• Directed By:
    Paul Thomas Anderson
    In Theaters:
    Sep 14, 2012 Limited
    On DVD:
    Feb 26, 2013
  • The Weinstein Company

Oscar Nominations

i have a feeling that The Master will get knocked out of a few of categories at the oscars. First up, i think Joaquin's comments on the Oscars will not only rob him of a best actor win (imo more deserving than day-lewis), but will be knocked out of the category entirely. there are many performances that are deserving of a nomination, and i think they will make room for them by knocking out joaquin.

i also think that The Master is teetering on the edge of best picture. it should get a nomination. heck, it probably should be a frontrunner, but the film has lost momentum and did poorly at the box office. i do hope it gets a nomination, because it is one of the best of the year (if not the best) and should get one. but with an independent film like beasts of the southern wild pushing for a nom, there can only be a certain number of independent/arthouse films that can get a nomination.

other categories that may be out of the master's grasp is best director, best editing, best cinematography and best costume design. PTA should deffs get nominated for best director, but early wraps for Kathryn Bigelow's Zero Dark Thirty may squeeze him out of a nominaton.

what does everyone else think about The Master's Oscar chances? at the end of the day, The Master is a film that will be discussed and analysed for many years to come, and the Oscars are becoming less and less relevant, so it doesnt really matter. but no matter how many great films get snubbed each year and how many films win Oscars undeservedly, i still get pissed when films that i connect with arent given their due on Oscar night.
Seb M
12-1-2012 03:59 AM

Thread Replies

Please log in to participate in this forum.

Zane B

Chum Chum