Things We Lost in the Fire Reviews

Page 1 of 7
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
October 23, 2007
...plays like Iñárritu Lite, which means it's not terrible, but it does pretend to a substance it doesn't in fact deliver.
| Original Score: 84/100
Stephen Himes
Film Snobs
October 30, 2007
Benicio is the heroine addict with a heart of gold!
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Pete Hammond
Maxim
October 19, 2007
Del Toro delivers another powerfully simple and effective performance. Berry is fine but her character just doesn't add up, perhaps inevitable in a movie that seems to have been lost somewhere in translation.
| Original Score: 2/5
May 1, 2008
Where the film's ambitions crumble is in its avowed refusal to make its audience too uncomfortable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Kam Williams
NewsBlaze
October 22, 2007
Excuse me, but wasn't this soap opera supposed to be about Halle's grieving character's loss of a husband, not about her worrying about losing her looks? It doesn't get any more shallow than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
October 19, 2007
Things We Lost in the Fire veers away from the real and hard and toward the fantastic.
Bill Gibron
PopMatters
October 19, 2007
As yet another example of a gifted foreign filmmaker...fudging up their reputation by traveling over to Tinsel Town for some Western promise, Things We Lost in the Fire is Lifetime lite cinema masquerading as actual A-list excellence.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Kevin McCarthy
WJFK-FM (CBS Radio)
May 26, 2008
The film felt very anti-climatic to me for some reason.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
October 19, 2007
This movie is the most irritating example yet of how both film and TV have taken to shooting even the phoniest, soapiest stories with that drunken, shaky, ultra- close-up camerawork that says, 'Hey, look at us! We're being all documentaryish!'
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
October 19, 2007
Del Toro pulls off a tight-wire dramatic performance that keeps the film afloat, but can't obscure the constant hiss of pop psychology that pierces nearly every scene.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Joshua Tyler
CinemaBlend.com
October 18, 2007
A good grief movie is supposed to leave you feeling like crap but, Things We Lost in the Fire ended up making me laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
October 18, 2007
However, there is one element to "Things We Lost In the Fire" that does work spectacularly well and that is the central performance by Benicio Del Toro.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Julia Wallace
L.A. Weekly
October 18, 2007
In Danish director Susanne Bier's first American effort, the camera lingers so long and lusciously on its lead actress's perfect little pores that it quickly starts to resemble a Neutrogena commercial.
Matt Pais
Metromix.com
October 18, 2007
Evolves as a story of sadness from the outside looking in, rather than a vivid depiction of hearts finding ways to become unbroken.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Roger Tennis
Cinemaclips.com
November 19, 2007
"Things We Lost In The Fire" is an overlong downer that crumbles under the relentless strain of anger and grief.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jeanne Aufmuth
Palo Alto Weekly
October 19, 2007
Overwrought indies aren't typically my thing and this achingly angsty melodrama does little to alter my thinking.
| Original Score: 2/4
Susan Granger
www.susangranger.com
October 20, 2007
Only the acting is remarkable in this agonizingly morose, tedious melodrama that unfolds at the pace of a death march.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
March 21, 2009
You can't manufacture honest sentiment.... So, I'd have to call the movie a noble miss.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
October 17, 2007
A safely false, glamorized weepie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
October 18, 2007
[Director] Bier is graceful, observant of small details, but her efforts to mine a greater meaning through the camera than Loeb has put on the page is a fruitless endeavor.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Tom Meek
Boston Phoenix
April 23, 2009
Leonard Maltin
Leonard Maltin's Picks
October 19, 2007
Peter Bradshaw
Guardian
October 18, 2008
Top Critic

Detroit News
October 19, 2007
Serves as strong reminder of what a powerfully charismatic and completely natural actor Benicio Del Toro is.
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
October 20, 2007

Screen International
October 20, 2007

BBC.com
February 5, 2008

Boxoffice Magazine
April 3, 2008

Deseret News, Salt Lake City
October 18, 2008
Page 1 of 7