The Pervert's Guide To Ideology Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Carlos M
Super Reviewer
½ December 2, 2013
Zizek's many ideas are really fascinating and always fun to watch, but once again he has trouble organizing all of them in a cohesive argument, even if now the result is less rambling than the first film due to the narrowed down focus of what he wants to say.
Harlequin68 Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ November 10, 2013
Even if political philosopher extroardinaire Slavoj Zizek stopped with inserting himself into movies and lighting a blowtorch to "Titanic"(3 1/2 hours of my life I am never getting back while "A Night to Remember" has a great scene of steerage passengers running through the ship for their lives before being stopped in their tracks by the grandeur of first class) and venerating "Seconds"(1966), I would probably still give a recommendation to "The Pervert's Guide to Ideology." Thankfully, he has bigger fish to fry(more on them later), as along with showing more of an interest in musicals this time around, he also examines propaganda in movies and its danger to the real world.

It is not just from the usual suspects like the Soviet Union and Nazi Germany that he draws from but less likier places such as "They Live" starring Roddy Piper. While this is one example of a film that subverts the status quo, there are also others that support it such as "The Dark Knight" which argues that a government should lie to its people for their own good which can turn out very badly for all concerned like during the second Iraq War. Then, there are also examples that have been employed by both right and left, like Beethoven's 'Ode to Joy'(I usually associte this with Alex not being considered a complete waste in "A Clockwork Orange") and the shark in "Jaws." In this later case, I have always thought the shark was just minding its own business while most of the analogies that I am familiar with concern the human authorities' response.
m w August 16, 2014
This movie is way too dense and difficult to understand to get it all in one viewing, but I will gladly watch it again.
Rodschach Rodschach ½ September 15, 2014
Slavoj Zizek de forma magnífica nos lleva más allá de la comprensión de algunas de las películas más grandiosas de todos los tiempos y nos ayuda a entender la percepción psicológica freudiana en dichas historias que sorprenden hasta la fecha y aún más si nos lleva a recorrer el pensamiento y poder del séptimo arte.
Paulo V July 25, 2014
Very, very interesting!!.. Will make you at least review concepts, or interpretation of a bunch of information we consume.... Smartly done...
Eric B ½ June 14, 2014
Regardless of whether you agree with the philosophy, this is pretty entertaining.
Ojas V ½ June 1, 2014
Slavoj zizek latest film takes the audience down the path of a Marxist critique of the ideological underpinnings of popular film through his unique style of aggressive free association. Zizek has some humorous surprises, where he literally tries to become a part of the films he is critiquing, but the film feels like an extended lecture. This appeals to anyone interested in film, and philosophy, but it may overwhelm the casual viewer, which might just be the point. I found his critiques very insightful and often very provocative , but the film doesn't have a structure that will engage everyone.
Roger L May 24, 2014
Loved it. One of the best docs of it's kind. The ideas come alive cinematically.
Sean T May 21, 2014
Fascinating-much of what Slavoj says and discusses I have indeed, felt too! Now, his speech-heavy dialect left me confussed, I switched on captions, which, oddly were way ahead at times and left me confused. There you go. Anyway, his insights were great, and loved how he placed himself in staged surroundings to complement the film he utilizes for his points. Check it out!
Dan S ½ May 4, 2014
An almost laugh-along-philosophy guide in which Slavoj Zizek fantastically-orates his aspect of ideology while the rest of the film is finely polished by Sophie Fiennes.
Julie T April 30, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this lecture on how movies present the world to us, I didn't understand all of it as I found the Slavojs language to be unnecessarily complicated, he's obviously used to addressing university level audiences, and insists on calling a spade a shovel, loosing many of us mere mortals along the way. His use of many of my favourite movies to illustrate and expand on his theory's made it much more enjoyable than it would have been as a flat lecture, some ideas were illuminating and thought provoking while others got lost in his use of language which was simply too intellectual . I understand these are his ideas, which is I'm sure why he was given the job of presenter, but found his style of presenting difficult to watch, English is clearly not his first language and he has a heavy accent which technically makes him hard to follow, he also has nervous habits that again make viewing this than a pleasure, and it's a long film ( lecture) so perhaps his ideas would have been better presented by someone trained to act ? In simpler language more accessible to the prolateriate he would ,it seems, like to influence. I did however find it fascinating . Only for those with enquiring minds who love movies .
Frederick v February 19, 2014
Um filósofo explica como a ideologia se esconde por trás das cenas do cinema. Os exemplos são super bem escolhidos, mas a narração deixa com sono. É bacana a reconstrução das cenas dos filmes com o filósofo lá dentro.
Benjamin R March 3, 2014
god fun, high-brow, and perhaps, admittedly a little bit above my pay-grade. but, i enjoyed the connexions made between popular films the zeitgeist of modern life.
Christina S February 22, 2014
A great subject, but how well do they materialize it?
Alex C ½ February 2, 2014
Sure, Zizek presents one very long rant, and accusations can be made that it is indeed in-cohesive, but in my opinion his philosophies all maintained a clear path though one not meant for those with travel sickness. I never laughed out loud but maybe once though I enjoyed the humor, and though quite long, I almost wished it would've gone on longer. I felt enlightened and will be recommending this to folks who like to think, be informed, zone out, and appreciate the hell out of They Live.
Gordon B January 19, 2014
Super Scholar Slavoj iek sinks his teeth into everything from The Dark Knight & Starbucks Coffee, to the German rock band rock band Rammstein, the resulting film is useful both as a teaching tool and as intellectual Porn for cinephilles like myself
Johannes J November 7, 2012
Essential viewing. Highly recommended.
Matt M December 13, 2013
Philosopher Slavoj Zizek gives us the ultimate lesson in psychoanalysis of ideology by extensively referring to popular culture and cinema. This documentary, the second feature film collaboration between director Sophie Fiennes and Zizek after the previously released The Pervert's Guide to Cinema, works on a myriad of different levels. Not only does Zizek support his analysis in an exciting, accessible, funny and often invigorating way, but he also comes across as being perfectly able to support his thesis by using familiar examples. However, the film's most intriguing aspect is the subject of perversion - which once again refers to the cinema viewer whose scope in the screening room is always essentially to spy on the lives of the characters on screen. This perversion also refers to the figure of the cinephile directly, who will find a particularly rewarding stimulation in the familiarity of the explicit examples that Zizek offers to portray his points. There is a drawback. Fundamentally, The Pervert's Guide to Ideology is a man with a slightly annoying voice and garbled Eastern European accent rant for over two hours, and these rants sometimes become borderline indecipherable gibberish - in fact it's virtually impossible to follow all of his arguments especially for that length of time. Yet, the imaginative style in which Fiennes utilises the documentary's format and mixes the archive material with Zizek's talks by transporting him to specific scenes of the films he references remains a treat and even conveys the philosopher's peculiar magnetism and natural sense of humour perfectly.
Page 1 of 3