The Smurfs - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Smurfs Reviews

Page 1 of 6
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
December 29, 2011
The Smurf's is a cute film . . . if cute's your thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Leigh Paatsch
Herald Sun (Australia)
September 15, 2011
It is something of a relief that this energetic kids flick is partially better than it had any right to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jim Schembri
The Age (Australia)
September 14, 2011
The Smurfs will likely be the best, most enjoyable kid film of 2011. And, yes, adults have been catered for. Dive in.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Annette Basile
FILMINK (Australia)
September 13, 2011
It's predictable kiddie fare and lags in the middle, but it's visually impressive, spirited and often fun.
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
September 11, 2011
A smurfection of blue cutedom, The Smurfs (in 2D and 3D) makes good the promise that feeling blue can be a happy thing
Rob Humanick
Projection Booth
August 28, 2011
So sue me, I kind of enjoyed it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
August 12, 2011
There's more than enough action to keep little ones entertained.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5

Sky Movies
August 10, 2011
In terms of hitting the Smurfs it was Smurfing for, it Smurfs plenty of them.
Matthew Turner
August 10, 2011
Charming and enjoyable, thanks to lively animation, a strong script, several good jokes and terrific performances from a superb cast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 9, 2011
Join-the-dots, made-for-kids goofy blue magic that does nothing memorably new, but is guilty of putting a smile on your face, even after the Smurf-zing assault on the ears.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
David Edwards
Daily Mirror [UK]
August 5, 2011
The blend of animation and live-action isn't bad and the story moves at a reasonable crack that should just about keep the under-10s interested.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
John Urbancich
Your Movies (
August 2, 2011
Truth be told, even I found myself laughing more than anticipated at some movie references ("Brokeback Mountain," "Midnight Cowboy" and "The Seven-Year Itch," among them), as well as the inspired silliness of Hank Azaria...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jackie K. Cooper
August 2, 2011
My Smurf name should be Smiley cause I was smiling all the way through this movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Diva Velez
July 31, 2011
Kitschily clever and more heartwarming than many of the failed cinema-sized blowups of television cartoon characters, The Smurfs is an unexpected pleasure and a satisfying adaptation that's a lot of fun for the entire family.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jane Stevenson
Jam! Movies
July 29, 2011
I can tell you the end result is pretty cute.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Rosie Fletcher
Total Film
July 29, 2011
Diverting and weird, but harmless.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times
July 29, 2011
I can't smurfin' believe I'm actually going to say this, but "The Smurfs" is not a cinematic travesty. Far from it, in fact.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
July 29, 2011
I could say this until I'm blue in the face and you still wouldn't believe me: "The Smurfs" isn't half-bad.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Bruce Demara
Toronto Star
July 29, 2011
Kids are sure to find it smurf-errific, smurf-ilicious or just plain smurfy. Adults will happily settle for smurf-ectly inoffensive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 28, 2011
I will not go so far as to call The Smurfs subversive, but it is surprisingly sophisticated.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 6