The Tree of Life Reviews

Page 1 of 13
Amy Curtis
We Got This Covered
March 13, 2013

The lack of story or purpose is annoying and at times, the film is too experimental. Topping things off is an abrupt and unsatisfying ending which doesn't leave us with good feelings towards the film.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Rhett Bartlett
Dial M For Movies
June 21, 2012

Malik's vision and deeply powerful imagery outlives its welcome after 20 minutes, leaving a film that meanders along trying to impress with concepts and ideas.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
CJ Johnson
ABC Radio (Australia)
July 6, 2011

It feels like Malick made the film for himself, rather than for an audience.

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
June 25, 2011

There are some touching scenes between father and son but the rest of the film felt too heavy-handed.

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Jason Zingale
Bullz-Eye.com
May 25, 2011

The final product feels less like the grand-scale epic that Malick intended, and more like a college thesis paper on spirituality that's missing a few pages.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
Top Critic
June 13, 2011

Glibly put, this challenging time-skipping rumination is the big screen equivalent of watching that "Tree" grow.

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Roger Moore
McClatchy-Tribune News Service
January 4, 2013

Absurdly over-rated...

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Graham Young
Birmingham Post
July 13, 2011

Like watching your whole life crawl towards you on its hands and knees.

Moira Sullivan
FilmFestivals.com
May 26, 2011

A young couple raises three boys in the 1950s. Both Brad Pitt and Jessica Chastain as the couple function from textbook gender roles, like Father Knows Best with an axe to grind.

Full Review | Original Score: Overripe
Drew McWeeny
HitFix
May 18, 2011

For me, this is a pretty crushing disappointment, something that's hard to admit and even harder to write.

Michael A. Smith
MediaMikes
August 16, 2011

While I was writing this I learned that "The Tree of Life" had won the Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival...I can only assume that the judges were all cinematographers awarding a film consisting of Kodak moments.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Catherine Bray
Film4
July 5, 2011

Possibly it reinforces our awareness that finding any sort of path through life is a pretty overwhelming business, but this is not a terribly radical conclusion.

Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Tony Macklin
tonymacklin.net
May 17, 2011

The Tree of Life is a fractured film, so they needed five different editors to put it back together. I heard the original title was going to be The Humpty Dumpty of Life.

Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
June 3, 2011

What we're left with is a scrapbook of stunning images.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Erin Free
FILMINK (Australia)
June 28, 2011

Malick resides largely in his own vivid imagination and overly active subconscious, where it's just too easy for everybody else to get resolutely and inescapably lost.

Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
June 27, 2011

The title suggests a grand vision about humanity, but this is at best garbled and perfunctory

Ben McEachen
Empire Magazine Australasia
July 4, 2011

Apart from a middle section which reveals moments of clarity and actual emotion, this is a bloated, self-indulgent bore of fine imagery.

Full Review | Original Score: 2
Tricia Olszewski
Washington City Paper
June 3, 2011

With its parallel depictions of the birth of the universe and a family in 1950s Texas, it must be plumbing deep meanings, right? Eh.

Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
October 20, 2011

Impressionistic may be a nice way to describe this often baffling mix of stunning cosmic imagery mixed with random snapshots of familial struggle...very, very different..

Full Review | Original Score: B-
Mike Ward
Richmond.com
June 18, 2011

I admire The Tree of Life - in the same way I admire the white-haired lady in the Guinness Book of World Records with 28-foot fingernails. By the way, after "The Tree of Life," you'll probably have to cut your nails, just saying.

Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews
March 23, 2012

Leonard Maltin
ReelzChannel.com
March 10, 2012


Sight and Sound
June 18, 2012

Page 1 of 13