Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
April 28, 2011
Every trace of maudlin evaporates in one of Del Toro's lopsided grins.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
March 21, 2009
You can't manufacture honest sentiment.... So, I'd have to call the movie a noble miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
August 14, 2008
The best part of the film is del Toro's performance, a junkie jumble of many layers, glued together with a deep seated humanity that reaches out to us.
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
August 14, 2008
A Susanne Bier film guarantees us a potent emotional journey, and this, Bier's first English language film, dissects hearts and searches for truths.
Kevin McCarthy
WJFK-FM (CBS Radio)
May 26, 2008
The film felt very anti-climatic to me for some reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 1, 2008
Where the film's ambitions crumble is in its avowed refusal to make its audience too uncomfortable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Staci Layne Wilson
Buzzine Magazine
March 5, 2008
I wish someone had lost this script in the fire.
Christian Toto
Washington Times
March 4, 2008
Things We Lost in the Fire sounds like a made-for-Lifetime weeper. But two superlative performances means "Fire" is anything but a by-the-book drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Brian Webster
Apollo Guide
February 25, 2008
Less than profound, but consistently honest, Things We Lost in the Fire is neither triumphant nor great, but it is meaningful.
Full Review | Original Score: 76/100
Amy Nicholson
I.E. Weekly
February 22, 2008
Scheduled blowups and symbolic dreams and interminable tears until we all feel like we've learned a little something about loss: We want our two hours back.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
November 27, 2007
Often as overwrought as it is heartrending.
Full Review | Original Score: B
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
November 24, 2007
...never entirely comes off as the searing, hard-to-watch drama it's presumably supposed to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Roger Tennis
Cinemaclips.com
November 19, 2007
"Things We Lost In The Fire" is an overlong downer that crumbles under the relentless strain of anger and grief.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
November 12, 2007
Damaged individuals healing one another is a serviceable idea for a film, but Things We Lost in the Fire is missing an essential component: plausibility.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
November 7, 2007
In an unusual season with so many films are aimed at adults Things We Lost may be the most mature of the lot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jon Popick
Planet Sick-Boy
November 2, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire: Any sense of rhythm or pace, and an ending that won't make you groan.
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
November 1, 2007
A sobering and intimate look at how we handle loss, "Things We Lost in the Fire" is owned by the performance of Benicio del Toro.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
October 31, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire is certainly not a comedy, but it is definitely mordant with its two Big Themes: Loss and Addiction, both treated in a singularly heavy-handed manner, for which I blame primarily Mr. Loeb's screenplay.
Stephen Himes
Film Snobs
October 30, 2007
Benicio is the heroine addict with a heart of gold!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Emily S. Mendel
culturevulture.net
October 30, 2007
There is much that is right about this film; it is a shame that it tries a bit too hard and falls a bit short.
Page 1 of 7