The Rambler Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Matt Donato
We Got This Covered
June 19, 2013
I can't say I understand Calvin Lee Reeder's intentions concerning The Rambler, but since there's plenty of room for interpretation, I found my own meaning amongst this wacky mess of mummies and red wine.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Drew Hunt
Slant Magazine
June 4, 2013
Sinister, comical, aggravating, and audacious, Calvin Lee Reeder's film is nothing short of an affront.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Scott Weinberg
FEARnet
March 18, 2013
Feels like a distant cousin to the new Maniac remake: horror stories told from inside the mind of a calm, cool lunatic.
Chase Whale
TwitchFilm
February 3, 2013
A mixture of unhinged brilliance, idiocy, unsettling confusion, and a whole lot of chaos.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Justin Lowe
Hollywood Reporter
June 19, 2013
Misguided exercise in genre fetishism marks a forgettable misfire.
Top Critic
Amy Nicholson
Los Angeles Times
June 13, 2013
What all of this means is, frankly, nothing. But it's a handsome nothing, at least until you get sick of the screaming.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Simon Foster
Screen-Space
June 11, 2013
Dermot Mulroney's 'Man with No Name' drifter is all too appropriately at the centre of offbeat auteur Calvin Reeder's 'Film with No Point', The Rambler.
Top Critic
Andy Webster
New York Times
June 7, 2013
Foreboding images abound - crawling lizards, mysterious lights in the sky, a funereal assembly populated by grotesques - along with occasional ambient droning on the soundtrack and moments of mild humor and raw gore. Do the tableaus add up? Not really.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Steve Erickson
Village Voice
June 4, 2013
The kind of movie where more effort seems to have gone into the cast's wardrobe than their dialogue.
Top Critic
Rob Nelson
Variety
February 1, 2013
Writer-director Calvin Lee Reeder's randomly splattering take on the back-country-road movie.
Page 1 of 1