Opening

64% The Maze Runner Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
92% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

The Smurfs Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Will Leitch
Deadspin

If your kid loves this, your kid needs to read a book, or even, heck, play a video game. At least you can tell video game characters apart.

Full Review Source: Deadspin | Original Score: D+

June 23, 2013
Amy Curtis
We Got This Covered

The Smurfs is a cute family film that suffers from being a little formulaic and uninspired, and the CGI smurfs don't look like the original characters.

Full Review Source: We Got This Covered | Original Score: 5/10

February 28, 2013
Ben Kendrick
ScreenRant

Filmgoers who enjoyed the cartoon (or comic strips) as a kid will very likely be left with the taste of sour Smurfberries.

Full Review Source: ScreenRant | Original Score: 2/5

October 2, 2012
R. L. Shaffer
IGN DVD

The kids might enjoy it, but The Smurfs is nothing but an annoying, noisy commercial for Sony products. Save for Hank Azaria's amusing take on Gargamel, the film is fatty junk food.

Full Review Source: IGN DVD | Original Score: 3/10

January 29, 2012
Marsha McCreadie
Film Journal International

...a cynical extension, not even an earnest spin-off.

Full Review Source: Film Journal International

January 6, 2012
James Plath
Movie Metropolis

The Smurf's is a cute film . . . if cute's your thing.

Full Review Source: Movie Metropolis | Original Score: 7/10

December 29, 2011
Linda Cook
KWQC-TV (Iowa)

Once in awhile, a movie sets me searching for its origins. That's what 'The Smurfs' did. I guessed this movie wasn't quite what their creator had in mind - and I was right.

Full Review Source: KWQC-TV (Iowa) | Original Score: 2/4

December 22, 2011
Sean Axmaker
MSN.com

Call me Grouchy, but I say grown-ups should just say smurf it and avoid the film completely.

Full Review Source: MSN.com

November 30, 2011
Clem Bastow
The Vine

The film indulges in a level of product placement not seen since the glory days of Mac & Me.

Full Review Source: The Vine | Original Score: 1/5

October 26, 2011
Joseph Proimakis
Movies for the Masses

full review at Movies for the Masses

Full Review Source: Movies for the Masses | Original Score: 2/5

September 29, 2011
Matt Neal
The Standard

The Smurfs isn't smurfing awesome, but it's also not a complete pile of smurf.

Full Review Source: The Standard | Original Score: 2/5

September 15, 2011
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)

It is something of a relief that this energetic kids flick is partially better than it had any right to be.

Full Review Source: Herald Sun (Australia) | Original Score: 2.5/5

September 15, 2011
Sarah Ward
Trespass

The current incarnation of The Smurfs bears little resemblance to the classic cartoon, in a film likely to leave anyone other than hyperactive children feeling blue.

Full Review Source: Trespass

September 15, 2011
Clarissa Meffan
MovieFIX

Takes the 80s favourite kids' cartoon and embellishes it with special effects, New York cliches and gutter humour so that the end result is a shiny but shallow copy of all that was great about the original TV series.

Full Review Source: MovieFIX | Original Score: 2/5

September 15, 2011
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)

The Smurfs will likely be the best, most enjoyable kid film of 2011. And, yes, adults have been catered for. Dive in.

Full Review Source: The Age (Australia) | Original Score: 4/5

September 14, 2011
Annette Basile
FILMINK (Australia)

It's predictable kiddie fare and lags in the middle, but it's visually impressive, spirited and often fun.

Full Review Source: FILMINK (Australia)

September 13, 2011
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile

A smurfection of blue cutedom, The Smurfs (in 2D and 3D) makes good the promise that feeling blue can be a happy thing

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

September 11, 2011
Cynthia Fuchs
Time to Play Magazine

Everyone knows the Smurfs sing all day - and also that their song is repetitive and annoying.

Full Review Source: Time to Play Magazine

September 8, 2011
James Luxford
The National

Likely to enthral very small children only, The Smurfs starts with promise but peters out into something bland.

Full Review Source: The National | Original Score: 2/5

September 8, 2011
Brian Gibson
Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)

As the Smuppets take Manhattan, the script runs a blue streak of snappy self-marketing and sappy smurfimentalism. It's all so calculatingly self-smurmotional.

Full Review Source: Vue Weekly (Edmonton, Canada)

September 1, 2011
Page 1 of 6
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile