's almost forgivable given the immense charms of Sy, but her character gets reduced to little more than a potential love match for Driss' energetic libido. The humor, buoyant but also sensible, gives the film a defter touch when it comes to the more dramatic moments of loss and isolation and mourning. It's easy to see why audiences have been falling in love with The Intouchables around the globe; they're programmed to cry and laugh in equal measure.

And it's that vague sense of programming that lingers. This is a film that knows exactly what chords to strike and how often. It can be accused of pandering and you'll be able to guess every point of the plot. You think Driss will get Philippe to finally meet the woman he's corresponding to for months? You think the upper crust will break from their immaculate stuffy prisons and learn to cut loose, spurned from Driss' involvement? Do you think Philippe's bratty teen daughter will learnt to shape up and fly right? Will Driss take a stand and stop his younger sibling from falling under the sway of criminal influences? Will the two men realize they truly need one another's companionship? The answers are obvious; as are the plot turns and the happy ending, but The Intouchables goes about its business with such mass-appeal precision that you don't really mind being manipulated. When someone can pull strings this skillfully, and quite transparently, almost daring the audience to resist, I almost admire the manipulation. Unlike Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, another blatantly manipulative teary adult drama, at least this movie succeeds because we care about the characters rather than just bad things happening to people onscreen. The Intouchables isn't subtle about its aims, but it is hard to resist a film this beguiling and tender and involving.

Sy (Micmacs) is the breakout star of the movie. His gregarious, jubilant charisma instantly engenders the character of Driss to the audience. He's constantly smiling, laughing, and cracking wise, and pushing others to be better. Sy brings such life to the movie that you instantly miss him when he's gone. Cluzet (Tell No One), a dead ringer for Dustin Hoffman, has the more restrained role, no pun intended. His performance has to be very controlled yet believable, and Cluzet does an admirable job of building a character from the neck up. He's a wounded man still recovering from the loss of his wife as well as his own crippling fears of loneliness. When these two are together onscreen, that's when all the movie's potential problems become a distant memory. The conviction in their big-hearted performances makes all the sentiment easy to swallow.

Several critics have accused the French film of being borderline racist. I think the charge of racism is overdone. Just because Driss' family lives in low-income housing doesn't mean it's making some blanket statement about the black experience in France. I suppose some chafe at the energetic, outspoken, and general virility of Driss. But I think critics looking for racist depictions of black males are overlooking the point that Driss had to be outspoken and energetic because Philippe is immobile and reticent. It's in service of character contrast, not just recapitulating the figure of Loud Outspoken Black Male (a.k.a. the modern-equivalent of the age-old Noble Savage treatment). The significant part of Driss is that he has a sketchy past and comes from a low-income family struggling to get by. His race certainly plays up the contrast between the world of white privilege in France, but it's not the central difference between these two men. Critics have also brought up the fact that the facts of the true-life story are different than what we see onscreen. Philippe's caregiver, Abdell Sellou, was a Muslim man from Algeria, not a black man from Senegal. Does this truly bother anybody? Does the man's heritage and ethnic background drastically alter the relationships formed or the earnest connections made? The movie doesn't seem to think so and closes with the real-life figures onscreen, showing to each audience member the adaptation differences. Unlike something as racially questionable as The Blind Side, Driss is not rescued by saintly white people; he is an active member in his own self-actualization and not a passive receptor of the benefits of rich white people. With that said, there are still a few moments of ethnic depictions that might make you cringe, like Driss' reaction to a night out at the hoity-toity opera.

During my viewing, I was reminded most of Scent of a Woman, another down-the-middle buddy comedy about a disabled man and his caregiver learning from one another and pushing beyond their comfort levels. It's emotional without being too squishy and funny without going overboard, but make no mistake: The Intouchables is just as formulaic as a Hollywood production. The story and conflicts are familiar, the afflictions and backgrounds only differ. It's feel-good, mass appeal comfort food, and when done this skillfully it's hard to resist its call (I had a similar reaction to last year's The Help). Its story of friendship, personal triumph, and all those happy things, but it's also emotionally manipulative, littered with undeveloped subplots and a few uncomfortable moments of ethnic depictions. Fortunately the shining, vibrant performances from Sy and Cluzet, and their chemistry together, elevate the film's softer and quasi-pandering sensibilities. It's the story of two men, and by the end we greatly care for these two men, and their deep friendship and appreciation of one another. The Intouchables is a sly crowd-pleaser that dares you to defy its mass charms. And with actors this good, resistance is futile.

Nate's Grade: B
Everett J

Super Reviewer

July 7, 2012
I don't usually watch a lot of foreign movies, but I saw a preview for this on "Nothing but Trailers" on HDNet and was hooked. "The Intouchables" is a French movie based on a true story. It's about a handicap millionaire who hires a street smart ex-con to be his caretaker, and the bond they form. It's very uplifting, touching, and most importantly hilarious. This is easily one of the funniest movies of the year, and it's from simple jokes or gestures. For example Driss(the caretaker) always tries to hand Phillippe(the handicap millionaire) the phone, knowing he can't use any part of his body neck down. Their relationship is genuine and makes this one of the better "buddy" flicks of the past few years. I watched with subtitles, and there are a lot of them, but it's so good that you forget your reading them. I would love to see this remade here in America, but something tells me it would severely lack the same heart/depth as the French version. This should be up for all the foreign category awards come Award season. Great movie, give it a chance, you won't be disappointed.
Mark H

Super Reviewer

February 21, 2012
The narrative explores the friendship between Philippe and Driss with tenderness and depth. The rapport of this implausible duo is explored in little vignettes that uses the structure, sans the love affair, of a romantic comedy. The account is based on a true story, and while the characterizations are unique, the set up is not. This is a buddy picture detailing how human beings want and need the same things regardless of ethnic or social class differences. Through discussions regarding music, recreational activities, even child rearing, we slowly get an impression of two men that have much more in comon than was originally believed. It's the performances that elevate this beyond the traditional odd-couple plot. The honesty draws the viewer into their situation. There is a genuine chemistry at work here. This is an upbeat story with a lot of heart with two marvelous performances at the center. After all how could 17.5 million French viewers be wrong?
Tired of Previews
Tired of Previews

Super Reviewer

June 7, 2012
Question: Can you positively alter someone's life by just being their friend? Do you think people possess the ability to change your life for the better even if you have given up on finding happiness?

Really think about it. People come in and out of our lives so much it is sometimes hard to focus on the few that help guide us onto a better path. We all have a tendency to dwell on the negatives: lost love, disappointments, failures, etc...and these details cloud our judgment or force us to distance ourselves from letting anyone get close again. But once in a great while someone appears in your life and pushes you out of your stubbornness. Well, I watched a wonderful French film, which was just released here in the US, about this very subject: The Intouchables.

This film revealed more than just two people who find a friendship. The core is about a relationship where both characters purposely distance others from knowing the real them because they don't think they were worthy until their symbiotic relationship helped opened their eyes and hearts. And what occurred next was magic. It was a truly remarkable film that both inspired and made me grateful for certain friendships I have in my life.

The Intouchables is not a love story, well, not the typical kind anyway. It is a story about two men who find a friendship based on loyalty and honesty. François Cluzet plays a very wealthy man, Philippe, who became a quadriplegic due to a paragliding accident and needs a caretaker. All the applicants either only last a week or are never hired until a man from the other side of the tracks cuts in line to get the interview over and done with. Driss, played by Omar Sy, has no desire to really work. Recently released from prison, Driss is required to prove he has applied for work but turned down in order to receive welfare benefits.

An unlikely candidate to be his caretaker, Driss is hired by Philippe because he possesses one quality that Philippe desperately wants. Driss takes the job to prove a point first to Philippe but then to himself. What is it that they both need or want? Well, I am not going to tell you. This film is simply wonderful and I want everyone to find out for themselves. The Intouchables is a film that warms the heart, makes you laugh and might even make you a bit misty-eyed.

I have not enjoyed a movie about friendship this much in a long time. The Intouchables displayed the miraculous happenings that occur when two people are meant to be in each other's lives. Friendships are many things to different pairs: companionship, loyalty, affection, or commonality. For the most part, however, it should be about lifting the other up and making sure they get what they need and deserve out of life - Happiness. It's that pure and simple.

Philippe's and Driss' friendship, based on a true story, was beautifully portrayed in this film. The acting by both men was flawless and the story was truly inspirational. And despite having to read subtitles, I kept up with the story very easily. The message of the film translates to any language: Real, true friendship is rare, and you should keep it when you find it.

Based on the memoir "You Changed My Life" by Abdel Sellou.

My favorite thing: I really enjoyed the music scene. I smiled and giggled.

My least favorite thing: The relationship with the daughter was a little under developed.

Rating: R

Length: 112

Directed (and written ) by Olivier Nakache and Eric Toledano, Quad Productions, The Weinstein Company, 2011

Starring: François Cluzet, Omar Sy, Anne Le Ny, Audrey Fleurot,and Clotilde Mollet.

Genre: Comedy, Drama

Review: 9 out of 10
CloudStrife84
CloudStrife84

Super Reviewer

February 22, 2012
Save for a couple of action movies and the work by Jean Pierre Jeunet, French cinema remains a territory that I'm yet to fully explore. To be frank, it's probably because its loquacious dramas seem a little outside my personal preference. Something about this film though really captured my interest, and I figured there had to be a good reason for it making into the IMDB Top 250. Gratefully, those presumptions proved valid. Because what writer-directors Olivier Nakache and Eric Toledano has cooked up for us here, is an engaging true story, about a wheelchair-bound aristocrat (François Cluzet), who hires a young man from the ghetto (Omar Sy) to be his caretaker and personal assistant. Despite being from completely different worlds, they form a close and unlikely friendship, that is as touching as anything I've ever seen. Above all, however, it's an amazingly funny comedy, that base a great deal of its winning formula on the many culture clashes between the contrasting duo. They grow and develop together, taking lessons from each other's lives, while finding common ground through tragedy and humor alike. François Cluzet, who bears a spooky resemblance to Dustin Hoffman, is just as great as his American counterpart, and really gets into our hearts with his non-judgmental and open-minded demeanour. Omar Sy is superb as well, as the brusque and comically gifted Driss, who provide the biggest laughs in the film. A hilarious, uplifting and highly enjoyable gem of a picture, that deserves to be seen by a wider audience. Highly recommended!
Jens S

Super Reviewer

February 16, 2012
You haven't heard of this film? That's no surprise. It's French and currently leads the movie charts in a lot of European countries. By all means, I am no fan of the French cinema. There was Amelie and the Brotherhood of the Wolves and a whole lot of supposedly-meaningful, deep and boring drivel. And then this French film comes and blows the dust both off the comedy genre as well as all films that ever had a handicapped protagonist.

Here, rich and educated Philippe has to hire a new aide and decides for low-life crook Driss, who only shows up to the interview for a signature to soothe the employment bureau. Of course it's kind of predictable that the two men who couldn't have a more different background slowly become comfortable with each other and develop a friendship. But that story is told in such a refreshing, charming and hilariously funny way that you can't help but grin for two hours.

The film, much like its protagonist, refuses to wallow in self-pity and just wants to be treated like anyone else, which is exactly what Driss does, who doesn't even consider offering a special treatment or quit the disrespectful jokes. That makes it so much easier for the audience to care for the situation and the characters than in all the whiny and supposedly emphatic movies dealing with similar themes. That is wonderfully politically incorrect but never aims below the belt. The film easily walks that thin line for its entire length and celebrates the power of friendship with its light-hearted charm.

Apart from the smart and funny script that mostly works thanks to the great chemistry between Omar Sy (who should have a huge career waiting for him now) and Francois Cluzet (who looks so much like Dustin Hoffman it's puzzling), both of which deliver outstanding performances. And the best part: it's based on a true story. Easily the best comedy of the last couple of years. Makes you happy.
Carlos M

Super Reviewer

December 12, 2011
A conventional and predictable French comedy that offers few surprises, even though there are some good humorous moments and the actors deliver well their roles. The problem I guess is that it feels hard to accept the way the movie develops the unusual friendship between the two characters.
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

April 27, 2014
In "The Intouchables," feeling he has no chance at the job in question, all Driss(Omar Sy) wants to do is get his form signed, so he can continue with benefits after spending six months in prison. So, Magalie(Audrey Fleurot), the major domo to Philippe(Francois Cluzet), a super wealthy paraplegic, tells him to return the following day. When he does, Driss is amazed to learn he has the job to take care of Philippe in his daily activities, not to mention the living quarters that go along with it. But that's the easy part. The hard part is making it through the trial period.

Let's be honest. We've seen hundreds of movies like "The Intouchables" before and we will see hundreds more before it is all over. Except maybe not as patronizing or cliched as this one, with Margalie suffering worst in this category. For example, tough love is not the solution for every problem as I think everybody wants to work but can't due to a lack of jobs, especially ex-convicts. Yes, Philippe does bring up his ill-gotten wealth a couple of times and the classic music medley is a definite highlight. But that's kind of too little, too late to save this disappointing movie. And not to compare bagels to croissants, but I think the television series "Suits" did it much better in the giving somebody a chance department.
themoviewaffler.com
themoviewaffler.com

Super Reviewer

July 1, 2012
The most successful French movie of all time is a contemporary variation on "Driving Miss Daisy" and on this evidenceFrance has a lot of work to do on it's race relations. Mega rich cripple Francoise Cluzet hires Senegalese immigrant Omar Sy to take care of him. Had Sy's character been white it could have been a charming comedy but instead it's another patronizing tale of white people helping blacks to improve themselves. One jaw-dropping moment sees Sy told he looks like Barack Obama just because he's wearing a suit.
Page 1 of 129
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile