Opening

65% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
92% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
85% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— Chicago Fire: Season 3
—— Faking It: Season 2
—— Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 12
73% NCIS: New Orleans: Season 1
—— Person Of Interest: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Brickleberry: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
75% The Mindy Project: Season 3
100% New Girl: Season 4
85% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
71% Dallas: Season 3
50% Forever: Season 1
95% Gotham: Season 1
34% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

The Skin I Live In Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service

It's as disquieting as it is unsatisfying, a slog through gender issues, surgery and violence - sexual and otherwise.

Full Review Source: McClatchy-Tribune News Service | Original Score: 2/4

December 28, 2012
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)

Not even DePalma, at his sleaziest, or Hitchcock, at his most sexually frustrated, dared to be so unabashedly ugly.

Full Review Source: Metro Times (Detroit, MI) | Original Score: C

November 16, 2011
Mike Scott
Times-Picayune

When it's all said and done, there's no real call for any emotional investment on the part of Almodovar's audience.

Full Review Source: Times-Picayune | Original Score: 2.5/4

December 9, 2011
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net

Considering how great it looks, it's a shame the odd choices Almodovar makes in telling the story turn it into one of his first big misses in a long time.

Full Review Source: ComingSoon.net | Original Score: 4.5/10

September 12, 2011
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press

Almodovar shoots himself in the foot with a too-tricky structure, resetting "Skin" with a new set of characters at about the halfway point.

Full Review Source: St. Paul Pioneer Press | Original Score: 2.5/4

October 27, 2011
Karina Longworth
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

[An] ever-unfurling, ultimately infuriating web of a film.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

October 11, 2011
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com

The frequent disorientation makes things drag; it's hard to get a sense of the movie's pace when you're unsure how all these miscellaneous pieces fit together, or even whether they do.

Full Review Source: EricDSnider.com | Original Score: C+

November 5, 2011
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review

It's like an art-house 'Human Centipede.' While it hints at some interesting ideas, it just comes down to a crazy doctor.

Full Review Source: The Scorecard Review | Original Score: 5/10

November 14, 2011
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This feels almost like a parody of Almodovar, with its melodramatic tone and themes of gender, identity, sex and revenge.

Full Review Source: Associated Press | Original Score: 2/4

October 12, 2011
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses

o Almodóvar apofasise oti an aplws kanei allh mia epideiksh eksairetikoy sthsimatos kai xrwmatismatos ths alloprosallhs paletas toy, xrhsimopoiwntas ton thrileriko aksona toy biblioy, tha ebgaze allh mia xronia stis Kanes

Full Review Source: Movies for the Masses | Original Score: 2.5/5

November 20, 2011
Matt Pais
RedEye

He does good work, but madness does not breed efficiency.

Full Review Source: RedEye | Original Score: 2/4

October 20, 2011
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher

My Fair Lady meets The Human Centipede. It's disgusting and hateful, and all the more so because of its arthouse veneer of respectability...

Full Review Source: Flick Filosopher

October 12, 2011
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews

The film has elements of Hitchcock and, most of all, George Franju's far, far superior "Eyes Without a Face," but "The Skin I Live In" is structurally rickety.

Full Review Source: Reeling Reviews | Original Score: C-

October 23, 2011
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews

I have always respected, if not always liked, the works of Almodovar and I am disappointed in him for making a film like "The Skin I Live In." It left a sour taste in my mouth and feeling like I needed a shower afterward.

Full Review Source: Reeling Reviews | Original Score: C-

October 27, 2011
Mike D'Angelo
AV Club
Top Critic IconTop Critic

If you took a Weekly World News cover story and tried to reverse-engineer a screenplay from the headline, it might look something like The Skin I Live In.

Full Review Source: AV Club | Original Score: C+

May 20, 2011
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Almodovar delivers his usual satiny mise-en-scene, though in this case it tends to undermine the creepy material.

Full Review Source: Chicago Reader

October 20, 2011
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews

Neither horror film, spoof, nor social commentary, 'The Skin I Live In' wanders in limbo, unsure of what its own essence is.

Full Review Source: ReelTalk Movie Reviews

October 14, 2011
Enrique Buchichio
Uruguay Total

Gran parte de la película se pasa entre la incredulidad, la indiferencia y el ridículo, pero Almodóvar es ante todo Almodóvar, con todos sus excesos, sus delirios y también sus aspectos originales (...)

Full Review Source: Uruguay Total | Original Score: 2/5

November 27, 2011
Ed Gonzalez
Slant Magazine

Sometimes in Pedro Almodóvar's cinema, as in The Skin I Live In, looking isn't always the same as seeing.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 2.5/4

September 24, 2011
Leonard Maltin
Leonard Maltin's Picks

Nothing Almodóvar does could be without interest, and this is no exception: his production design and attention to detail are formidable, and he is in perfect harmony with his actors.

Full Review Source: Leonard Maltin's Picks | Original Score: 2.1/2

October 14, 2011
Page 1 of 9
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile