Opening

67% The Maze Runner Sep 19
69% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
91% The Guest Sep 17
83% Tracks Sep 19

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
89% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
70% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

31% The Mysteries of Laura: Season 1
61% Red Band Society: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— The League: Season 6
56% Legends: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
Top Critic IconTop Critic

[I]t goes on forever.

Full Review Source: Ebert & Roeper

December 27, 2001
Brian Orndorf
Modamag.com

Maybe it's too early to criticize the trilogy when we're just getting started. However, if this signals the direction the series is going to go, I'm not sure if I care to find out what happens to Frodo, Sauron and those pesky golden rings.

Full Review Source: Modamag.com | Original Score: 5/10

December 19, 2001
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's full of scenic splendors with a fine sense of scale, but its narrative thrust seems relatively pro forma, and I was bored by the battle scenes.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

March 5, 2008
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly

It's a collection of spectacular set pieces without any sense of momentum driving them into one another. The damn thing just goes on and on.

Full Review Source: Philadelphia Weekly | Original Score: B-

December 22, 2001
Sean O'Connell
Eclipse Magazine

Endless close-ups of Wood's icy eyes and repeated zooms on the golden ring fail to draw us in to what's supposed to be a riveting quest.

Full Review Source: Eclipse Magazine

December 18, 2001
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly

It is imaginative, fierce, even thrilling in spots. Nevertheless, as the curtain comes down, the credits should read Game Over, not The End.

Full Review Source: Boulder Weekly

September 23, 2004
Daniel M. Kimmel
Worcester Telegram & Gazette

Everyone on screen is all exercised about Frodo's mission, but after three hours it's hard to see why anyone in the audience should be.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5

January 1, 2004
Leah Rozen
People Magazine

All this plays like a giant game of Myst, with Ring's mythical characters never making the leap from virtual reality to real.

Full Review Source: People Magazine

November 18, 2013
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan

I hope the next two episodes are better.

Full Review Source: San Diego Metropolitan

October 21, 2002
Josh Gilchrist
Billings Outpost (Montana)

..I still came away empty, wanting more. I was expecting something that I could get lost in but instead found myself wading through some things that were less than satisfactory.

June 19, 2002
Jason Clark
Matinee Magazine

For all of its good choices, there's something deeply wanting about Jackson's vision

Full Review Source: Matinee Magazine

August 5, 2002
Alex Sandell
Juicy Cerebellum

It is remarkably well made . . . too bad it wasn't equally entertaining.

Full Review Source: Juicy Cerebellum

December 20, 2001
Blake French
NutzWorld

The only thing worse than a bad movie that thinks it is good is a three hour long bad movie that thinks it is good.

| Original Score: 2/4

May 16, 2002
David Sterritt
Christian Science Monitor

Oodles of technical talent are no substitute for plain old inspiration. Jackson has been working on the Rings project for years, and somewhere along the way his reverence for Tolkien appears to have intimidated his imagination.

Full Review Source: Christian Science Monitor

November 18, 2013
Ross Anthony
Hollywood Report Card

definitely an epic undertaking, long with intermittent brazen fight scenes

Full Review Source: Hollywood Report Card | Original Score: 2/4

December 12, 2001
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian

The Fellowship of the Ring resembles from certain angles nothing so much as a 178-minute electric mandolin solo.

Full Review Source: Guardian

December 16, 2001
David Elliott
San Diego Union-Tribune

The sights are ga-ga, but the storytelling gets fairly turgid.

Full Review Source: San Diego Union-Tribune

December 18, 2001
Scott A. Mantz
Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews

I can't help it. I was just bored of the Rings.

Full Review Source: Scott Mantz' Movie Reviews | Original Score: 3/5

January 4, 2002
Peter Rainer
New York Magazine/Vulture
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Tolkien completists won't find any of this overkill, but for those uninitiates among us, less is more is still a dictum worth heeding.

Full Review Source: New York Magazine/Vulture

January 22, 2002
Jason Zingale
Bullz-Eye.com

It's finally here. The adaptation of the first installment from J.R.R. Tolkien's "The Lord of the Rings" series, and all I have to say is, "Wow."

Full Review Source: Bullz-Eye.com | Original Score: 4/5

July 5, 2005
Sam Adams
Philadelphia City Paper
December 22, 2001
Page 1 of 11
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile