Opening

92% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
76% Get On Up Aug 01
88% Calvary Aug 01
0% Behaving Badly Aug 01
38% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

61% Lucy $43.9M
63% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
18% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
15% And So It Goes $4.6M
25% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
62% Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
87% What If Aug 08

Premieres Tonight

—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

44% Power: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
40% The Killing: Season 4

The Odd Life of Timothy Green Reviews

Page 1 of 95
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

March 1, 2013
When I saw the previews of this movie, I honestly thought that it looked kind of silly. Well..I couldn't have been more wrong. This fantasy movie was just wonderful. It was sweet, funny, charming, and a complete all around wonderfully likeable family film. If this movie doesn't warm your heart, nothing will....
boxman
boxman

Super Reviewer

January 19, 2013
My friend and critical colleague Ben Bailey had warned me about The Odd Life of Timothy Green and he quite eloquently voiced his dumbfounded musings, which I will try my best not to knowingly replicate though I'm sure there will be some carryover. But whatever he wrote could not prepare me for what I ultimately got with The Odd Life of Timothy Green. Ladies and gentlemen, I think this movie broke my brain.

Cindy and Jim Green (Jennifer Garner and Joel Edgerton) are having trouble conceiving a child. One night they write a list of their hopes for a future child, place them in a box, and bury this chest of hopes in their garden. The next day they are shocked to discover a child covered in dirt claiming to be their son, Timothy (CJ Adams). He is the physical manifestation of all those buried hopes and wishes with some leaves attached to his ankles. The Greens take their magical parenthood in stride, trying their best to impart wisdom to their new son. They teach the kid how to play soccer, stand up to bullies, and interact with other human beings. Timothy has a secret he can't bring himself to tell his new mom and dad, but if you have a hard time figuring out what his leaves falling off means, then there's nothing I can do for you.

I feel like I just watched a movie where every person on Earth is depicted as being insane. Not goofy, not eccentric, not a little funny, no, we're talking get the butterfly nets and padded cells. I feel partially insane just having watched the film, obviously still suffering from a contact buzz of insanity. I accept suspension of disbelief and that fantasy-based family films are going to have a whimsical nature to them. We cannot apply every rule of reality and logic to them, and I accept this. But The Odd Life of Timothy Green seems to exist in a fractured, cracked version of our own world, where the most bizarre and fantastical elements are just given a halfhearted shoulder shrug. People react to otherworldly events as if they were doing laundry. Where's the awe? Or, more so, where is the skepticism? Seriously, if anybody told you they grew a child from a garden, would you accept this notion at face value? Their great piece of proof is that the kid has leaves attached to his ankles. Don't you think, I don't know, the parents could have taped those on? Beyond one guy, no one investigates this strange botanical phenomenon or even has the slightest inclination to. Where's the intellectual curiosity, people? It's like everyone in town has a lobotomy. Is there not one person in this small town that will dare stand and say, "You know, I think I'm going to require more empirical evidence to buy the story that this kid was formerly plant food." And then they ran that one man out of town on a rail and salted his land.

Timothy Green tries to gather a slew of messages and feel-good moments; it's just that none of them feel coherent or truly earned. The parents don't feel like responsible or even interesting adults. I understand we're not going to dwell too much on the disappointments of a couple unsuccessful in conceiving a child (this is becoming an odd trend for Garner), but I expected more than one good cry and a bottle of wine. I want to empathize with these people but the movie makes it impossible time and again with their nonsensical behavior; it's like they're adults as envisioned by a child. On that note, I think the movie probably makes more sense from a fantasy point of view to flip the participants. It seems more likely that a child would try and grow new, ideal parents only to learn a lesson about the duds they're stuck with. The Green family members all work one-note, whether it's the snide sister (Rosemarie DeWitt), the slaphappy grandpappy (M. Emmet Walsh), or the emotionally distant dad (David Morse), it's all a tiny nub of characterization that gets whittled down to nothing. And then Timothy just seems to step into everyone's lives and change them forever with little effort. He gets an older girl to fall in love with him, his father to stand up for himself and his family, and all the not nice people in town to be somewhat less not nice. He gets his mom to speak her mind to her bitchy boss (Dianne Wiest), which ends up getting her fired, so it's a mixed message.

You want a prime example of this film's collective shared insanity? Take this line from one of the board members from the town pencil factory: "If this boy can have leaves on his ankles, then we can make a pencil out of leaves." What exactly does one have to do with the other, you may ask? I suppose it's some claptrap about what is truly possible or whatever. My apologies to Ben Bailey for treading ground he has examined closely, but this cautionary line of dialogue glows with the intensity of 100 neon signs. It's everything that is wrong and crazy about this movie, and the fact that it is spoken without a hint of irony or humor is all the more galling.

Here's my problem with Timothy the life-changer: the kid is a dullard. He has no personality, he has no real insights or perceptions into life, he's not funny, he's not that interesting, and he eerily stays in the same modulated emotional presence. I found this kid far more unintentionally creepy than endearing. On paper, Timothy Green sounds like it should be a horror film and not the saccharine family slop that it is. Timothy just comes across like a rather band kid with some weird tendencies, like his repeated inclination to soak up any sunny opportunity to photosynthesize (he gives Scott Stapp a run for his arms-wide-open pose throne). If a character is going to touch people's lives and change their perspectives on life, then at least make that person fitting of praise. This kid just seems like a hazy mystic that's playing it as he goes. Come to think of it, did anyone see him do anything superhuman? Cindy and Jim didn't even find him in the garden, only inside their home covered in dirt. Who's to say that young Timothy Green wasn't a con artist this whole time?

Then, likely as a defensive means to sooth my ailing brain, I started coming up with my own version of where Timothy Green should have gone. The ability to write down a bunch of general attributes and then grow a child seems too good to pass up. I desire more of this unique child cultivation process. For instance, Cindy and Jim want their kid to rock out as a musician, but they simply write "rocks" on their slip of paper before burying it. How is the magical entity that raises mutant plant kids going to be able to understand what the family intends with this vague entry? What if Timothy Green was born with rocks in his head? I wanted the film to simply turn into a comical version of The Monkey's Paw, where every new version of Timothy Green would go horribly wrong. The first was born and then immediately suffocated because Cindy and Jim forgot to write "working lungs." Then there would be the Timothy born with a "hunger for life" and become a cannibalistic plant zombie. Or the Timothy born with "his mother's heart" and then upon his birth Cindy's heart would go missing. What I wanted was a macabre trail and error game where the would-be parents had to refine exactly what they were asking for with the nondescript magical being in charge of answering hopeful parents. I want The Odd Lives of Timothy Green and I want Cindy and Jim to have to bury all the malfunctioning prototypes in the same garden. Then, when they do perfect their perfect kid, the police find a yard littered with the corpses of children and haul them away.

The movie is told through the framing device of the Greens telling their story to the adoption agency, and why this adoption agency continues to listen after, "We grew a boy in our yard," is beyond my guess. In a film breaking every boundary of believability known to mankind, this aspect to me seems the most incredulous. This is an adoption agency with standards and rules to follow, and to think they would allow a couple to drone on and on about their magical child that grew from a garden and changed people's lives, instead of calling security and having them escorted from the premises, followed home, and then have their home exhumed for human remains of this child, is beyond me. And then, spoiler alert, they get a kid in the end. What adoption agency could reasonably and responsibly allow these two people, with no physical shred of evidence about their magical child other than some leaves and testimonies, to care for another human being?

Allow me to also question the sincerity of these two damaged people especially concerning their desire for a child. It sure seems like Cindy and Jim are planning on using their present and/or future child as means of settling some longstanding scores between relatives. When it looks like timothy is finally going to do well in soccer, that's when they pounce, airing out their resentments. Cindy brattily unloads against her sister: "I've had to listen to your perfect kids, well look at my kid! That's my kid!" And then Jim finally let's his distant father have a piece of his mind: "I could have been a good player too, dad. I had skills. If only you would have been more supportive." Am I supposed to find any of this funny, because it comes across as far more sad. I feel like the reason that Cindy and Jim want a child is to desperately prove to their family that they are superior parents. It feels like one very crazy way of proving a point and one where the child will suffer, especially if he or she cannot live to a degree of excellence to provide mom and dad filial ammunition. Another example: both Cindy and Jim are oddly very jealous over the relationship their pseudo son forms with the slightly older gal, Joni (Odeya Rush). They try and talk him out of spending time with her, arguing there are so many fish in the sea for him to pay attention to. Are you really laying the argument that a 10-year-old should be playing the field? It also seems weirdly petty and controlling for two supposed adults to be jealous that their son chooses to spend part of his waking hours with another human being. So, does that sound like a loving and healthy family?

The Odd Life of Timothy Green is certainly odd but probably not for the reasons that Disney or the filmmakers had in mind. It feels like it exists in an alternative universe where everyone lacks any common sense, curiosity, or relatable human emotions. Nobody acts like a recognizable human being in this film, not for a single second. These people are all zombies, cowed into the cult of Timothy, the magical and, ultimately, messianic figure. But allow me to declare the emperor has no clothes. This Timothy is not worthy of the adulation he receives. He walks around like an ecological Forrest Gump, spitting sappy platitudes and changing lives with the insipid nature of all these easy messages. I wish I could say there was one genuine moment in this movie, but I cannot. It takes a magical premise and suffocates it with unearned solemnity. Why can't a movie about growing a kid in your garden try and be, you know, fun? Well, I suppose embarrassing music recitals and kids getting hit in the head could be mistaken for fun, but I prefer a well developed story, characters I care about, and a genuine sense of enchantment to go with the supernatural. If we can make a movie about a kid with leaves on his ankles, then we can turn any sort of half-formed maudlin pap into family entertainment. Kids deserve better than The Odd Life of Timothy Green, and, for the record, so do plants.

Nate's Grade: D
Everett J

Super Reviewer

January 4, 2013
"Odd Life of Timothy Green" is one of those movies where you just have to go with it, or you won't enjoy it at all. It's about a couple, Cindy(Jennifer Garner) and Jim Green(Joel Edgerton) who cannot have a child. One night in there depression of being unable to conceive, they make a list of everything they would want in a son, put it in a box and bury it in their garden. A storm comes, and boy covered in dirt with leaves on his legs, and he calls Cindy and Jim mom and dad. From their they treat him as their son, and he exudes all the qualities they wanted in a son. He enriches their lives and the lives of everyone else in their lives/town. It's a cute family Disney movie with a pretty crazy premise, and generic execution. It's fine for what it is, and like I said, you either go with it or not. I thought it was ok and worth a watch. I've seen much worse. Emily liked it and actually stayed awake for the entire thing, so I think women will dig it. Give it a shot.
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

December 8, 2012
He's a force of nature.

Great Film! Disney written all over it!I wish Disney made more movies like this. Totally clean, nothing even remotely possibly offensive, and yet it wasn't just a kid show. It was interesting, engaging and witty. The Odd Life of Timothy Green is a great family movie to see, and it really gives you that warm feeling when you finish seeing it. I highly recommend seeing it. A unique family story about adoption with a sprinkle of that Disney magic!

After receiving bad news from a fertility doctor, Cindy and Jim Green try to bury their dreams of having a child by writing out all the great traits their child would have and putting them in a box in the garden. During a freak storm in the middle of the night, they awake to find a boy named Timothy, with leaves growing from his ankles, standing in their kitchen calling them mom and dad. Cindy and Jim are thrown into the midst of parenthood and over the coming months, Timothy will teach them more than they could have imagined about being parents and raising a child, no matter how he comes into their lives.
aSpaceCowboy
aSpaceCowboy

Super Reviewer

December 3, 2012
It knows what it wants to accomplish and maps out exactly where it's headed from the start. The most heartbreaking thing about this movie is how hard it's trying to win us over. There may be better movies to shed a tear to, but Timothy Green has a warm presence and is simple and harmless enough for any viewer to get into.
Edward B

Super Reviewer

September 18, 2012
In the Disney studio's latest attempt at invoking the "aw shucks" reaction out of their audience, The Odd Life of Timothy Green misses the mark completely as it tries to create a story that directly appeals to the infertile-couple demographic. So the story goes that Cindy and Jim, played by Jennifer Garner and Joel Edgerton respectively, have tried everything and anything to have a child, but one doctor tells them in the opening scenes that it's just not meant to be. Drunk later that night, the couple write on paper what their perfect child would look and be like. They put these writings into a wooden box and bury it in the backyard. And in perfect Disney fashion, a child grows out of the dirt. Cindy and Jim are soon greeted by their son Timothy at age 10.
There is a pretty good concept here that would have been great in the hands of Guillermo Del Toro, Tim Burton, or even the Pixar studio. But it's a complete mess in the hands of Peter Hedges and company. It's too overly sentimental for its weird concept to work and too weird to feel believable in any sense. The script is paper thin, and is only good at creating scenes that are not only cliche but absolutely meandering, tedious, and fall flat in trying to communicate any sense of meaning.
Sure there are underlying themes of accepting people who are different, and that parents should not compare themselves to other parents, but when you hammer your audience with scene after scene that screams the take away points, it might have been a better idea to just make a documentary or create a parenting blog about the issue. And the way the story progresses to communicate these themes is paper-thin. Too many cookie cutter characters representing an ideal. Too many pointless scenes of Timothy holding his hands out to absorb sun as if it were some kind of life force; an action that is never given any meaning.
By the time the film ends, the Cindy and Jim have barely gone through any change at all. They start the film as a couple unable to give birth to a child, and in the end they learn they can adopt one. What wonderful development. Two hours of my life wasted that I'm never getting back. Perhaps there will be a better film made one day about the anxieties of parenting, one that actually has deals with such a circumstance with insight and substance and isn't as boring, uneven, or forgettable as this one.
Liam G

Super Reviewer

August 7, 2012
It's got its heart in the right place, it's just too sappy at times and not engaging enough to win me over.
366weirdmovies
366weirdmovies

Super Reviewer

August 22, 2012
A perfect child grows out of the box of wishes an infertile couple plant in their garden. It's fertility porn for childless couples masquerading as a kid's movie. It's not too bad, hitting all the easy and obvious emotional buttons, but I had to take a half-star off in solidarity with the poor kids who got dragged off to see something that was made with their parent's entertainment in mind. Will no one think of the children? P.S. GREEN does contain the single goofiest line to grace a major motion picture in 2012: "If this boy can grow a leaf from his ankle, then we can make pencils out of leaves!"
Dannielle A

Super Reviewer

November 6, 2012
A big contrived but definitely feel-good, "awwww" inducing, and maybe even a little tear-jerking. There were things I'd do differently here but overall, it was a really sweet little flick.
SC007
SC007

Super Reviewer

August 23, 2012
Great film. The studio should have released it in September instead of August. The film kind of reminded me of movies like D.A.R.Y.L., The Boy Who Could Fly, Starman, and even The Curious Case of Benjamin Button. The film is a good film for the whole family to watch. Jennifer Garner is great in her role. Joel Edgerton reminded me a lot of Russell Crowe, when I was watching him in this film. CJ Adams steals the movie as Timothy. The only negative is that the film is predictable. However, despite it's flaw, I still recommend this film.
Philip P

Super Reviewer

January 30, 2012
Standard in every sense of the word, The Odd Life of Timothy Green is simply to content with itself for us to feel anything more about it rather than a passing calmness that the film delivers in spades with its beautiful countryside cinematography. I enjoyed the film well enough and the premise is engaging to the point it deals with a heavy handed subject in a fantastical way that makes it easier to swallow. Writer and director Peter Hedges has crafted tales with themes like this before whether it be his writing in About A Boy or his previous directorial effort Dan In Real Life (which I still adore). He brings that same warm, cozy feeling to this film and makes a movie for families, about family and how we all need to cherish and look out for one another. There are certain characters so typical to these kinds of films its laughable and it is sometimes hard to get past the requirements of the outlandish set up, but nonetheless it is charming and the actors really put forth an effort here. Both Joel Edgerton (Warrior) and Jennifer Garner as the heartbroken parents shine in certain scenes while a parade of strong supporting players are given too little to do to justify their presence. CJ Adams is the title character and is a pleasure as the all knowing child teaching the parents he takes to so easily how they can be the best of parents. It is all very nice, sometimes emotional, sometimes overly sentimental but most of all it is sweet yet forgettable. I liked the film, it didn't feel like a waste of time, but I wouldn't return to it again. Still, a good time for the family and worth a rental this holiday season.
Maymay A

Super Reviewer

April 8, 2013
My friends encouraged me to see The Odd Life of Timothy Green telling me how heartfelt this was. And I was utterly disappointed. I am not a fan of Timothy, and the drama was dry and not so enchanting. The magic didn't work for me.
Jason C

Super Reviewer

August 24, 2012
Not a film liked by critics, The Odd Life of Timothy Green isn't all that bad. It's a barely passable film, but a number of things made it likable.

It centers around an odd kid who shows up, without explanation, from the garden after a couple finds out they can't have kids and spends an evening making up, and writing down, what their kid would have been like for closure on the subject. Without explaining exactly where he came from, the parents raise Timothy and learn how to be parents to the strange kid through trial and error, as he finds a girlfriend and makes numerous other friends. What happens in the end is easy to see coming, and somewhat given away about half way through, but they manage to keep the story interesting.

Timothy Green is a pretty well written story carried heavily by superb acting. Joel Edgerton is really a diverse actor and has great chemistry with Jennifer Garner. CJ Adams fits right in, and although the story is a little too smoothly put together, the actors are magnificent and make it work. They create very likable characters that I want to watch.

It's topped off with a bit of a bland ending, but helps finish the film instead of just getting lost. Again: it's formulaic for it's oddness, but ends up working.

I'd say wait until it's on a movie channel, but if you rent it wanting to see a feel good movie, you won't be too disappointed.
Isaac
Isaac

Super Reviewer

August 19, 2012
Going in to The Odd Life of Timothy Green, I wasn‚(TM)t really sure what to expect. Family dramedies, especially from Disney, have a tendency to be oftentimes unbearably corny and derived from a cookie-cutter formula. That‚(TM)s why it comes as a minor shock to me to report that Timothy Green is absolutely worth your time and money. It‚(TM)s packed with ingenuity, strong performances, laughs and genuine emotion, and it‚(TM)s a better film than many of 2012‚(TM)s tentpole blockbusters.

Centering on small-town couple Cindy (Jennifer Garner) and Jim Green (Joel Edgerton), the film tells a modern fairytale of sorts. I‚(TM)ll shy away from specifics as to avoid spoilers, so I‚(TM)ll just say that the couple happens upon a mysterious boy named Timothy (CJ Adams) -- or rather he happens upon them. They lovingly take him in as the child they‚(TM)ve always wanted but could never have. Cindy and Jim now find themselves required to juggle their newfound parenting with the impending closure of their town‚(TM)s pencil manufacturing plant, on which the existence of Jim‚(TM)s, as well as much of the populaces‚(TM) jobs hinge.

Jennifer Garner and Joel Edgerton demonstrate an impeccable chemistry; Garner embodies the overprotective/loving mother persona while Edgerton imbues Jim with a strong likability coupled with a simple desire to be the father that he never had. Despite their child‚(TM)s titular namesake, the film is truly centered on Cindy and Jim, and the lessons they learn as result of Timothy‚(TM)s presence.

CJ Adams plays his role well, ensuring that Timothy is a wide-eyed, adventurous but genuine boy. He gets himself into many-a-shenanigan, oftentimes thanks to the incessant need of his parents to help him fit in, and though the situations he‚(TM)s placed in make for some great comedy, their real importance lies in what they teach Jim and Cindy. And that‚(TM)s part of Timothy Green‚(TM)s magic; it caters brilliantly to all ages. Younger viewers will be thoroughly entertained by the film‚(TM)s more simple, on-the-surface entertainment factor, but the more adult audience will recognize the film as an emotionally resonant dramedy that truly manages to leave an impression.

The film‚(TM)s age appeal doesn‚(TM)t end there -- it‚(TM)s also riotously funny for extended periods of time for all ages. Though some films manage this feat by including plenty of slapstick humor for the kiddies whilst throwing in more mature humor for adults that flies above younger viewers‚(TM) heads, Timothy Green‚(TM)s route is much more difficult to pull off. It‚(TM)s genuinely funny. There are no guy-falls-down-the-stairs moments or snicker-inducing sexual undertones -- when something funny happens in Timothy Green, everyone laughs. Instead of catering to a specific age group for a few minutes and then another next, the film appeals to everyone all the time. That is no easy feat.

But Timothy Green isn‚(TM)t all laughs. The film is achingly poignant at certain points and taps in to a few inherent human fears with astounding effectiveness -- losing someone you love, being unable to have a family, having no control over an unstoppable, woeful outcome -- all of these considerably dark themes are represented herein, and it‚(TM)s impossible not to get just a little choked up on multiple occasions throughout the film‚(TM)s duration. Timothy Green never resorts to cheap tearjerking, but it‚(TM)s bound to gain a well-earned emotional response from its audience.

Of course, the film doesn‚(TM)t come without its flaws. A few moments throughout the film come across as just a tad cheesy, though this issue doesn‚(TM)t pop us as frequently as in similar films. Its derivative, predicable soccer sequences and Timothy‚(TM)s underdeveloped love interest are annoyances but don‚(TM)t threaten to derail the experience. The overarching thread of factory closure isn‚(TM)t fleshed out enough and doesn‚(TM)t come to any satisfying conclusion; we‚(TM)re given no reason as to why it‚(TM)s going under, we‚(TM)re just told that it is, and the town‚(TM)s situation doesn‚(TM)t feel as desperate as it had the potential to because of this misstep. Also -- and this is more of a nitpick than a genuine criticism -- many of the townspeople just come across as real jerks. Why do Jim and Cindy live here when everyone seems to treat them and Timothy like garbage? By the time Cindy‚(TM)s uppity sister had bragged about her children's‚(TM) successes for the umpteenth time, I began to wonder why Cindy didn‚(TM)t just up and strangle her.

The Odd Life of Timothy Green deserves more attention than it‚(TM)s bound to get, releasing in the busy August month. It‚(TM)d be all to easy to dismiss the film as yet another cheese-filled family melodrama. That would be a big mistake. Stuffed to the brim with genuine, heartfelt emotion and bolstered by a pair of strong leads (the highlight being Joel Edgerton), Timothy Green makes not only a compelling case to take one last family trip to the cinema this summer, but has the potential to make the moviegoing public stop and ask why they paid to see another Ice Age when this wonderful little surprise was waiting just around the corner. Now it‚(TM)s here, so don‚(TM)t pass it up.
timoncjm
December 22, 2011
It was a great, original and very touching Disney live-action family film. I enjoyed this movie so far. It had amazing cinematography, great actors, plenty of laughs, great music, characters and a great storyline. It's one of the best Disney movies I've ever seen. I highly recommend this movie for kids and adults to see.
NBXFan
March 15, 2013
Saw free on TV. Very sweet and good for family. Nothing explodes or is too hard to follow. Kinda corny. I only liked the last 15 mins.
JennabGreat
August 12, 2013
Oh man. The Odd Life of Timothy Green is very ...I don't know. Unexciting? Overly Sentimental? Yeah, I think both of those. I know Disney is all about the magic, and most of the time they have it... but they didn't here. I don't know if it was the story itself or just the execution. I feel like this world, the pencil factories & museums, the town of Stanleyville, could've been handled better by a director like Tim Burton. He creates a world that can be so unbelievable but at the same time, so realistic. This really could've been like Edward Scissorhands for a younger audience. The stories are kind of similar if you think about it. There is some heart here, but at times it feels insincere and I just couldn't like it.
July 8, 2013
I really don't like Jennifer Garner, but she was surprisingly tolerable in this movie. Probably because it was about the boy and not them. It was pretty entertaining
May 1, 2013
The Odd Life of Timothy Green was described as "enchanting", "magical", "emotional", "feel-good" and "inspiring" when it was released in theaters last year at the end of summer. The only word I could use from that sentence to describe Timothy Green and his movie is "odd" ... as in disturbingly odd. It is the story of a young husband (Joel Edgerton - Warrior) and wife (Jennifer Garner - 13 Going on 30) who are beyond-ready to be parents but are heartbreakingly unable to conceive. As they meet with an adoption agency, they recount a strange story in hopes of warming the coldest of hearts: "they wrote-up descriptions of the perfect child on various slips of paper and placed them into a box which they buried in their garden. In the middle of a stormy night, the couple awoke to find that a grown boy had sprouted from the garden and had leaves on his legs. The boy's name is Timothy and he teaches the entire town wonderful life lessons." Seriously ... and then they ask for another kid! The movie wants to be a whimsical fable that has rainbows emitting from the screen; but it hits all the wrong notes as these two desperate characters come across as people who are certifiably insane (I kept telling them to get off of my screen ... which might make me insane). It tries too hard and becomes uncomfortable as it is all put-upon, fake sweetness. It is a crazed overdose of saccharin ... and they need meds (not sugar pills).
February 27, 2013
Like most children, Timothy Green grew in the garden and has leaves on his legs. I'm not sure what makes that movie worthy, but whatever. There are about 60 female A-list actresses who could have played this part better than Jennifer Garner, but again, whatever. It was cute, touching, sad, happy, all those things that make for a good family film, but my favorite part, by far, was when Grandpa (David Morse) mowed down all the dodgeball playing children with extreme prejudice and without remorse.
Page 1 of 95
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile