• PG-13, 1 hr. 34 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Raymond De Felitta
    In Theaters:
    Sep 16, 2005 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 14, 2006
  • Picturehouse

Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
65% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
43% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
70% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
35% The November Man $2.8M
35% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
84% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

91% Doctor Who: Season 8
—— Hell on Wheels: Season 4
40% Intruders: Season 1
90% Outlander: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
53% Z Nation: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

The Thing About My Folks Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Stefan Ulstein
Christianity Today

Reiser has given us a film that makes us laugh while contemplating the ways we understand and misunderstand those we love.

| Original Score: 3.5/4

November 2, 2006
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing

Moderately appealing.

Full Review Source: Creative Loafing | Original Score: 2.5/4

March 1, 2006
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews

The film is a little saccharine and never as moving as Reiser expected. I know Reiser loves his father, but I didn't need to pay to be told it.

Full Review | Original Score: 5/10

January 13, 2006
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema

The Thing About My Folks contains more sap than a Vermont maple.

Full Review Source: Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema | Original Score: C-

December 31, 2005
Andy Klein
Los Angeles CityBeat

...provides [Falk] with an opportunity for his best work in a a Hollywood film since the hilarious and underrated Big Trouble (1986).

December 15, 2005
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)

The truth about this sweet, rather shambling little movie is somewhere between the gush and the criticism.

Full Review Source: Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC) | Original Score: 3.5/5

November 23, 2005
Michael Szymanski
Hollywood.com

It's a slow enjoyable ride where you aren't asking "are we there yet?" all the way through it.

Full Review Source: Hollywood.com | Original Score: 3/4

November 4, 2005
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star

Before I saw this film, only one movie, Field of Dreams, had ever made me cry. Now there are two.

Full Review Source: Arizona Daily Star | Original Score: 4/4

October 20, 2005
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City

A lot of the humor is forced and unfunny.

Full Review Source: Deseret News, Salt Lake City | Original Score: 2/4

October 8, 2005
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly

If Reiser's smart, he'll hire Falk for a new Columbo episode, 'The Case of the Roadkill Movie.'

Full Review Source: Boulder Weekly

October 7, 2005
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune

[Falk turns] a stereotyped curmudgeon into a warm and winning character and the only reason to watch.

| Original Score: 2.5/4

October 7, 2005
Lewis Beale
Film Journal International

Formulaic to the max, it's never as funny nor as insightful as it wants to be.

Full Review Source: Film Journal International

October 6, 2005
Dan Marcucci and Nancy Serougi
Broomfield Enterprise

Back when this flick was called "Big Fish," it was a great movie.

Full Review

October 4, 2005
Susan Walker
Toronto Star
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Reiser, a famous face from the long-running TV series Mad About You, here proves himself to be a skilful writer and actor for the big screen.

Full Review Source: Toronto Star | Original Score: 3/4

September 30, 2005
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies

A straight-up case of really bad filmmaking, all mangled punchlines and sitcom setups and all of it too long in the telling.

Full Review Source: Jam! Movies | Original Score: 2/5

September 30, 2005
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Two men of very different generations coming to understand and appreciate each other makes for some fine moments. And that's just the actors.

Full Review Source: Denver Post | Original Score: 2.5/4

September 30, 2005
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid

Director Raymond De Felitta's clinical visual treatment renders the tone too cold.

Full Review Source: Combustible Celluloid | Original Score: 2.5/4

September 30, 2005
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)

A 'Mad About Gramps' episode that requires Falk to line-dance to Travis Tritt and otherwise demonstrate that old people sure are funny and cute and flatulent.

| Original Score: '1/4'

September 30, 2005
Bruce Newman
San Jose Mercury News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

If you've ever wondered what it would feel like to be trapped in a '36 Ford convertible for 47 years with a Yiddish theater version of Dr. Phil and the runaway bride, this is the movie for you.

| Original Score: 0.5/4

September 29, 2005
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com

Takes Reiser's good screenplay, adds a veteran actor who nails his performance, and comes up with a perfectly charming comedy.

Full Review Source: EricDSnider.com | Original Score: A-

September 28, 2005
Page 1 of 4
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile