The Odd Life of Timothy Green Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Al Alexander
The Patriot Ledger
May 26, 2013

Instead of wanting to turn over a new "leaf," I wound up OD-ing on sap.

Full Review | Original Score: C
Jamie Neish
HeyUGuys
April 5, 2013

The Odd Life of Timothy Green, finds Disney at an altogether new low, capped off by a cringeworthy dance sequence that will make you scream for Timothy to crawl back into his magical hole.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Will Salmon
SFX Magazine
April 10, 2013

It looks and sounds like your average family feelgood movie, but everything else about it is just plain odd.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
David Guzman
Film Journal International
November 16, 2012

Sappy family drama never overcomes its peculiar fantasy premise.

Mark Ellis
Schmoes Know
August 18, 2012

Usually I can get into this movies, I get invested, I want to root for the characters but it took to long to get anywhere in this movie. There wasn't that Disney magic sprinkle you'd think would be in a movie like this.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Kristian Harloff
Schmoes Know
August 18, 2012

It almost got me, it almost did. The overall storyline had promise, but this film just didn't quite have that magic touch that it could have. I was expecting forrest Gump meets D.A.R.Y.L and instead I got- Who cares with Leaves.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Amanda Mae Meyncke
Film.com
Top Critic
August 22, 2012

The film is schmaltzy and very saccharine, so sweet it'll give you a toothache.

Full Review | Original Score: C+
Matt Maytum
Total Film
March 22, 2013

An outdated oddity.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Ann Lewinson
Kansas City Star
August 15, 2012

"The Odd Life" is not just odd, it's morbid and morose.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Elise Nakhnikian
Slant Magazine
August 13, 2012

Disney draws a big fat bullseye on the fast-growing infertile-couple demographic with this airless misfire.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
Top Critic
August 16, 2012

It's hard to believe that Hedges once wrote some decent light fiction (What's Eating Gilbert Grape, An Ocean in Iowa) before he started making greeting-card movies like Dan in Real Life and this one.

Siobhan Synnot
Scotsman
April 1, 2013

This 
is wholesome whimsy, but only the very green can fail 
to spot where the plot is heading after the first leaf drops and the symbolism needs pruning.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Christopher Lloyd
Sarasota Herald-Tribune
August 18, 2012

I'm all up for a good mushy movie, but this one is softer in the head than the heart. The screenplay skims over important events or exchanges as if it's describing what happens rather than actually showing it. This film doesn't earn its moments.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
August 15, 2012

It's not quite goofy enough to appeal primarily to kids, but it's also too simplistic and underdeveloped to grab most adult viewers.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Annlee Ellingson
Paste Magazine
August 16, 2012

Writer-director Peter Hedges' family fantasy drama is sentimental and slickly produced--as well as thinly plotted and somewhat thematically disquieting.

Full Review | Original Score: 5.5/10
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service
August 15, 2012

An achingly sweet parent-and-child tearjerker that's every bit as precious as its title.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Ed Gibbs
The Sunday Age
May 19, 2013

As odd as the title suggests, this is a strange and dreadfully overwrought family yarn.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Alan Jones
Radio Times
April 12, 2013

Not so much moving as stomach churning.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express
April 4, 2013

A bizarre parable about parenting, the picture is nicely acted and occasionally touching but the lugubrious story is both dull and preposterous.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jordan Hoffman
ScreenCrush
August 15, 2012

My eyes rolled so many times I probably looked like I was having a stroke.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Page 1 of 7