• R, 1 hr. 58 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Susanne Bier
    In Theaters:
    Oct 19, 2007 Wide
    On DVD:
    Feb 13, 2008
  • Dreamworks/Paramount

Movies Like Things We Lost in the Fire

Opening

70% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
85% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Top Box Office

63% The Maze Runner $32.5M
66% A Walk Among the Tombstones $12.8M
43% This Is Where I Leave You $11.6M
11% No Good Deed $9.8M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $8.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $5.2M
20% Let's Be Cops $2.7M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $2.7M
88% The Drop $2.1M
37% If I Stay $1.8M

Coming Soon

56% Men, Women & Children Oct 01
85% Gone Girl Oct 03
—— Annabelle Oct 03
67% The Good Lie Oct 03
—— 7500 Oct 03

Premieres Tonight

—— The Big Bang Theory: Season 8
—— The Blacklist: Season 2
50% Forever: Season 1
95% Gotham: Season 1
34% Scorpion: Season 1
—— Sleepy Hollow: Season 2

New Episodes Tonight

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— American Dad!: Season 11
87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
53% The Lottery: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
80% Ray Donovan: Season 2
87% The Strain: Season 1
—— Witches of East End: Season 2

Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express

Every trace of maudlin evaporates in one of Del Toro's lopsided grins.

Full Review Source: East Bay Express

April 28, 2011
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis

You can't manufacture honest sentiment.... So, I'd have to call the movie a noble miss.

Full Review Source: Movie Metropolis | Original Score: 5/10

March 21, 2009
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile

The best part of the film is del Toro's performance, a junkie jumble of many layers, glued together with a deep seated humanity that reaches out to us.

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

August 14, 2008
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile

A Susanne Bier film guarantees us a potent emotional journey, and this, Bier's first English language film, dissects hearts and searches for truths.

Full Review Source: Urban Cinefile

August 14, 2008
Kevin McCarthy
WJFK-FM (CBS Radio)

The film felt very anti-climatic to me for some reason.

Full Review Source: WJFK-FM (CBS Radio) | Original Score: 1/5

May 26, 2008

Where the film's ambitions crumble is in its avowed refusal to make its audience too uncomfortable.

Full Review Source: MSNBC | Original Score: 3/5

May 1, 2008
Staci Layne Wilson
Buzzine Magazine

I wish someone had lost this script in the fire.

March 5, 2008
Christian Toto
Washington Times

Things We Lost in the Fire sounds like a made-for-Lifetime weeper. But two superlative performances means "Fire" is anything but a by-the-book drama.

Full Review Source: Washington Times | Original Score: 3/4

March 4, 2008
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide

Less than profound, but consistently honest, Things We Lost in the Fire is neither triumphant nor great, but it is meaningful.

Full Review Source: Apollo Guide | Original Score: 76/100

February 25, 2008
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly

Scheduled blowups and symbolic dreams and interminable tears until we all feel like we've learned a little something about loss: We want our two hours back.

Full Review Source: I.E. Weekly | Original Score: D

February 22, 2008
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness

Often as overwrought as it is heartrending.

Full Review Source: Lessons of Darkness | Original Score: B

November 27, 2007
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews

...never entirely comes off as the searing, hard-to-watch drama it's presumably supposed to be.

Full Review Source: Reel Film Reviews | Original Score: 2.5/4

November 24, 2007
Roger Tennis
Cinemaclips.com

"Things We Lost In The Fire" is an overlong downer that crumbles under the relentless strain of anger and grief.

Full Review | Original Score: 2/5

November 19, 2007
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema

Damaged individuals healing one another is a serviceable idea for a film, but Things We Lost in the Fire is missing an essential component: plausibility.

Full Review Source: Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema | Original Score: C-

November 12, 2007
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)

In an unusual season with so many films are aimed at adults Things We Lost may be the most mature of the lot.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4

November 7, 2007
Jon Popick
Planet Sick-Boy

Things We Lost in the Fire: Any sense of rhythm or pace, and an ending that won't make you groan.

November 2, 2007
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)

A sobering and intimate look at how we handle loss, "Things We Lost in the Fire" is owned by the performance of Benicio del Toro.

Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4

November 1, 2007
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Things We Lost in the Fire is certainly not a comedy, but it is definitely mordant with its two Big Themes: Loss and Addiction, both treated in a singularly heavy-handed manner, for which I blame primarily Mr. Loeb's screenplay.

Full Review Source: New York Observer

October 31, 2007
Stephen Himes
Film Snobs

Benicio is the heroine addict with a heart of gold!

Full Review Source: Film Snobs | Original Score: 4/10

October 30, 2007
Emily S. Mendel
culturevulture.net

There is much that is right about this film; it is a shame that it tries a bit too hard and falls a bit short.

Full Review Source: culturevulture.net

October 30, 2007
Page 1 of 7
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile