• R, 2 hr. 14 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Judd Apatow
    In Theaters:
    Dec 21, 2012 Wide
    On DVD:
    Mar 22, 2013
  • Universal Studios

Movies Like This is 40

Opening

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
50% The Quiet Ones Apr 25
90% Locke Apr 25
79% The Machine Apr 25

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $25.6M
51% Heaven Is for Real $22.5M
47% Rio 2 $22.2M
19% Transcendence $10.9M
9% A Haunted House 2 $8.8M
62% Draft Day $5.7M
40% Divergent $5.6M
71% Oculus $5.2M
77% Noah $5.0M
89% Bears $4.8M

Coming Soon

75% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
—— Walk Of Shame May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16
—— X-Men: Days of Future Past May 23

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
—— The Middle: Season 5
36% Mixology: Season 1
83% Modern Family: Season 5
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Suburgatory: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Awkward: Season 4
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
—— Faking It: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
86% Mad Men: Season 7
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

This is 40 Reviews

Page 1 of 203
Ross C

Super Reviewer

December 21, 2013
Light-hearted parenting sitcom that is entertaining enough albeit cheesy in an American way.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

September 29, 2013
uninspiring comedy that keeps you waiting all movie just for a simple giggle!
Samuel Riley
Samuel Riley

Super Reviewer

September 14, 2013
I found 'This Is 40' to be a funnier and far more enjoyable film than I had originally expected. One of the film's major highlights are the hysterical and smart performances of Leslie Mann and Paul Rudd as they make a lovely couple who both give plenty of great laughs; whether they're interacting with each other or with other supporting characters. Even Maude and Iris Apatow as the couple's children give those rare yet decent laughs. Ultimately, it's the situations the family are placed in that allow the audience to connect with Paul Rudd and/or Leslie Mann; whether its handling kids, dealing with finance issues, or just general arguments about their marriage. While the film is over 2 hours long, I personally only felt maybe one or two scenes were slightly dragged, but I still enjoyed every moment regardless. Judd Apatow has directed a bundle of films that I've majorly enjoyed, particularly 'The 40 Year Old Virgin'. In this case, 'This Is 40' is one of my most favored comedies to come out in recent years.
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 9, 2013
An Anti-climactic look at what 40 isn't really like. Ok, so I liked the characters Pete and Debbie at first but their persona's never real stick, making the whole film a little hard to relate to or believe. The cameos go from good to bad, Chris O'Dowd being good and Melissa McCarthy being bad (I can't stand the woman). There is also too much ad libbing, I've said it before and no doubt I will say it again but Paul Rudd, as much as I like him, cannot and should not ad lib! John Lithgow and Albert Brooks are old school dependable and really help things but for every joke that makes you laugh there are 3 that don't.
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

April 22, 2013
While the movie won't/didn't win awards, it was really fun to watch. There were many funny, raunchy moments, but it also had a lot of heart. I felt like it was really relatable, and true to life in many ways. Paul Rudd was adorable. Melissa McCarthy really added some quirky fun!
Michael S

Super Reviewer

March 24, 2013
"This is 40" is definitely Judd Apatow's weakest directorial effort to date, but it's not a film to dismiss because of it. The film has a phenomenal cast (and Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are terrific), but many of the players aren't utilized and are no more than throwaways. The premise and family dynamic should equate a touching dramedy the likes of "Funny People," but so much time is spent on scatter-shot scenes that stray from the plot and the central relationships. Also for as talented as the cast and Apatow are, the film isn't consistently funny... the constant referencing Apatow is known for in particular comes of weak here. It's strange that the biggest laughs belong to Melissa McCarthy (who is amazing in a small guest role), playing an unnecessary character who's inclusion is rendered necessary ONLY to pick up the comedic slack. This all adds up to a film that's totally uneven, but still harbors an admirable spirit and insight into the modern American family. It's fun not funny; a base hit instead of a home run.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

April 28, 2012
Functioning as both a stand alone film, and a sort-of sequel/spin-off to Knocked Up, this is a look at the lives of married couple Pete and Debbie as they both turn 40, and struggle to deal with that fact, as well as re-evaluate their lives and relationship.

As far as plot goes, that's pretty much it. Two people wig out over being middle aged...and it goes on for 2 hours, 14 minutes.

If this film were like 95 minutes long, it would be a lot better. As it stands, it's an overlong, bloated, repetitive, meandering, and self indulgent slog through issues that hit a little too close to real life for comfort. I mean, Debbie and the kids are played By Apatow's real life wife and kids, so Rudd is basically just playing a Judd stand in. And considering Apatow's penchant for using real life as a basis for his stuff, this is just really awkward and uncomfortable.

Yeah, there is humor, and some of it is kinda blatantly funny, but a lot of this I couldn't really relate to. It's like it was made solely for its creator, and not really anyone else. Some of it is poignant and finely observed, but, as I said, it goes on for way too long, and is pretty tedious and boring after a while. It does pick up towards the end, but the middle is especially tough to get through.

The cast are fine, and their performances are decent, but I think that Apatow and his wife Leslie Mann need to take a cinematic break from one another for a while. Things are getting pretty stale here, and I honestly think in general that Apatow needs to change it up in general, and do something radically different in order to get his creative mojo back.

See it if you want, but, as a warning, if you didn't like Funny People, you'll probably not like this one, either, as they're similar, only that one had a real story and wasn't so tedious.
Julie B

Super Reviewer

August 14, 2012
Not a comedy. Don't be fooled. But some interesting observations about marriage, and I always love me some Paul Rudd.
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

November 18, 2012
This is 40 was not as funny as I was hoping it would be. I did laugh at a couple spots, but mostly is was just OK for me. It is still fun and Mann and Rudd are still one of my favorite on-screen married couples. It stays true to how relationships grow and get distant. Life changes fast and sometimes those changes can completely side swipe you. Pete deals with the stress of trying to keep a family together through financial crisis and feeling obligated to his father and trying to keep the peace is obviously hard for Pete. Soon all of that blows up in his face and he has to face the reality of it all and try to fix things. Debbie is an emotional mess. She feels like her age is defying her and it is hard for to accept getting older. Then the news of new life really brings her emotional rollercoaster on some extreme highs. The children really don't make it easy for her either. The teenager is going through changes and just wants to be left alone with her devices and her obsession with the show Lost. The youngest is stressed by all the fighting and wishes things would go back to way it was. She misses her changing older sister playing with her and is kinda sad. I found the youngest to be pretty funny in this movie. I would watch this again.
Josh L

Super Reviewer

January 20, 2013
This is 40 is a wildly inconsistent comedy with moments of biting sincerity when it comes to marriage, but it also over-indulges in typical Apatow fashion. His movies can always use a ruthless editor to get rid of the unnecessary scenes that bog down the quality and pace of his films. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann give solid performances as the couple falling apart, but the script and screenplay shorthand them with a tidy ending that doesn't do justice to some of the great insights of the film. Some of the side characters can get incredibly tedious and annoying though, especially Albert Brooks as Rudd's useless father. Apatow's actual children play the children in the film as well and they are incredibly hard to put up after a while and not very good. There's times when this film feels more like a series sketches put together than a coherent film and that's one of the biggest problems. I found about half the material pretty funny and even smart, but the other half is a chaotic mess. I know Apatow has some great ideas, but he needs to let go of the lesser ones and learn to reign in his films. He's too lackadaisical of a director and has potential to be much more.
Spencer S

Super Reviewer

April 4, 2013
This is a very tricky film to review, because like most critics I am split between an utter obsessive love for most of the film, and a disconnect with what it is at its worst. At its best this film is about getting older, family life, sex, awkwardness, the dilemma of being in an unhappy marriage, and money troubles. Of the four Judd Apatow helmed films that he's directed there hasn't been one so focused on the day to day experiences of an average family or the support of an extensive family. We saw a wisp of that in "Knocked Up" this film's predecessor, but that was more about becoming an adult and experiencing life as a parent, even if it's an unconventional life at that. This is more about the misery and trite exchanges between too very flawed and caustic individuals. Their misery does bring down the audience, since their toxic relationship issues involve so much fighting, yelling, and a lack of understanding for their misadjusted kids. This family is so familiar and yet alien to me, and though I appreciate Apatow for bringing the struggles of the middle aged in better focus for those who believe it's a wedding day and the rest of your life on a platter, it's so tragically sad. That being said, it's immensely funny, from the very first scene to the breakdown of their ability to stomach one another, it's always trying to be eccentric and neurotic, which I appreciated. The supporting performances from Megan Fox, Lena Dunham, Chris O'Dowd, Melissa McCarthy, and Maude and Iris Apatow were amazing and some of their best work so far. Besides the tragic tone though, is the fact that there's no discernible plot to this. They weave between bettering themselves, get lost in something else altogether, ruin themselves with their different endeavors, and then the film simply ends without true resolution. Besides the fact that it has no exact moment of clarity or closure or even answers some basic questions, it feels ungodly long for a comedy film, clocking in at two and a quarter hours. It dragged its feet so much and then speedily ended itself to keep from going even longer, and that simply defeats the purpose entirely. A very good effort, and much more than I expected from a semi-sequel, but it just didn't grab hold of what it was trying to say without it getting garbled.
MANUGINO
MANUGINO

Super Reviewer

January 24, 2013
The Sort-of Sequel to 'Knocked Up'

Good movie! This is a movie you should rent/watch on Netflix. The writing and direction are both good, but you need to pace yourself, take breaks, come back later after getting some air, because 2.5 hours is to long for a movie like this. This is 40 is one of those movies that you either get or don't get, there is no middle ground. Those who don't get will find it quite boring, irritating and too long, while those who do get it will enjoy saying that happens to me to. And this is the main point of this movie, nobody talks about personal problems in their lives to all the people around them and now we have the opportunity to look into a life of another couple and say we are so similar, identify with their problems and solutions with the ultimately satisfying experience that we are not alone and that the same stuff happens to most people, but they don't talk about it openly. One final note that I cannot avoid is the social critique of the couple featured in this movie. They are both rich, own their own businesses and a big house with enough money to indulge in risky financial moves, and from my perspective they act as two spoiled, adolescent brats without any regard for the future or their children. A true example of the new spoiled and overindulged middle class that somehow miraculously formed in the US. Take an average couple without money and give them a tenth of these guys have and they will be happy for the rest of their lives. But then again, these families exist and their problems are real for them, so its just all a matter of perspective.
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

December 28, 2012
three stars!
deano
deano

Super Reviewer

February 5, 2013
This is well worth seeing, it is consistently funny because it makes me laugh heaps. However if you're looking for a meaningful plot that gets neatly wrapped up, that's not gonna happen. Like porn, the plot was just there as an excuse for the many 'money shot' - the consistently funny gags about typical 40ish couple's lives.
Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann are excellent in their performances as the married couple, they returned to their characters since 2007's Knocked Up from supporting roles into leading roles. There are too many threads and nuances to discuss a good sample - but to mention just a few of the more hilarious and intriguing elements - John Lithgow is brilliant, and in a subdued and likable role we haven't seen from him before; Megan Fox and Charlyne Yi as the two surreal shop clerks are hilarious; Melissa McCarthy is raunchy and so funny and she will leave you gasping for air.
A special mention for actress Leslie Mann and director Judd Apatow's kids - they actually can act, and they were excellent in this film. They belonged in the film but because they added big-time in both the many comedy scenes they were in, but also in the movie's scattered drama moments. Very adorable kids, who blended into this movie effortlessly and definitely added to its charm.
Mr Awesome
Mr Awesome

Super Reviewer

February 1, 2013
Judd Apatow, creator of awkward teen (and ackward adult) movies, has made what might possibly be his most autobiographical statement with "This Is 40", an incredibly dark comedy about married life at 40. It hits particularly close to home as the director uses his own wife and children as the leading characters in the movie. Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann play the couple (reprising their roles from "Knocked Up"), living their lives together just on the edge of acrimony. "Do you ever fantasize about you and your wife parting ways in a more 'permanent' way?" begins Pete (Rudd) and Barry's (Smigel) conversation. "Nothing painful, I mean, she's the mother of your children, just a peaceful slipping away...", it's misery cloaked in humor, but misery none the less. For Pete and Debbie (Leslie Mann), marriage has become a series of duties and obligations, to their kids, their parents, their jobs, their health, but their relationship is omitted from the list of things they focus on, and so it flounders in a sea of repression and quiet resentment. Granted, this is played for laughs, but the bitterness behind those laughs is palpable. It doesn't help that everyone in the household is tuned into their ipads at the expense of, you know, actual familial interaction. The oldest daughter can't even fathom life unplugged from the matrix, as the parents try to break her world wide web addiction cold turkey at one point.

Much in the vein of the tv show "Louie", This Is 40 is dark and bitter, and yet blisteringly hilarious. Perhaps, not so relatable to teens or those who've yet to experience these particular kinds of wedded bliss, but it's still a remarkably accurate satire of modern life and all it's ugliness. And while it's great at pointing out our faults, This Is 40 doesn't offer any solutions, even if it does wrap things up conveniently in the end. There is very little light at the end of this tunnel, so tread carefully.
Alice S

Super Reviewer

January 30, 2013
The thing about Judd Apatow movies is that they're always twenty minutes too long. The last fight scene at the party drags on, and nothing really gets resolved. A static dramatic arc isn't necessarily a problem, but it just seems like sound and fury signifying nothing. The other thing about Judd Apatow movies is that the woman - no matter how beautiful and charming, as Leslie Mann is - is always a bit of a bitch-on-wheels. She's all demanding and naggy and in denial of her bad arguing habits, and although Deb DOES trump all the men in her life by saying she's the only who has balls, none of the men do anything particularly vilifying. Pete makes some mistakes with money, but he is genuinely bend-over-backward sweet. Her two fathers DO cause abandonment and financial issues, but I don't think I should mention them because Deb herself wants to stop blaming her parents.

The vacation sequence is wonderful - Pete and Deb reliving their stoned, pre-parent days, and realizing that if they just remember this moment, they don't need to fight. The scene in the principal's office with a belligerent Melissa McCarthy accusing them of harrassing her kid (which they did do) and they both baldly deny any wrongdoing on their part is a great show of loyalty despite them being in the midst of a fight. I also rather dig Megan Fox. She has no shame or pretension. She has no problem playing up her maneater persona. (She was also rather funny and coy on "Wedding Band.")
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2013
Some of the jokes stick but the lack of even a basic plot makes this a very muddled experience. Full review later.
Nicki M

Super Reviewer

January 12, 2013
Enjoyed this. It's not funny all the way through, but there are enough laughs and some more serious parts, too. The "build a fort" line particularly made me laugh, as it rings so true to the different generations - the horror of today's teen being told to go build a fort! "What would I do in there?".
I liked Knocked Up, but I don't really think you can compare the two movies as they are dealing with a different stage of life (though this does go full circle by the end, won't say any more than that!). Pete and Debbie were a couple I always liked and I'm skating close to 40 myself, so I found a lot of this quite relatable. Some of it is over the top for laughs, and that's fine. All are really good here and well cast. I would say it is as good as Judd's previous and I look forward to owning this one on blu ray!
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

January 4, 2013
Judd Apatow's familiar blend of adult-based humor and real-life dilemma and revelations sparks out chuckles and even laughter in this film. Though the film may have apparent run-ons, it is bonded together by the endless chemistry of its cast. 3.5/5
Page 1 of 203
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile