The Thing About My Folks - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Thing About My Folks Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
September 23, 2005
If you thought Mad About You was cloying and gaggingly cute, this could give you the dry heaves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
September 15, 2005
I can't recommend the movie, but I can be grateful that I saw it, for Falk.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
September 15, 2005
This movie won't dent anyone's career. It's too 'eh' for that.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
September 22, 2005
Reiser and Falk never stop yammering at each other, not when they're line-dancing, not when they're watching a baseball game, not when they should be trying to counter-steer their way out of the car accident they're in the midst of.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
September 10, 2005
Like Peter Falk's trifecta of farts, the movie stinks.
Full Review | Original Score: .5/4
Brian Orndorf
FilmJerk.com
September 15, 2005
Folks means well with its combination of slapstick comedy and tearjerking material, yet it's a random picture, never quite gelling the way Reiser imagines it.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Mark R. Leeper
rec.arts.movies.reviews
January 13, 2006
The film is a little saccharine and never as moving as Reiser expected. I know Reiser loves his father, but I didn't need to pay to be told it.
Full Review| Original Score: 5/10
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
September 30, 2005
Director Raymond De Felitta's clinical visual treatment renders the tone too cold.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Robert Koehler
Variety
September 13, 2005
Good-natured but only memorable as a platform for the amusingly feisty Peter Falk.
Top Critic
Bruce Newman
San Jose Mercury News
September 29, 2005
If you've ever wondered what it would feel like to be trapped in a '36 Ford convertible for 47 years with a Yiddish theater version of Dr. Phil and the runaway bride, this is the movie for you.
| Original Score: 0.5/4
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
October 5, 2005
| Original Score: C
September 18, 2005
Even Columbo couldn't solve the mystery of why it doesn't work to mix Sweet with a capital 'S' and flatulence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Matt Singer
Village Voice
September 13, 2005
Falk isn't given anything funny to say or do, but his performance is littered with beautiful touches, tiny oases of brilliance in an entertainment desert.
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
December 31, 2005
The Thing About My Folks contains more sap than a Vermont maple.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Ned Martel
New York Times
September 16, 2005
The Thing About My Folks is Paul Reiser's return to playing Paul Reiser.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Thomas Delapa
Boulder Weekly
October 7, 2005
If Reiser's smart, he'll hire Falk for a new Columbo episode, 'The Case of the Roadkill Movie.'
Lewis Beale
Film Journal International
October 6, 2005
Formulaic to the max, it's never as funny nor as insightful as it wants to be.
Timothy Knight
Reel.com
September 24, 2005
Ultimately more cloying than poignant.
| Original Score: 2/4
Jesse Hassenger
Filmcritic.com
September 15, 2005
The real problem with this Paul Reiser project is Reiser himself, who displays little talent for anchoring a feature film
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
September 30, 2005
A 'Mad About Gramps' episode that requires Falk to line-dance to Travis Tritt and otherwise demonstrate that old people sure are funny and cute and flatulent.
| Original Score: '1/4'
Top Critic
Dave Calhoun
Time Out
August 16, 2007
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
September 9, 2005
Ken Eisner
Georgia Straight
October 22, 2005

Boston Phoenix
September 24, 2005
Top Critic

AV Club
September 26, 2005
Top Critic

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
September 26, 2005
Top Critic

Time Out
February 9, 2006
Top Critic

Time Out
November 17, 2011
Page 1 of 4