• R, 1 hr. 39 min.
  • Drama, Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Calvin Reeder
    In Theaters:
    Jun 7, 2013 Limited
    On DVD:
    Jun 25, 2013
  • Anchor Bay Films

Opening

14% No Good Deed Sep 12
72% Dolphin Tale 2 Sep 12
88% The Drop Sep 12
89% The Skeleton Twins Sep 12
64% The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby Sep 12

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $10.2M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $6.5M
38% If I Stay $5.8M
20% Let's Be Cops $5.4M
36% The November Man $4.2M
28% As Above/So Below $3.7M
17% When The Game Stands Tall $3.7M
33% The Giver $3.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $3.2M
66% Lucy $2.0M

Coming Soon

92% The Guest Sep 17
95% 20,000 Days on Earth Sep 17
56% The Maze Runner Sep 19
53% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19

Premieres Tonight

—— American Dad!: Season 11

New Episodes Tonight

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
89% Outlander: Season 1
46% Reckless: Season 1

The Rambler Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Justin Lowe
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Misguided exercise in genre fetishism marks a forgettable misfire.

Full Review Source: Hollywood Reporter

June 19, 2013
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered

I can't say I understand Calvin Lee Reeder's intentions concerning The Rambler, but since there's plenty of room for interpretation, I found my own meaning amongst this wacky mess of mummies and red wine.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 6/10

June 19, 2013
Amy Nicholson
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

What all of this means is, frankly, nothing. But it's a handsome nothing, at least until you get sick of the screaming.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 2.5/5

June 13, 2013
Simon Foster
Screen-Space

Dermot Mulroney's 'Man with No Name' drifter is all too appropriately at the centre of offbeat auteur Calvin Reeder's 'Film with No Point', The Rambler.

Full Review Source: Screen-Space

June 11, 2013
Andy Webster
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Foreboding images abound - crawling lizards, mysterious lights in the sky, a funereal assembly populated by grotesques - along with occasional ambient droning on the soundtrack and moments of mild humor and raw gore. Do the tableaus add up? Not really.

Full Review Source: New York Times | Original Score: 2.5/5

June 7, 2013
Steve Erickson
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The kind of movie where more effort seems to have gone into the cast's wardrobe than their dialogue.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

June 4, 2013
Drew Hunt
Slant Magazine

Sinister, comical, aggravating, and audacious, Calvin Lee Reeder's film is nothing short of an affront.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 3/4

June 4, 2013
Scott Weinberg
FEARnet

Feels like a distant cousin to the new Maniac remake: horror stories told from inside the mind of a calm, cool lunatic.

Full Review Source: FEARnet

March 18, 2013
Chase Whale
Twitch

A mixture of unhinged brilliance, idiocy, unsettling confusion, and a whole lot of chaos.

Full Review Source: Twitch | Original Score: B

February 3, 2013
Rob Nelson
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Writer-director Calvin Lee Reeder's randomly splattering take on the back-country-road movie.

Full Review Source: Variety

February 1, 2013
Page 1 of 1
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile