The Muppets Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Ed Whitfield
The Ooh Tray
February 13, 2012
Henson's Muppets had a nice line in dry wit. They were anarchic. Segel's are corporate stooges.
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs
January 3, 2012
I am a fan of The Muppets and I'm glad to see them making a comeback. Maybe if this movie is a hit, they'll make a sequel where they'll actually get to be the stars of their own film.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Phil Villarreal
OK! Magazine
December 3, 2011
Overall I found the movie a bit too cloying and self-aware to distinguish itself from the mass of kiddie flick pap.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Justin Strout
Orlando Weekly
January 4, 2012
Under James Bobin's direction, however, the outing feels cheap and strangely small-screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
May 2, 2012
As a died-in-the-wool Muppets fan, this overripe nostalgia trip only almost captures that Henson magic. There are moments of exhuberance, but they're scattered and isolated.
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
November 23, 2011
Except for a few good zingers from balcony dwellers Statler and Waldorf, there isn't much here for mom and dad.
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
November 22, 2011
Desperately trying to appeal to not just the Gen Xers who grew up with Kermit, Miss Piggy, and Dr. Teeth, but also the tykes who've never even heard of Jim Henson, The Muppets has none of the easy confidence of the original TV show or the 1979 movie.
Philip French
Observer [UK]
February 11, 2012
The film's broad smiles and big-heartedness are bracingly disingenuous, the self-referential jokes well handled. Only the affection emanating from the audience is sincere.
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
November 23, 2011
The Muppet charm, always more at home within the intimate frame of a TV set, is gone here.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Will Leitch
June 22, 2013
The Muppets never went away, and "The Muppets" is a celebration of that. It's time to play the music, and it's time to light the lights.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Ben Kendrick
October 2, 2012
A Muppet film that not only lives up to the franchise legacy and, for some, might just end up being one of their all-time favorite adventures with Kermit and the gang.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Amy Curtis
We Got This Covered
September 22, 2012
The muppets are back, just like we remember them, with catchy tunes and meta humor. Also, a great cast of cameo appearances is paired with a fun story and iconic characters that haven't been detrimentally modernized.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
September 4, 2012
A luminous and loving tribute to the man who breathed life into nothing but felt and faux fur.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Donald Clarke
Irish Times
March 19, 2012
If you're not a joyless maniac with a soul of anthracite then you will work hard to imagine how this project could have been better handled.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Cameron Williams
The Popcorn Junkie
March 8, 2012
Warrants multiple viewings. I am currently considering raising my children on this film. If you don't come out feeling complete joy, you might want to check with your parents that they didn't find you in a crashed spaceship in a cornfield.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Neil Pond
American Profile
December 8, 2011
Jubilantly renews the signature mix of craziness, cleverness and camp that made the Muppets multimedia superstars in a previous entertainment era.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Tom Brennan
Dark Horizons
January 3, 2012
The Muppets is a celebration of all things Muppets -- filled with fun, laughter and moments of pure joy.
Ann Lewinson
Boston Phoenix
November 21, 2011
Mostly, The Muppets is a cry for decency from a couple of guys who have done their part to coarsen the culture - which may be the greatest irony of all.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Grae Drake
November 22, 2011
Thanks Muppets, for reminding me what I am supposed to be, and how life's a happy song when there's someone by your side to sing along.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Mathew DeKinder
Suburban Journals of St. Louis
November 23, 2011
At their best, the Muppets embody a sort of moral anarchy, as the weirdest stuff can happen at any given moment, but you know it's going to be funny and you know no one is going to get hurt (they are just puppets after all).
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Richard Roeper
March 10, 2012
Leonard Maltin
March 10, 2012

Urban Cinefile
May 11, 2012

Sight and Sound
June 18, 2012
Page 1 of 11