The Lone Ranger Reviews

Page 1 of 330
hunterjt13
Super Reviewer
½ May 27, 2014
The Long Ranger and Tonto battle a corrupt railroad developer.
For an action film, The Lone Ranger is mostly boring. Sure, some of the action sequences are well-choreographed, and the scenes hold a modicum of suspense, but the plot is so predictable that it fails to hold more than a little interest. What is more, the film is a mixed bag of realism and a Cliff's Notes version of Native mysticism. It's not an overtly racist film, but its treatment of Natives and Tonto speaks of ignorance rather than cruelty.
Johnny Depp plays Jack Sparrow without the British accent, and Armie Hammer is about as bland as they come.
Overall, this film is a poor effort from all involved.
Super Reviewer
July 6, 2013
Well....what can I say. I DO NOT think that Johnny Depp was miscast. I think that he was the best part of this silliness. In my opinion, it was the way this entire movie was presented that made it a silly mediocre film. I was a big fan as a kid of the original Lone Ranger, so I was very excited to see how they did this. It wasn't horrid, but it wasn't great, either. Plenty of things to laugh at, or with, though...
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2014
"The Lone Ranger" takes it's source material (somewhat) from the classic television series, and for the most part, this film fails miserably on all levels. Sure it's action sequences may be fun to watch, but the writers honestly had too much material to work with and it seems like too much is going on all at once, while still feeling very slow. Johnny Depp plays the same persona as always, and Armie Hammer just feels miscast in every way. This film has been bashed by critics and normally I would give sympathy to the filmmakers, who in this case have done a technically good job, but it is just one mistake after another and one cliche after the next. "The Lone Ranger," with better direction, better casting, and a much better script, could have been fun, but it's one of the most forgettable films in recent years.
Super Reviewer
½ February 28, 2014
It is true that it is overlong and has an irregular pacing (some editing required), but it manages to be a very entertaining popcorn movie, making the best of it all with a delicious slapstick humor, a gorgeous production design, top-notch visual effects and an amazing score.
Super Reviewer
½ January 16, 2013
It's two and half of the most spectacular hours you will see this year on film. A rousing thrill-ride that will bring out the kid in all of us. A tremendously entertaining and exhilarating action-packed adventure that you will love from start to finish. An instant classic that's filled with explosive gun-play, explosions, laughs and great fun that you cant miss. An astonishing epic adventure, even with all of its visual dazzle, it does not ignore that this film has a real big heart. A gorgeous backdrop of the landscape and shows very well that the western still knows how to be stunning. A smart, wickedly funny and wonderfully exciting action movie. A relentlessly heart-pounding and adrenaline-pumping good time at the movies. An action-packed roller-coaster ride that you wont be able to resist. Director, Gore Verbinski and Producer, Jerry Bruckheimer have done it again, creating another outstanding adventure film that will thrill and amuse you on any day or night. Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer are sensational, they have fun and truly great chemistry that just breathes new life into the original dynamic duo. Depp is funny, thrilling and terrific. Hammer is excellent, he has real charisma and potential as a leading man. William Fichtner is brilliant. Tom Wilkinson is fantastic.
MANUGINO
Super Reviewer
July 18, 2013
Never Take Off the Mask.

Very Good Film!! The Lone Ranger presents a new take on the classic characters the Lone Ranger and Tonto. This film is exactly what a summer movie should be and one fun ride that you most definitely don't want to miss. The Lone Ranger rides strong for several reasons that include direction, cinematography, casting, screenplay, special effects, pacing, acting, and story. Due to these reasons the Lone Ranger can gain a new younger fan base while still appealing to older fans or casual moviegoers. The bottom line is watch this movie and enjoy its incredible action and comedy that will surly rope you in.... And watch out for some throwbacks to the classic show.

In the 1930s, an elderly Tonto tells a young boy the tale of John Reid, the Lone Ranger. An idealistic lawyer, he rides with his brother and fellow Texas Rangers in pursuit of the notorious Butch Cavendish. Ambushed by the outlaw and left for dead, John Reid is rescued by the renegade Comanche, Tonto, at the insistence of a mysterious white horse and offers to help him to bring Cavendish to justice. Becoming a reluctant masked rider with a seemingly incomprehensible partner, Reid pursues the criminal against all obstacles. However, John and Tonto learn that Cavendish is only part of a far greater injustice and the pair must fight it in an adventure that would make them a legend.
Super Reviewer
½ October 9, 2013
'Ah...you big flop Kemosahbee' Not happy with giving pirates a good kick up the wazoo, Verbinski turns his attentions to the wild west and the positively ancient character of 'The Lone Ranger' (and 'Tonto'). If ever there was a more cliched, old fashioned, easy going child appealing character its this guy...and he's been given the Bay treatment by his close work colleague Bruckheimer.

You only gotta look at the details in TV history here. This cowboy wears a brilliant white stetson, has silver pistols, silver bullets, often wears a one coloured outfit of grey, a red scarf round his neck, he never shoots to kill, he speaks well, he doesn't drink or smoke, his horse is also brilliant white and called Silver, he wears a mask which he never removes and he yells out 'Hi-Yo, Silver! Away!'. Yet despite all that the powers that be seemed determined to add a modern day semi serious feel with explosions, destruction porn and violence to this charming characters universe.

This creates conflict straight away because the film makers have given the film a more sensible approach, there is death and the bad guys are reasonably nasty. But then against that you have this ridiculous character who refuses to shoot anyone because its not right, hates guns and pretty much refuses to touch them. The dude goes around trying to arrest people merely with the power of his voice and his badge, it just doesn't work, these guys have guns and will shoot you in the face.

I didn't know the backstory to this guy so after a bit of reading I was actually stunned to discover this new film has followed the origins pretty accurately. 'John Reid' goes off with his brother to capture the outlaw 'Butch Cavendish' but they are betrayed by one of their own and ambushed. All are killed accept for Reid who is saved by Tonto the clown...errr I mean Native Indian. From this point on the duo work together, kinda, to capture Cavendish.

The story is told in part as narration by an elderly Tonto who for some reason is on display in a museum? wut?. The guy is in an actual display case and appears to come to life in front of a young boy dressed as the Ranger. The whole idea is completely irrelevant and ineffectual, plus no one around seems to notice or care and the boy seems OK with it...so moving on.

We all know the angle they were going for here, everyone has seen 'Pirates of the Caribbean', so it was no surprise at all that the escape of bad guy Cavendish at the start of the film snowballed into a gigantic action sequence that ends in a train crash. Not content with a simple stick em up! we are given this outrageously over the top sequence which is peppered with little touches that are suppose to be amusing but aren't. I can't deny it looks damn impressive but its so insanely stupid no one should of survived the events that occurred. Hook yourselves up to the suspension of disbelief machine folks, you're gonna need a lung full for this one.

Most of the film follows these two characters around from location to location as they attempt to find their quarry, of course as this is a comedy they bicker and fight the whole time. In and out of one dangerous situation after another meeting people who don't really matter (Bonham Carter). I still don't quite get how Tonto got out of that jail he was thrown in at the start, or when Reid wakes on top of that massive wooden structure which teetered dangerously on that tall thin enormous rock which had no apparent way up or down. Next scene he's on the ground talking to Tonto! what the hell!?.

Must admit the casting is good in this, some of the main characters are portrayed well. Depp pretty much does what he does in all his films these days, he really doesn't like to stray from his self made winning formula. In short he does the job but we've seen it all before and it doesn't really stand up as well anymore. Armie Hammer? sounds like a lavatory disinfectant, he isn't too bad truth be told. He looks the part and sounds the part, he plays it a bit wet though, not sure which of the two main heroes is suppose to be the trousers of the operation as both are pretty drippy but I quite liked Hammer's performance. The best performance is easily Tom Wilkinson as the railroad tycoon who we know from the start is really the bad guy...its the facial hair and wicked grin. He puts in a sturdy offering with a serious tone, maybe too serious for the film, but he's good. I guess the same could be said for Fichtner as Cavendish, he's good but maybe a bit too serious for this film, have to remember this franchise is very lightweight...or its suppose to be.

I guess the main thing about this whole film is its not really anything to do with the Lone Ranger. Sure it has the Lone Ranger and Tonto in it but everything else is simply your run of the mill action movie fodder dressed in western garb. You still have every darn action cliche in the book and every darn western cliche in there too...obviously. They stick the classic Ranger theme tune in there once or twice just to make sure you haven't forgotten its based on the Lone Ranger but my god does that theme stick out like a sore thumb.

You have all this furious action with horses galloping on the tops of train carriages, a massive bridge getting blown to smithereens, heavy machine gun fire ripping things apart, people leaping from train to train, implausible stunts galore and a train plummeting off the destroyed bridge into a ravine. Against all that you then have this age old theme tune trumpeting away, but it just doesn't sit right at all, totally misplaced and it feels very silly indeed.

The best thing about this film is the visuals, the location work is beautiful. Mother Earth looks glorious every step of the way and along with some excellent costumes, sets, props and camera work this film couldn't look any better. Weeeeeell accept for the CGI horses leaping about all over the place and bluescreen moments that is. The film is kinda enjoyable but its a real mess, conflicting ideas and genres as a seriously dated character is dragged into the modern era and you can see quite clearly it doesn't really gel.
thmtsang
Super Reviewer
October 6, 2013
Amusing story about the legend of the Lone Ranger. Good cast and interesting storyline.
Super Reviewer
½ June 9, 2013
Having never seen the original Lone Ranger, it was nice to be introduced to the story. But WHY do directors think to be a "blockbuster", the movie needs to be more than 2 hours? The story drags and simple editing could have made this movie more enjoyable. I waited tables and to make money... we had to turn tables. This movie was too long and if it turned screens at theaters more often, MAYBE it would have done better at the box office.
Super Reviewer
½ August 13, 2013
Johnny Depp sometimes hams it up as Tonto, who he plays as a Native American sacred clown or trickster figure. While the movie is a little long and Depp over acts at time, I enjoyed the great scenery of Monument Valley and seeing Armie Hammer become the Long Ranger. His sacred journey to becoming a spirit walker is full of magical realism which is so over the top that it can be distracting. However, I finally took this movie as a live action Disney cartoon, full of improbable events and yet very entertaining. Perhaps there is no way a movie that cost this much but satirizes American capitalism, can satisfy critics, but I found it fun and serious at the same time. Armie Hammer's transformation from tender foot to avenging spirit was believable to me but I still fondly remembers Clayton Moore when he was no longer allowed to wear the mask. But in today's world a Robin Hood type is still a good ideal to have. To all of us who long for more social justice in the world sometimes you have to put on the mask.
Super Reviewer
August 3, 2013
Some people love it, some other hate it. As for me, I think it was a decent film. Although it is a little bit too long and you can feel it boring at some point, never less it has very good action moments and very good humor too. Johnny Depp as Tonto is quite excellent, some people say that he resembles with their other characters, I don't see it but anyway he steals the movie. The one I feel kinda weak as the Lone Ranger was Armie Hammer, he really doesn't convince me at all. In conclusion, I think The Lone Ranger was enjoyable and entetaining. The typical summer movie you want to see to spend a good time.
Super Reviewer
½ July 21, 2013
It's no surprise that 'The Lone Ranger's harsh tonal shifts are the film's largest negative effect. On one hand you have a solid and well shot western, but on the other you have an action adventure tale a lá 'The Pirates of the Caribbean' movies. Verbinski fails to balance the two and find a smooth transition between them. That being said, 'The Lone Ranger' is an entertaining summer film, even if fans will be disappointed and thinking of what could have been.
ajaymuthecooldevils
Super Reviewer
July 24, 2013
Disney once again failed to shine through their live action movie since the not that success 'Pirates of the Caribbean : On Stranger Tides' then followed by 'John Carter', and this time even though Johnny Depp and Gore Verbinski himself cannot save this movie.. The story is just too long, and a little boring just like the western type movies always be..
skactopus
Super Reviewer
½ July 21, 2013
Gore Verbinski's The Lone Ranger should have been called Tonto.While the story revolves heavily on The Lone Ranger character, it has just as much plot details and emphasis on Tonto. Guess that 2 hour 30 minute run time makes sense. With that said, the film is still too long for its own good. The story moves and the character development is there, but there is room for chop offs.The comedy is subtle, yet effective. As for the action, the train scene sums it up nicely; solidly written with welcome CG to top if off.It's no surprise that Johnny Depp is a show stealer and when all is said and done, he is the most memorable of everyone. Even with the likes of Armie Hammer, William Fichtner, Barry Pepper, and Tom Wilkinson, who all get the job done, this film belongs to Depp.The Lone Ranger exceeds in all places, and while not a must buy, it is a recommendable picture.
Super Reviewer
½ July 18, 2013
There's a lot to love about the movie than there is to hate, so I'm actually somewhat stumped by RT's incredibly low rating for The Lone Ranger.

The story isn't terribly obvious with a lot of Western sensibilities told in a modern voice that I really appreciated. (Progress vs Tradition/Legend) As usual, Depp does a wonderful job bringing his comic/quirky character to life and even Hammer does a splendid job coming off as an awkward every-day man despite his obvious good looks.

It's less fantastical and wondrous than the PoTC series but I think it was smart of them to move away from the franchise and try something a little more sophisticated and dramatized.

The premise didn't seem to have much to work with in terms of action (Desert, rocks, horses, gunfights, bland stuff) but all the set pieces get pretty creative, especially the final montage of locomotive bonanza.

In the end the movie didn't feel too long for me, granted I'm sure they could've cut some stuff out but it's a pretty robust story. I'm also not one to complain because by the end of it I was thoroughly entertained by Hammer's naive idealist transformed to vigilantism, Tonto's quest for vengeance and reclamation... and a whole lot of fun :]
Super Reviewer
July 7, 2013
Hallowed ground here, one of the icons of my golden, untarnished, unsullied youth, handled by that whole dirty, lowdown Pirates crew ... that's not a recommendation, its a warning. But after viewing, well, a grudging respect. Its not a perfect work, but ... Tonto's part (indeed the Native American's) is given much needed weight. The Ranger himself is given some needed backstory and the finale, literally a rollercoaster ride, well, all in all, it ain't too bad, but here is the example of all the ingredients being on hand yet lacking some aging. Ravaged at the box office and by the media (and its better than they say it is) I'm thinking this one is gonna age well and'll be one that folks'll ask later on "why didn't they follow it up?"
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
½ July 12, 2013
I was expecting something truly wonderful with The Lone Ranger, considering that Gore Verbinski is a great filmmaker and he has made some impressive films in the past. However, this is a failed picture that really doesn't deliver on its interesting concept. The film's biggest problem is that it is a movie that really doesn't take off and it is simply boring and quite pointless in terms of trying to create a strong story that really should have been much better than this. Johnny Depp, who is a great actor normally is wasted here and he is quite silly in the role he plays, but not in a good way. The Lone Ranger is a bad movie that isn't worth your time. The only good part is that it's a nice looking film, but that's about it. Right now, there are far better films to check out this year and it's a shame that this one ended up so flat in terms of storytelling and effective acting and directing. Depp has made better films in the last few years, but this is by far his worst since The Tourist. Don't expect a thrilling action packed ride like Pirates of the Caribbean as there are only a few action packed scenes here and there and for a film that has a two hour run time, this is quite a disappointment for both Depp fans and Verbinski fans. Luckily, I'm sure that Depp and Verbinski will rebound from this disaster and everyone will forget about this mess. The Lone Ranger should have used a rewrite or two before being green lighted. As it is, it really is one of the year's worst films, but it's not as bad as Texas Chainsaw or After Earth even. If you watch it, don't expect much, there's nothing here to really thrill an audience.
Super Reviewer
½ August 15, 2012
A ''Lone Ranger'' film could really work if treated properly and this isn't that film. Overlong, dull and unfocused, Gore Verbinski's take on the well-known character is a mess in every department.
blkbomb
Super Reviewer
½ February 15, 2013
Tonto: Horse says you are a spirit walker. A man who's been to the other side and returned. A man who cannot be killed in battle.

"Never Take Off The Mask"

The Lone Ranger was a bit of a disappointment. I thought the film had great promise going in and I was hoping for something along the lines of Pirates of the Caribbean when it came to quality. Unfortunately the latest re-team of Gore Verbinski and Johnny Depp lacks anything truly special, and in the end all it was, was a predictable, forgettable film. That isn't to say I completely hated it though. The huge budget was definitely used. The settings are fantastic, the movie is beautiful to look at, and there's some light hearted comedy that works, at times.

John Reid is on his way to his hometown where he will be the prosecutor. On the train ride there, there's two men locked up. One is an Indian named Tonto and the other is a murderer named Butch Cavendish who is supposed to hang for his crimes. Butch escapes from the train and through some events Tonto and John become friends. They try to find Butch and bring him back to justice.

This is a really silly film. It also tries much too hard to create laughs. There were a few, but for the most part, the jokes were pretty standard and lacked real amusement. It's not a hard movie to sit through though. Despite the fact that the characters were rather uninteresting and the plot developments could be seen from an act away, it's still a reasonably entertaining and fun film. I could see the little kids really loving this.

In the end, The Lone Ranger was a disappointment though. I wish it would have been far better because the trailer showed a lot of promise and the cast and director are very talented. It all seemed like quite a waste in the end though. The cast was subjected to weak characters and pointless dialogue. For parents, the kids may like it, but more than likely the only rewarding aspect for parents is that their kids might be quiet for more then two hours.
Page 1 of 330