Opening

96% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
50% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

58% Lucy $44.0M
61% Hercules $29.0M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.4M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $9.9M
43% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.3M
18% Sex Tape $6.0M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.6M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
23% Tammy $3.4M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
86% What If Aug 08
—— The Hundred-foot Journey Aug 08

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Agatha Christie's Poirot : Season 12
100% Falling Skies: Season 4
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
64% The Last Ship: Season 1
100% Last Tango in Halifax: Season 2
69% The Leftovers: Season 1
60% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
50% The Musketeers: Season 1
78% Ray Donovan: Season 2
46% Reckless: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
50% True Blood: Season 7
—— Unforgettable: Season 2
80% Vicious: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Spirit Reviews

Page 2 of 441
aboccamazzo
July 20, 2014
7,5/10
Liked it, still good visuals
July 15, 2014
This movie really fucking sucks. I love movies like this but I couldn't wait for this to end. Seriously, first review I've ever made on Rotten Tomatoes. I don't even know if I spelled Tomatoes right, but I really needed to post this review now.

If you really need a post-Sin City flick, I'd just wait til August 2014 when Sin City 2 comes out, rather than wasting your time watching this. Or I dunno, watch some porn -- you probably could find something with a deeper plot line than this story. seriously.
February 6, 2009
The story in this doesn't work that well, but the characters are great, the theme and the styling also very good, the cast is spectacular, but it falls apart with the story.
The style worked and was introduced with Sin City, but maybe because the entire film worked it suited it better in some way.
December 31, 2008
Although at this point probably waiting for Netflix given the reviews
July 4, 2014
I 'm glad I'm just watching on DirecTV! If I were in the theater this would have been one of two movies I've ever walked out on (Dune being the first).

I loved Sin City, and I like the style of this, but in the end there is nothing here of interest. I sure as hell hope Sin City 2, if it ever surfaces is closer to the original than to this.
M Z.
June 8, 2014
Overweighted and often senseless scenography, main character felt uneven and unclear, main storyline was pretty poor; characters in a story felt unbalanced and somehow senseless. For the good part, special effects were pretty of a good quality and a rich cast. In general it felt unconvincing and powerless.
May 30, 2014
Stunning visuals, but it failed to draw me in as much as Sin City did.
May 26, 2014
Has almost everything a superhero movie should.
jimoss23
October 5, 2013
Not gonna lie, I only checked for this because of the ladies in it.. Movie was horrible. Fake ass Dick Tracy
NotEnoughSlavesInIt
April 19, 2014
27%
So bad it's good?
February 13, 2009
One of the worst films I've ever seen in theaters. Dollar theater, but still.
April 9, 2014
You know what...it wasn't as bad as I was expecting. Sure, it's goofy as all f**k, but it's no Catwoman or Steel bad. I wasn't sure if they wanted to be a parody or a straight up comedy but in hindsight, this is pretty much Machete meets Sin City. And also in hindsight, you can say this is a Nick Fury and Natasha Romanoff comedy hour. Overall... Frank Miller, you dun goof'd.
December 29, 2008
Really bad! I hope this isn't what we're in for when Frank Miller take the reins of Sin City 2 and 3. If it wasn't for some of the nice comic book effects this would be a great movie to cure your insomnia!
April 2, 2014
God, this movie was such a fail. I still can't believe, after all this time, how bad this film really was.
March 26, 2014
well uh, it looks like sin city. but its nowhere near as good. yeah, this movie's pretty weird.
March 1, 2014
...God dammit, Frank
Diego Tutweiller
February 17, 2014
Okay, I admit-- I'm just deliberately watching bad movies now. The Spirit, one of the more infamously awful movies to be tainted by Frank "The Fuckhole" Miller, is easily the stupidest piece of shit I've watched on my quest to keep my rotten review count nice and high-- Yes, worse than Sucker Punch. I don't understand why a movie like this gets praise for its "unique" visuals, because literally every other grungy graphic novel nowadays is using the exact same black and white/comic book style. There is nothing even remotely original about this curiously inept and deliberately weird movie. At some point while watching this, you have to just accept its insanity and turn either it or your brain off. None of it is even remotely coherent, and that's part of its charm. It's like the Room of comic book movies.

The Spirit stars some actor who has now been completely (and rightfully) forgotten as The Spirit, an undead cop who has returned to fight crime in Central City-- specifically The Octopus (Samuel L. Jackson), his henchwoman Silken Floss (Scarlett Johansson), and his former girlfriend Sand Saref (Eva Mendes). "But Diego, how could a movie with Nick Fury and dozens of beautiful actresses be this bad?" Well, quite easily. It's difficult to know quite where to begin with a film like The Spirit, as every part of it is so godawful it nearly defies rating. But firstly: The tone. Oh my God, how many more wannabe neo-noir crapfests must we sit through? This thing wanted so badly to be some kind of a supernatural Dick Tracy, but it ended up just being a laughable concoction of really lame slapstick and jarring tonal shifts. The audience doesn't even know when to take the movie seriously or not, as toilet humor is literally interspersed between images of graphic beatdowns.

As for the script, well... holy shit. Not one line of dialogue in this movie is A) Delivered well, and B) Written well. If I may give a few choice samples: "I'm gonna kill you all kinds of dead." Really? You have SAMUEL L. FUCKING JACKSON in this movie. Surely you could come up with better shit for him to say than that! Also, "Such pain. Such suffering." Wow! Many movie. Much fail. Very awful. Woof. "She provides for me, my city does." What? Speaking like Yoda now, are we? I could go on. Not to mention that this thing throws every cliche in the book at the audience without a moment's hesitation. It's got it all: A tough female rookie cop with an odd accent who is a little too enthusiastic about the proceedings. A hero who has literally half a dozen women flocking after him (not to mention a whole city willing to bang him whenever he chooses). A bad guy who is after Hercules's blood, which he will use to become immortal. And seriously, Samuel L. Jackson's egg jokes got old after, like... the first time. There are a good ten egg puns in this movie, which is about ten egg puns too many.

This movie is a failure on every level, but the most puzzling aspect of its complete awfulness is (again) the tone. It seriously doesn't make any sense. I don't know what they were shooting for with this thing, but it's not campy enough to be dumb fun, and way too silly to have even a hint of dramatic weight. And a lot of the humor isn't even humor, it's just random crap. Why does The Octopus have a dojo and a Nazi uniform? Well, because nobody gave a shit when they wrote this script. Really, all this movie boils down to is a massive demonstration of a complete lack of effort on the parts of everyone involved. The visuals are recycled from Sin City, the plot is nonexistent, the acting is jaw-droppingly corny, and the dialogue will make you question the existence of God. Plus, it has a bunch of inbred fat bald guys who are just Three Stooges rip-offs. -1.

Final Score for The Spirit: 1/10 stars. Yes, this movie is awful. Yes, it is an insult to the institution of filmmaking. But is it the worst movie ever? No, not really. Seriously, for a dumb (AND I MEAN REALLY DUMB) time killer, I suppose you could do worse. But that's only if you have a complete willingness to ignore every cinematic convention ever conceived. It's practically a so-bad-it's-good movie, on the level of The Wicker Man or The Room, but it unfortunately has too much intentional humor to hit that summit of awfulness. Because when a drama fails, it's funny, but when retarded slapstick fails, you'll want to kill yourself. Also, as a final word, I have reached the conclusion that Scarlett Johansson is not a good actress. Sorry, Scarlett. Bewbs ≠ talent.
February 18, 2014
This is a guilty pleassure film for me. I find it underated.
January 30, 2014
It may be occasionally visually interesting by trying to replicate the far superior Sin City but with a script that is laughable, dialog that is horrendous, and a story that is often amazingly idiotic this movie is far too stupid to be taken seriously and if its suppose to be a comedy its not funny
Page 2 of 441
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile